PDA

View Full Version : Connection problems



simon9797@hotmail.com
04-08-08, 11:22 PM
Hi everyone, I have a problem with my wireless router or I think I do.
Im in the UK and yest got connected to the virgin broadband and bought
a netgear wireless router from PC world. I connected it all up ok,
well I think so anyway, but every 2hrs or so my laptop will get
disconnected from the internet and although it can see my wireless
network in the house it wont connect back up to the router, the only
way to fix it is to switch the power off to the router for a second or
2 then turn it back on and then the comp connects and everythings fine
for another hr or 2 when it will drop again and so I have to do the
same thing again. Has anyone got any ideas? Thanks in advance.

BigGirlsBlouse
04-09-08, 01:01 PM
<simon9797@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:1c580131-0d5e-415a-97fb-7bfef5f97f31@y21g2000hsf.googlegroups.com...
> Hi everyone, I have a problem with my wireless router or I think I do.
> Im in the UK and yest got connected to the virgin broadband and bought
> a netgear wireless router from PC world. I connected it all up ok,
> well I think so anyway, but every 2hrs or so my laptop will get
> disconnected from the internet and although it can see my wireless
> network in the house it wont connect back up to the router, the only
> way to fix it is to switch the power off to the router for a second or
> 2 then turn it back on and then the comp connects and everythings fine
> for another hr or 2 when it will drop again and so I have to do the
> same thing again. Has anyone got any ideas? Thanks in advance.

I had that problem with Netgear wireless adaptor... the WPN111 which
allowed you on with no connection problems for 10minutes, then without any
warning dropped out. It didn't matter if there was large amounts of data
going through it or not. My solution was to find an older version of the
software and as soon as it would let me, dump the netgear wizard and carry
on with windows installation.
What model number is your router though?

seaweedsl
04-09-08, 01:22 PM
May be a firmware issue.

Check online for an update for that router. It seems that companies
often release routers and stuff with beta firmware to get them out the
door and then get to work on the firmware afterward. By the second or
third version , it works.

simon9797@hotmail.com
04-10-08, 05:13 AM
The router is a WGT624v3 and i took it back to pc world yest and
exchanged it for a new one but this is doing exactly the same thing so
i dont know what im doing wrong.

BigGirlsBlouse
04-19-08, 10:41 AM
<simon9797@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:118e761b-45f1-4e28-892b-dc2191a54af2@m73g2000hsh.googlegroups.com...
> The router is a WGT624v3 and i took it back to pc world yest and
> exchanged it for a new one but this is doing exactly the same thing so
> i dont know what im doing wrong.
>
Try http://kbserver.netgear.com/products/WGT624v3.asp

seaweedsl
04-20-08, 06:05 PM
On Apr 10, 5:13 am, simon9...@hotmail.com wrote:
> The router is a WGT624v3 and i took it back to pc world yest and
> exchanged it for a new one but this is doing exactly the same thing so
> i dont know what im doing wrong.

You replaced it with the same model router? If it's a firmware issue,
then that won't fix it. Try updating the firmware or try a different
router.

HT Smith
04-26-08, 09:42 PM
In article <1c580131-0d5e-415a-97fb-7bfef5f97f31
@y21g2000hsf.googlegroups.com>, simon9797@hotmail.com says...
> Hi everyone, I have a problem with my wireless router or I think I do.
> Im in the UK and yest got connected to the virgin broadband and bought
> a netgear wireless router from PC world. I connected it all up ok,
> well I think so anyway, but every 2hrs or so my laptop will get
> disconnected from the internet and although it can see my wireless
> network in the house it wont connect back up to the router, the only
> way to fix it is to switch the power off to the router for a second or
> 2 then turn it back on and then the comp connects and everythings fine
> for another hr or 2 when it will drop again and so I have to do the
> same thing again. Has anyone got any ideas? Thanks in advance.
>


Hello,

I have had similar problems with the Netgear equipment. My solution --
dump the Netgear and go with Linksys! Way fewer issues and more
dependable. True, I went with the latest available firware updates
simply due to the availability. Has been very dependable.

Netgear makes some very good switches and hubs but demands on that type
of equipment don't compare to access point equipment.

I'm sure you will satisfied with Linksys components.

HTR