PDA

View Full Version : Access Point



jpsga
04-23-08, 09:02 AM
Hello all,

I acquired a old Linksys BEFW11S4 router. The plan was to create an access
point on my ad-hoc (wired) network that has been operational for several
years.

I stumbled around trying to configure the old router with little success. I
did get an RF link going and the NetGear 311 Adaptor communicates with the
old router.The 311 is in Win98SE machine.

The question is: Can I use this old router as a WAP?

Observation and/or comments appreciated.

Jim

Pen
04-23-08, 09:56 AM
jpsga wrote:
> Hello all,
>
> I acquired a old Linksys BEFW11S4 router. The plan was to create an access
> point on my ad-hoc (wired) network that has been operational for several
> years.
>
> I stumbled around trying to configure the old router with little success. I
> did get an RF link going and the NetGear 311 Adaptor communicates with the
> old router.The 311 is in Win98SE machine.
>
> The question is: Can I use this old router as a WAP?
>
> Observation and/or comments appreciated.
>
> Jim
>
>
Get the docs here;
http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_CASupport_C2&childpagename=US%2FLayout&cid=1166859878881&packedargs=sku%3DBEFW11S4&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper&lid=7888178881B01&displaypage=download

That router is wireless B only, therefore slow but should be usable as
an access point if you can live with the slow speed. Configure it wired
though.

Bill Kearney
04-23-08, 01:28 PM
> Observation and/or comments appreciated.

Ancient router, ancient OS on the PC. Thrown them both out. Honestly.

ps56k
04-23-08, 02:02 PM
Pen wrote:
> jpsga wrote:
>> Hello all,
>>
>> I acquired a old Linksys BEFW11S4 router. The plan was to create an
>> access point on my ad-hoc (wired) network that has been operational
>> for several years.
>>
>> I stumbled around trying to configure the old router with little
>> success. I did get an RF link going and the NetGear 311 Adaptor
>> communicates with the old router.The 311 is in Win98SE machine.
>>
>> The question is: Can I use this old router as a WAP?
>>
>> Observation and/or comments appreciated.
>>
>> Jim
>>
>>
> Get the docs here;
> http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_CASupport_C2&childpagename=US%2FLayout&cid=1166859878881&packedargs=sku%3DBEFW11S4&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper&lid=7888178881B01&displaypage=download
>
> That router is wireless B only, therefore slow but should be usable as
> an access point if you can live with the slow speed. Configure it
> wired though.

The router/AP should be fine - and as far as the speed;
#1 - What do you have for your Internet connection ?
#2 - Do you currently use your wired network for file sharing, printing, etc
?

the problem may be with the Win98se + Netgear 311
Which "311" model do you have ?
http://www.netgear.com/Products/Adapters/SuperGWirelessAdapters/WG311T.aspx

not sure what your problem is - you didn't really expand....

Does the "311" adapter appear to be working,
and show up in Win98se Device Manager ?
Where did you get Win98se drivers ?

Does the PC "see" the SSID from the router/AP ?

ps56k
04-23-08, 04:21 PM
ps56k wrote:
> Pen wrote:
>> jpsga wrote:
>>> Hello all,
>>>
>>> I acquired a old Linksys BEFW11S4 router. The plan was to create an
>>> access point on my ad-hoc (wired) network that has been operational
>>> for several years.
>>>
>>> I stumbled around trying to configure the old router with little
>>> success. I did get an RF link going and the NetGear 311 Adaptor
>>> communicates with the old router.The 311 is in Win98SE machine.
>>>
>>> The question is: Can I use this old router as a WAP?
>>>
>>> Observation and/or comments appreciated.
>>>
>>> Jim
>>>
>>>
>> Get the docs here;
>> http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_CASupport_C2&childpagename=US%2FLayout&cid=1166859878881&packedargs=sku%3DBEFW11S4&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper&lid=7888178881B01&displaypage=download
>>
>> That router is wireless B only, therefore slow but should be usable
>> as an access point if you can live with the slow speed. Configure it
>> wired though.
>
> The router/AP should be fine - and as far as the speed;
> #1 - What do you have for your Internet connection ?
> #2 - Do you currently use your wired network for file sharing,
> printing, etc ?
>
> the problem may be with the Win98se + Netgear 311
> Which "311" model do you have ?
http://www.netgear.com/Products/Adapters/SuperGWirelessAdapters/WG311T.aspx
or this
http://www.netgear.com/Products/Adapters/GWirelessAdapters/WG311.aspx

