PDA

View Full Version : Belkin N wireless router help



Soundbytes
04-07-08, 01:34 PM
Hello
Saturday I bought a Belkin N series router F5D8233, my last router
was also a Belkin which worked fine but like all good things as soon as the
warranty runs out it stops working (strange that!!) anyway, the new one
works fine, set up was easy etc, but I have a little problem, My PC is cable
wired to it, but the rest of the home is wireless, my computer connects
straight away when I turn the PC on, the Laptop and the kids PC's don't, I
have to repair the connection using Windows XP repair tool everytime they
turn on, if not they get limited connectivity. Windows says that the ip
address needs renewing everytime the PC's are turned on, but only the
wireless ones.

Anyone know what the problem is?

All the PC's use windows XP SP2, all te network cards are realtek, they all
worked fine with the last router.

Thanks

Gordon

monkey_cartman1@yahoo.com
04-08-08, 02:21 AM
Soundbytes wrote:
> Hello
> Saturday I bought a Belkin N series router F5D8233, my last router
> was also a Belkin which worked fine but like all good things as soon as the
> warranty runs out it stops working (strange that!!) anyway, the new one
> works fine, set up was easy etc, but I have a little problem, My PC is cable
> wired to it, but the rest of the home is wireless, my computer connects
> straight away when I turn the PC on, the Laptop and the kids PC's don't, I
> have to repair the connection using Windows XP repair tool everytime they
> turn on, if not they get limited connectivity. Windows says that the ip
> address needs renewing everytime the PC's are turned on, but only the
> wireless ones.
>
> Anyone know what the problem is?
>
> All the PC's use windows XP SP2, all te network cards are realtek, they all
> worked fine with the last router.
>
> Thanks
>
> Gordon

Did you set an ssid name?.

I don't know to what extent you know your router and the wireless
software on the computers but,

Have you considered using wpa or wpa2 which is secure

Set up the router first for wireless, create a unique ssid name,
enable wireless, set to wpa psk (pre shared key) and aes for
encryption then a good password. Common words and names in wpa2 can be
cracked with wireless cracking sofware in moments so create a password
like M,CTd8&5^/"P, this will be very secure

Then in the computer software set the ssid to the same as the routers,
set to wpa or wpa2 then psk\aes then the
same password as you set in the router

But always set up the router first, then the wireless software to
reflect the router settings

monkey_cartman1@yahoo.com
04-08-08, 02:38 AM
monkey_cartm...@yahoo.com wrote:
> Soundbytes wrote:
> > Hello
> > Saturday I bought a Belkin N series router F5D8233, my last router
> > was also a Belkin which worked fine but like all good things as soon as the
> > warranty runs out it stops working (strange that!!) anyway, the new one
> > works fine, set up was easy etc, but I have a little problem, My PC is cable
> > wired to it, but the rest of the home is wireless, my computer connects
> > straight away when I turn the PC on, the Laptop and the kids PC's don't, I
> > have to repair the connection using Windows XP repair tool everytime they
> > turn on, if not they get limited connectivity. Windows says that the ip
> > address needs renewing everytime the PC's are turned on, but only the
> > wireless ones.
> >
> > Anyone know what the problem is?
> >
> > All the PC's use windows XP SP2, all te network cards are realtek, they all
> > worked fine with the last router.
> >
> > Thanks
> >
> > Gordon

------------------------------------
also

I would remove and reinstall the software and reset the router if you
follow these general directions, make
sure your wireless cards software on the computers supports either wpa
or wpa2

Also youtube has some nice videos of different router and card
software setup
------------------------------------
> Did you set an ssid name?.
>
> I don't know to what extent you know your router and the wireless
> software on the computers but,
>
> Have you considered using wpa or wpa2 which is secure
>
> Set up the router first for wireless, create a unique ssid name,
> enable wireless, set to wpa psk (pre shared key) and aes for
> encryption then a good password. Common words and names in wpa2 can be
> cracked with wireless cracking sofware in moments so create a password
> like M,CTd8&5^/"P, this will be very secure
>
> Then in the computer software set the ssid to the same as the routers,
> set to wpa or wpa2 then psk\aes then the
> same password as you set in the router
>
> But always set up the router first, then the wireless software to
> reflect the router settings

