PDA

View Full Version : Wireless Router Signal Strength



arthur.moore@verizon.net
06-09-08, 09:48 AM
Bought the Linksys WRT110, Went from my office in my house to my kitchen,
have low signal. Should I have bought something different? The so called
tech at Best Buy said to get this one as it would do the whole house instead
of the next one down. I don't t think I am more than 40ft away. If I could
easlily get a wire over I would. Any ideas? Thanks.

Kerry Liles
06-09-08, 04:45 PM
<arthur.moore@verizon.net> wrote in message
news:Dob3k.6495$2g.6254@fe087.usenetserver.com...
> Bought the Linksys WRT110, Went from my office in my house to my kitchen,
> have low signal. Should I have bought something different? The so called
> tech at Best Buy said to get this one as it would do the whole house
> instead
> of the next one down. I don't t think I am more than 40ft away. If I could
> easlily get a wire over I would. Any ideas? Thanks.


You didn't mention whether or not it works... (even with a low signal). I
find the widgets that show signal strength sometimes are a little 'suspect'
and most often if I can get a signal then the connection is fine.

If it doesn't *work* (or even if it does) you might consider changing the
router to use a different channel than the default or whatever one you have
selected... I tried all the channels one per day and finally settled on 10
(I think) on my router. That worked a lot better in my environment than the
default channel. YMMV.

I also bought an external antenna with about a 1 metre cable (wish it was a
little longer) and now I can fiddle with the orientation of it too -
although that requires a lot more patience since there are a lot more
positions than I care to try.

HTH

arthur.moore@verizon.net
06-09-08, 07:35 PM
Thanks, will go and get my manual and look up settings. I did look at the
router for the antenna connection adn did not see anything, but will also
check the manual. So thanks.

Kerry Liles
06-09-08, 08:05 PM
<arthur.moore@verizon.net> wrote in message
news:Q_j3k.905$c_2.903@fe101.usenetserver.com...
> Thanks, will go and get my manual and look up settings. I did look at the
> router for the antenna connection adn did not see anything, but will also
> check the manual. So thanks.

Some routers have antennas that cannot be replaced with an external hookup,
and some, like my old Microsoft MN-700 has both an internal and an external
(non-detachable) antenna.... If you are lucky you may find an external
antenna that can replace the little rubber stick.

good luck

Bob Fry
06-09-08, 10:18 PM
If the other suggestions don't work, you can always buy a router that
can be hacked to boost signal strength and a slew of other features.
http://tinyurl.com/oug4p
--
The corporation is a true Frankenstein's monster, an artificial person
run amok, responsible only to its own soulless self.
~ William Dugger

arthur.moore@verizon.net
06-11-08, 04:53 AM
Guess antenna is out on this model. At this point the other computer has
very low reception and can only get internet once in a great while. Looks
like I need to install a cable and just get it over with. Guess it's just
not powerful emough. Shall call my electrician and get it over with. Thanks
eveyone for all your help.

Charles Arnett
06-11-08, 08:35 AM
I sent back by wireless router and bought a linksys AP and plugged it into
my wired only router and it works a whole lot better
charles
<arthur.moore@verizon.net> wrote in message
news:Dob3k.6495$2g.6254@fe087.usenetserver.com...
> Bought the Linksys WRT110, Went from my office in my house to my kitchen,
> have low signal. Should I have bought something different? The so called
> tech at Best Buy said to get this one as it would do the whole house
> instead
> of the next one down. I don't t think I am more than 40ft away. If I could
> easlily get a wire over I would. Any ideas? Thanks.