> not sure what your problem is - you didn't really expand....
>
> Does the "311" adapter appear to be working,
> and show up in Win98se Device Manager ?
> Where did you get Win98se drivers ?
>
> Does the PC "see" the SSID from the router/AP ?

jpsga
04-23-08, 06:52 PM
"Pen" <nospam@nospam.com> wrote in message
news:3PudnYhYIP2S05LVnZ2dnUVZ_tmhnZ2d@comcast.com...
> jpsga wrote:
>> Hello all,
>>
>> I acquired a old Linksys BEFW11S4 router. The plan was to create an
>> access point on my ad-hoc (wired) network that has been operational for
>> several years.
>>
>> I stumbled around trying to configure the old router with little success.
>> I did get an RF link going and the NetGear 311 Adaptor communicates with
>> the old router.The 311 is in Win98SE machine.
>>
>> The question is: Can I use this old router as a WAP?
>>
>> Observation and/or comments appreciated.
>>
>> Jim
> Get the docs here;
> http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_CASupport_C2&childpagename=US%2FLayout&cid=1166859878881&packedargs=sku%3DBEFW11S4&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper&lid=7888178881B01&displaypage=download
>
> That router is wireless B only, therefore slow but should be usable as an
> access point if you can live with the slow speed. Configure it wired
> though.

Pen,
Thanks for the input.

Do not know what 'Configure it wired through' Means.
Can you clarify?
Jim

jpsga
04-23-08, 06:53 PM
"Bill Kearney" <wkearney99@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:nOmdnayE8fd-4pLVnZ2dnUVZ_gidnZ2d@speakeasy.net...
>> Observation and/or comments appreciated.
>
> Ancient router, ancient OS on the PC. Thrown them both out. Honestly.

So right but I won't learn anything.

Jim

jpsga
04-23-08, 09:05 PM
"ps56k" <pschuman_no_spam_me@interserv.com> wrote in message
news:tLNPj.10611$2g1.1069@nlpi068.nbdc.sbc.com...
> ps56k wrote:
>> Pen wrote:
>>> jpsga wrote:
>>>> Hello all,
>>>>
>>>> I acquired a old Linksys BEFW11S4 router. The plan was to create an
>>>> access point on my ad-hoc (wired) network that has been operational
>>>> for several years.
>>>>
>>>> I stumbled around trying to configure the old router with little
>>>> success. I did get an RF link going and the NetGear 311 Adaptor
>>>> communicates with the old router.The 311 is in Win98SE machine.
>>>>
>>>> The question is: Can I use this old router as a WAP?
>>>>
>>>> Observation and/or comments appreciated.
>>>>
>>>> Jim
>>>>
>>>>
>>> Get the docs here;
>>> http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_CASupport_C2&childpagename=US%2FLayout&cid=1166859878881&packedargs=sku%3DBEFW11S4&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper&lid=7888178881B01&displaypage=download
>>>
>>> That router is wireless B only, therefore slow but should be usable
>>> as an access point if you can live with the slow speed. Configure it
>>> wired though.
>>
>> The router/AP should be fine - and as far as the speed;
>> #1 - What do you have for your Internet connection ?
>> #2 - Do you currently use your wired network for file sharing,
>> printing, etc ?
>>
>> the problem may be with the Win98se + Netgear 311
>> Which "311" model do you have ?
> http://www.netgear.com/Products/Adapters/SuperGWirelessAdapters/WG311T.aspx
> or this
> http://www.netgear.com/Products/Adapters/GWirelessAdapters/WG311.aspx
>
>> not sure what your problem is - you didn't really expand....
>>
>> Does the "311" adapter appear to be working,
>> and show up in Win98se Device Manager ?
>> Where did you get Win98se drivers ?
>>
>> Does the PC "see" the SSID from the router/AP ?
>
>
ps56k,

Thank you for the interest

As to internet connection:
comcast Cable
to
SB5051 Motorola
to
Linksys BEFSR41 router four port unit

2 xp home brew units
port 3 to a switching hub- three computers on the HUB two SE one xp.
Port 4 to the old linksys router BEFW11S4

The Wireless PCI Adapter is a NETGEAR WG311NA . The SE driver is on the CD.
It is shown in the Dvice Manager
All machines are set to share files and printers.

The PC connects RF wise but does not see SSID which is linksys.

Since I am assured that the old router will act as a access point, my
problem are the old router settings and what port to plug the new router
onto?