Scraggy
04-08-08, 03:10 AM
Soundbytes wrote:
> Hello
> Saturday I bought a Belkin N series router F5D8233, my last
> router was also a Belkin which worked fine but like all good things
> as soon as the warranty runs out it stops working (strange that!!)
> snip


FYI

I also use Belkin eqpt. Mine is guaranteed for life and, when my previous
router died, got it replaced by the latest, similar product FOC.

http://www.belkin.com/support/warranty.asp



--
I don't care to belong to a club that accepts people like me as
members. Groucho Marx

Mahatma Coat
04-08-08, 12:15 PM
Soundbytes wrote:
> Hello
> Saturday I bought a Belkin N series router F5D8233, my last router
> was also a Belkin which worked fine but like all good things as soon as the
> warranty runs out it stops working (strange that!!) anyway, the new one
> works fine, set up was easy etc, but I have a little problem, My PC is cable
> wired to it, but the rest of the home is wireless, my computer connects
> straight away when I turn the PC on, the Laptop and the kids PC's don't, I
> have to repair the connection using Windows XP repair tool everytime they
> turn on, if not they get limited connectivity. Windows says that the ip
> address needs renewing everytime the PC's are turned on, but only the
> wireless ones.
>
> Anyone know what the problem is?
>
> All the PC's use windows XP SP2, all te network cards are realtek, they all
> worked fine with the last router.
>
> Thanks
>
> Gordon
>
>
>
I'm no expert here but from similar problems I've had in the past are
you sure the wireless pc,s are compatible with wireless N? You may have
to set the routers wireless type to G or whatever your pc's use. When I
got a wireless G router an old laptop with A wouldn't work with it,
though the other later machines did. I had to set the router to mixed
and then it all worked.

Mat

seaweedsl
04-09-08, 12:18 PM
On Apr 8, 2:21 am, monkey_cartm...@yahoo.com wrote:
>
> Did you set an ssid name?.
>
> Set up the router first for wireless, create a unique ssid name,
> enable wireless, set to wpa psk (pre shared key) and aes for
> encryption then a good password. Common words and names in wpa2 can be
> cracked with wireless cracking sofware in moments so create a password
> like M,CTd8&5^/"P, this will be very secure
>


I was thinking it's an SSID issue as well. But the usual advice is
to troubleshoot wireless with security (WPA) off first, then, when
it's all working right, turn it on in the router and clients.

P.Schuman
04-09-08, 12:31 PM
Soundbytes wrote:
> Hello
> Saturday I bought a Belkin N series router F5D8233, my last
> router was also a Belkin which worked fine but like all good things
> as soon as the warranty runs out it stops working (strange that!!)
> anyway, the new one works fine, set up was easy etc, but I have a
> little problem, My PC is cable wired to it, but the rest of the home
> is wireless, my computer connects straight away when I turn the PC
> on, the Laptop and the kids PC's don't, I have to repair the
> connection using Windows XP repair tool everytime they turn on, if
> not they get limited connectivity. Windows says that the ip address
> needs renewing everytime the PC's are turned on, but only the
> wireless ones.
>
> Anyone know what the problem is?
>
> All the PC's use windows XP SP2, all te network cards are realtek,
> they all worked fine with the last router.
>
> Thanks
>
> Gordon

step thru the basics -

#1 - When the wireless computers are on,
what "wireless network" does it indicate is available
by clicking on the icon usually in the tray
or doing a "View Avail Wireless Networks" command ?

#2 - do the computers have WEP or WPA previously defined for security ?

#3 - does the wireless router have any security turned on by default ?
WEP or WPA ?

you get the idea...