PDA

View Full Version : Configuring VerizonFiOS for VPN passthrough



daveh551
04-05-08, 08:05 AM
It seems like this should be a fairly common topic, and probably
addressed elsewhere, but searching this and other groups as well as
googling has failed to yield anything useful. I posted this in
comp.security.firewalls, but maybe this is a more appropriate group

My home network is on a FiOS internet connection, which runs through a
Verizon (ActionTec) wireless router/switch.(WI1524WR or something like
that) I have 3 machines, a Windows 2000 server acting as domain
controller, a Compaq desktop running Windows XP Pro (SP2), and a Dell
laptop running Windows 2000 Pro (SP4). I am trying to configure the
router to pass VPN requests through to the XP machine so I can access
it with the laptop from outside. I have Windows configured to respond
to VPN requests, and have the laptop configured to connect as a VPN
client. The connection made from inside the firewall (directly to the
local hostname) works fine. I also have a second connection configured
to go through the external IP, and connecting to it always fails with
an Error 678: There was no answer. This is true whether I am
connecting inside the house, or from a WiFi hot spot. The two VPN
connections (local and remote) are configured identically except for
the hostname, so I believe the VPN client and server setups are
correct. I think it has to be the router configuration for VPN
passthrough. (The FiOS IP is dynamic, but I've got it set up to route
through dyndns.org).

The "Port Forwarding" screen on the router is showing setup to pass
the following protocols through to the XP desktop:
(I'm not sure exactly what all of these mean, I just configured from
bits and pieces I found in different articles, using the configuration
menus available on the router)
GRE
L2TP-UDP Any ->1701
IPSec - UDP 500-> 500
ESP
AH
TCP Any -> 1723

When I attempted to connect over the VPN connection from a WiFi
hotspot, this is what appeared in the router security log (newest is
on top, so read from the bottom)

Apr 3 10:00:54 2008 Inbound Traffic Connection closed TCP
192.168.1.152 1723 <--> 71.170.239.192 1723 [71.97.118.241 45717]
CLOSED/SYN_SENT clink0 Incoming STATIC

Apr 3 10:00:54 2008 Outbound Traffic Connection
closed TCP
71.97.118.241 45717<--> 71.97.118.241 45717[192.168.1.152 1723 ]
SYN_SENT/CLOSED br0 Outgoing

Apr 3 10:00:53 2008 Outbound Traffic Connection
opened TCP
71.97.118.241 45734<--> 71.97.118.241 45734[192.168.1.152 1723 ]
CLOSED/CLOSED br0 Outgoing

Apr 3 10:00:53 2008 Inbound Traffic Accepted - Service TCP
71.97.118.241:45734->192.168.1.152:1723 on clink0

Apr 3 10:00:53 2008 Inbound Traffic Connection opened TCP
192.168.1.152 1723 <--> 71.170.239.192 1723 [71.97.118.241 45734]
CLOSED/SYN_SENT clink0 Incoming STATIC

(192.168.1.152 is the local IP of the XP desktop. 71.170.239.192 is
the external (FiOS) IP of the router, 71.97.118.241 is the IP of the
hotspot where I was sending from.)

Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong and what to do to fix it?

Thanks.

Mike Drechsler - SPAM PROTECTED EMAIL
04-05-08, 05:07 PM
daveh551 wrote:
> It seems like this should be a fairly common topic, and probably
> addressed elsewhere, but searching this and other groups as well as
> googling has failed to yield anything useful. I posted this in
> comp.security.firewalls, but maybe this is a more appropriate group
>
> My home network is on a FiOS internet connection, which runs through a
> Verizon (ActionTec) wireless router/switch.(WI1524WR or something like
> that) I have 3 machines, a Windows 2000 server acting as domain
> controller, a Compaq desktop running Windows XP Pro (SP2), and a Dell
> laptop running Windows 2000 Pro (SP4). I am trying to configure the
> router to pass VPN requests through to the XP machine so I can access
> it with the laptop from outside. I have Windows configured to respond
> to VPN requests, and have the laptop configured to connect as a VPN
> client. The connection made from inside the firewall (directly to the
> local hostname) works fine. I also have a second connection configured
> to go through the external IP, and connecting to it always fails with
> an Error 678: There was no answer. This is true whether I am
> connecting inside the house, or from a WiFi hot spot. The two VPN
> connections (local and remote) are configured identically except for
> the hostname, so I believe the VPN client and server setups are
> correct. I think it has to be the router configuration for VPN
> passthrough. (The FiOS IP is dynamic, but I've got it set up to route
> through dyndns.org).
>
> The "Port Forwarding" screen on the router is showing setup to pass
> the following protocols through to the XP desktop:
> (I'm not sure exactly what all of these mean, I just configured from
> bits and pieces I found in different articles, using the configuration
> menus available on the router)
> GRE
> L2TP-UDP Any ->1701
> IPSec - UDP 500-> 500
> ESP
> AH
> TCP Any -> 1723
>
> When I attempted to connect over the VPN connection from a WiFi
> hotspot, this is what appeared in the router security log (newest is
> on top, so read from the bottom)
>
> Apr 3 10:00:54 2008 Inbound Traffic Connection closed TCP
> 192.168.1.152 1723 <--> 71.170.239.192 1723 [71.97.118.241 45717]
> CLOSED/SYN_SENT clink0 Incoming STATIC
>
> Apr 3 10:00:54 2008 Outbound Traffic Connection
> closed TCP
> 71.97.118.241 45717<--> 71.97.118.241 45717[192.168.1.152 1723 ]
> SYN_SENT/CLOSED br0 Outgoing
>
> Apr 3 10:00:53 2008 Outbound Traffic Connection
> opened TCP
> 71.97.118.241 45734<--> 71.97.118.241 45734[192.168.1.152 1723 ]
> CLOSED/CLOSED br0 Outgoing
>
> Apr 3 10:00:53 2008 Inbound Traffic Accepted - Service TCP
> 71.97.118.241:45734->192.168.1.152:1723 on clink0
>
> Apr 3 10:00:53 2008 Inbound Traffic Connection opened TCP
> 192.168.1.152 1723 <--> 71.170.239.192 1723 [71.97.118.241 45734]
> CLOSED/SYN_SENT clink0 Incoming STATIC
>
> (192.168.1.152 is the local IP of the XP desktop. 71.170.239.192 is
> the external (FiOS) IP of the router, 71.97.118.241 is the IP of the
> hotspot where I was sending from.)
>
> Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong and what to do to fix it?
>
> Thanks.

I assume the hotspot was also running on some kind of router.

Your IP address on the hotspot may have also been in the 192.168.1.xxx
range.

I would change the range of internal IP addresses that you are using at
home because it will frequently collide with the range of IP's on other
peoples routers.



--
WARNING! Email address has been altered for spam resistance.
Please remove the -deletethispart-. section before replying directly.
Mike Drechsler (mike-newsgroup2008@-deletethispart-.upcraft.com)