Jim

Pen
04-23-08, 09:22 PM
> Pen,
> Thanks for the input.
>
> Do not know what 'Configure it wired through' Means.
> Can you clarify?
> Jim
>
Sure, just plug into the router through an ethernet port
to run the wireless setup. Follow the directions at the Linksys site.
Setting up wireless devices is always best done hard wired as there are
too many variables to do it wirelessly.

ps56k
04-23-08, 09:31 PM
ahh - so much better when ALL the important details are added...
the key point is that you HAVE a Linksys BEFSR41 router,
and just want to use the BEFW11S4 as JUST an Access Point.
--

jpsga wrote:
> "ps56k" <pschuman_no_spam_me@interserv.com> wrote in message
> news:tLNPj.10611$2g1.1069@nlpi068.nbdc.sbc.com...
>> ps56k wrote:
>>> Pen wrote:
>>>> jpsga wrote:
>>>>> Hello all,
>>>>>
>>>>> I acquired a old Linksys BEFW11S4 router. The plan was to create
>>>>> an access point on my ad-hoc (wired) network that has been
>>>>> operational for several years.
>>>>>
>>>>> I stumbled around trying to configure the old router with little
>>>>> success. I did get an RF link going and the NetGear 311 Adaptor
>>>>> communicates with the old router.The 311 is in Win98SE machine.
>>>>>
>>>>> The question is: Can I use this old router as a WAP?
>>>>>
>>>>> Observation and/or comments appreciated.
>>>>>
>>>>> Jim
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>> Get the docs here;
>>>> http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_CASupport_C2&childpagename=US%2FLayout&cid=1166859878881&packedargs=sku%3DBEFW11S4&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper&lid=7888178881B01&displaypage=download
>>>>
>>>> That router is wireless B only, therefore slow but should be usable
>>>> as an access point if you can live with the slow speed. Configure
>>>> it wired though.
>>>
>>> The router/AP should be fine - and as far as the speed;
>>> #1 - What do you have for your Internet connection ?
>>> #2 - Do you currently use your wired network for file sharing,
>>> printing, etc ?
>>>
>>> the problem may be with the Win98se + Netgear 311
>>> Which "311" model do you have ?
>> http://www.netgear.com/Products/Adapters/SuperGWirelessAdapters/WG311T.aspx
>> or this
>> http://www.netgear.com/Products/Adapters/GWirelessAdapters/WG311.aspx
>>
>>> not sure what your problem is - you didn't really expand....
>>>
>>> Does the "311" adapter appear to be working,
>>> and show up in Win98se Device Manager ?
>>> Where did you get Win98se drivers ?
>>>
>>> Does the PC "see" the SSID from the router/AP ?
>>
>>
> ps56k,
>
> Thank you for the interest
>
> As to internet connection:
> comcast Cable
> to
> SB5051 Motorola
> to
> Linksys BEFSR41 router four port unit

AHHH - so the BEFW11S4 is connected to the BEFSR41 router -
that pretty much changes the entire picture and networking structure.

> 2 xp home brew units
> port 3 to a switching hub- three computers on the HUB two SE one xp.
> Port 4 to the old linksys router BEFW11S4
>
> The Wireless PCI Adapter is a NETGEAR WG311NA . The SE driver is on
> the CD. It is shown in the Dvice Manager
> All machines are set to share files and printers.
>
> The PC connects RF wise but does not see SSID which is linksys.

not sure what "connects RF wise" means ???

#1 - the PC adapter is up & running according to Device Manager
#2 - the PC adapter should "see" the SSID from the SR41, if all is well.
#3 - connecting thru the WAP to get TCP/IP is the next step, but wait until
later

#4 - back to the SR41 -
can you - using an Ethernet cable & direct connect to one of the 4 ports
- connect and browse to the SR41 admin screen via the Factory Default
192.168.x.x. settings ?
#5 - SR41 - can you config it via the Ethernet cable ?

Once you get this all working - then you can see "how" you might
setup the SR41 "router" to merely be used as an "access point"
and config the IP address network...

> Since I am assured that the old router will act as a access point, my
> problem are the old router settings and what port to plug the new
> router onto?
>
> Jim

Bill Kearney
04-24-08, 06:21 AM
>> Ancient router, ancient OS on the PC. Thrown them both out. Honestly.
>
> So right but I won't learn anything.

