PDA

View Full Version : setting up a router



kevincullen1968@hotmail.com
03-30-08, 06:42 PM
Can i set up a wireless network with only one computer and have the
router in a different part of the house from the computer?

Harry331
03-30-08, 07:05 PM
kevincullen1968@hotmail.com wrote...
>
>Can i set up a wireless network with only one computer and have the
>router in a different part of the house from the computer?

Sure you can.
Setup the router with your computer wired to it.
Move your computer to another location in your house.
Connect your computer to your router via wireless.

Jeff Liebermann
03-30-08, 07:16 PM
On Sun, 30 Mar 2008 16:42:19 -0700 (PDT), kevincullen1968@hotmail.com
wrote:

>Can i set up a wireless network with only one computer and have the
>router in a different part of the house from the computer?

Sure. Do the initial setup on the route via a wired ethernet
connection (especially if you're going to update the firmware). Once
you have it configured working with a wired connection, unplug the
ethernet cable and try the wireless. If that works, you can move the
computer anywhere within range. The rule of thumb is that wireless
will easily go through one wall, has some problems with two walls, and
is difficult to impossible with three or more walls. Open doorways,
windows, and hallways are a big help. Aluminum foil back insulation
in the walls will totally block the signal. See the FAQ at:
<http://wireless.wikia.com/wiki/Wi-Fi>

--
Jeff Liebermann jeffl@cruzio.com
150 Felker St #D http://www.LearnByDestroying.com
Santa Cruz CA 95060 http://802.11junk.com
Skype: JeffLiebermann AE6KS 831-336-2558