PDA

View Full Version : Re: Restricting LinkSys Router



ps56k
04-21-08, 11:03 AM
samadams_2006@yahoo.ca wrote:
> Hello,
>
> A few years ago, when I initially installed my linksys router, I set
> it up so that only the network had a password, but so that only my
> current laptop could access it (I believe via the computer name). I
> have a new laptop and I would like to add this computer to the
> criteria, but I do not remember how to do this via the linksys
> software. Does anyone know how to do this?
>
> Thanks

I have no idea what this all means...
> I set it up so that only the network had a password,
> but so that only my current laptop could access it
> (I believe via the computer name).

A - for the wireless side, you could have setup encryption key - WEP, WPA,
etc
B - for the wireless side, you could have used a MAC address access list

C - Some Linksys devices have a "permission list" that lists computer IP
addresses or MACs,
and the times of day they can access the router network - ala parental
controls -

So - which Linksys router do you have,
and which set of controls do you think you used ?

Jeff Liebermann
04-21-08, 05:41 PM
On Mon, 21 Apr 2008 15:26:33 -0700 (PDT), samadams_2006@yahoo.ca
wrote:

>Hello Again,
>I have Linksys Model RTP300.

That's not a wireless router:
<http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_Product_C2&childpagename=US%2FLayout&cid=1119460383933&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper>
Without wireless encryption, your question makes little sense.
Sorry, but I can't decode what you're trying to accomplish. Try
again, this time supplying a better description of what you are trying
to accomplish. Also, the RTP300 is normally distributed by various
service providers. You might call support at your VoIP provider for
help.

--
Jeff Liebermann jeffl@cruzio.com
150 Felker St #D http://www.LearnByDestroying.com
Santa Cruz CA 95060 http://802.11junk.com
Skype: JeffLiebermann AE6KS 831-336-2558