PDA

View Full Version : DVD player skipping!



nicademus8
12-30-00, 07:49 PM
I bought a DVD player and got some dvds for christmas, and while playing movies, some worse than others, it kinda "skips" like the frame jumps ever so slightly. I mean its not anything huge but its very noticeable and its realllly getting on my nerves. It is an 8x dvd player. I should think that any dvd player would be able to handle playing dvds without flaws, but is it because my player is just a P.O.S.? Also, my graphics card is an ATI rage 128. I've been to their site, I've called computer stores, I've already done several things but it still hasnt been eliminated. Can anyone tell me what the problem is and how to fix it? Thanks a bunch.

freckmoto
12-30-00, 07:54 PM
ATI's generally have nice DVD performance, so I doubt its that. What type of processor and how much RAM do you have. What are you running in the background?

Freckmoto

------------------
Abit KT7 RAID
Duron 600 @ 1000mhz
OCZ Monster 2 Heatsink
256mb PC133 Infineon 222
10 gig
TNT2
Aureal Vortex 2

bug
12-30-00, 08:21 PM
a hollywood hardware decoder card, perhaps?

YARDofSTUF
12-30-00, 08:40 PM
any chance u have an acer dvd rom?

glc1
12-31-00, 02:52 AM
Originally posted by bug:
a hollywood hardware decoder card, perhaps?Definitely not needed w/an ATI video card, as they are the only video cards that offer true DVD hardware acceleration out of the box. A Hollywood decoder is no match for an ATI vid card.

nicademus8
12-31-00, 09:35 AM
Yea thats what ATI's main little thing is, the fact that their video card uses the card and your processor so you wont need to buy an extra decodor, they made a big point about that. Well I run a Celeron 566, overclocked to 700, with 128 ram. I built it myself, its not a weak computer. The dvd rom was in a store in a stack, they just come in a clear bag and an installation disk, no box or anything. Its just labeled as DVD ROM 8X, it doesnt say anything about a maker anywhere. So what do you think, is it the DVD player? Thanks again.

glc1
12-31-00, 08:44 PM
Your using ATI's DVD player, correct?

nicademus8
01-01-01, 10:51 AM
Yea im using ati's dvd player, and I got the most updated driver too...I am thinking its the actual hardware.