So learn something new that will actually work. Seriously, the support for
98 was miserable even when it was new, it's non-existant now. Likewise that
router was crap then and it's still crap now. What you'll learn is there's
no way to get all that crap working reliably. I wouldn't call that a smart
way to spend one's time. Especially when known-working solutions exist.
But hey, feel free to waste your time.

jpsga
04-24-08, 04:25 PM
"ps56k" <pschuman_no_spam_me@interserv.com> wrote in message
news:uiSPj.10649$2g1.4651@nlpi068.nbdc.sbc.com...
> ahh - so much better when ALL the important details are added...
> the key point is that you HAVE a Linksys BEFSR41 router,
> and just want to use the BEFW11S4 as JUST an Access Point.
> --
>
> jpsga wrote:
>> "ps56k" <pschuman_no_spam_me@interserv.com> wrote in message
>> news:tLNPj.10611$2g1.1069@nlpi068.nbdc.sbc.com...
>>> ps56k wrote:
>>>> Pen wrote:
>>>>> jpsga wrote:
>>>>>> Hello all,
>>>>>>
>>>>>> I acquired a old Linksys BEFW11S4 router. The plan was to create
>>>>>> an access point on my ad-hoc (wired) network that has been
>>>>>> operational for several years.
>>>>>>
>>>>>> I stumbled around trying to configure the old router with little
>>>>>> success. I did get an RF link going and the NetGear 311 Adaptor
>>>>>> communicates with the old router.The 311 is in Win98SE machine.
>>>>>>
>>>>>> The question is: Can I use this old router as a WAP?
>>>>>>
>>>>>> Observation and/or comments appreciated.
>>>>>>
>>>>>> Jim
>>>>>>
>>>>>>
>>>>> Get the docs here;
>>>>> http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_CASupport_C2&childpagename=US%2FLayout&cid=1166859878881&packedargs=sku%3DBEFW11S4&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper&lid=7888178881B01&displaypage=download
>>>>>
>>>>> That router is wireless B only, therefore slow but should be usable
>>>>> as an access point if you can live with the slow speed. Configure
>>>>> it wired though.
>>>>
>>>> The router/AP should be fine - and as far as the speed;
>>>> #1 - What do you have for your Internet connection ?
>>>> #2 - Do you currently use your wired network for file sharing,
>>>> printing, etc ?
>>>>
>>>> the problem may be with the Win98se + Netgear 311
>>>> Which "311" model do you have ?
>>> http://www.netgear.com/Products/Adapters/SuperGWirelessAdapters/WG311T.aspx
>>> or this
>>> http://www.netgear.com/Products/Adapters/GWirelessAdapters/WG311.aspx
>>>
>>>> not sure what your problem is - you didn't really expand....
>>>>
>>>> Does the "311" adapter appear to be working,
>>>> and show up in Win98se Device Manager ?
>>>> Where did you get Win98se drivers ?
>>>>
>>>> Does the PC "see" the SSID from the router/AP ?
>>>
>>>
>> ps56k,
>>
>> Thank you for the interest
>>
>> As to internet connection:
>> comcast Cable
>> to
>> SB5051 Motorola
>> to
>> Linksys BEFSR41 router four port unit
>
> AHHH - so the BEFW11S4 is connected to the BEFSR41 router -
> that pretty much changes the entire picture and networking structure.
>
>> 2 xp home brew units
>> port 3 to a switching hub- three computers on the HUB two SE one xp.
>> Port 4 to the old linksys router BEFW11S4
>>
>> The Wireless PCI Adapter is a NETGEAR WG311NA . The SE driver is on
>> the CD. It is shown in the Dvice Manager
>> All machines are set to share files and printers.
>>
>> The PC connects RF wise but does not see SSID which is linksys.
>
> not sure what "connects RF wise" means ???##### Buy "connects RF wise" I
> mean that he 311 reports a strong signal from the BEFW11S4 and shows
> "linksy." linksys is the default SSID in the W11s4. There is *no* IP
> present. #####
>
> #1 - the PC adapter is up & running according to Device Manager
> #2 - the PC adapter should "see" the SSID from the SR41, if all is well.
> #3 - connecting thru the WAP to get TCP/IP is the next step, but wait
> until later
>
> #4 - back to the SR41 -
> can you - using an Ethernet cable & direct connect to one of the 4 ports
> - connect and browse to the SR41 admin screen via the Factory Default
> 192.168.x.x. settings ?
> #5 - SR41 - can you config it via the Ethernet cable ?
>
> Once you get this all working - then you can see "how" you might
> setup the SR41 "router" to merely be used as an "access point"
> and config the IP address network...
>
>> Since I am assured that the old router will act as a access point, my
>> problem are the old router settings and what port to plug the new
>> router onto?
>>
>> Jim
>
>