PDA

View Full Version : Linksys WGA54G unreachable via wireless once it has ethernet cableconnection



k-man
03-18-08, 10:29 PM
All:

I got a brand spanking new Linksys WGA54G yesterday. I have a NetGear
router and I was able to get the WGA54G set up on it OK. I'm running
MAC filtering but no other security measures (no encryption). Without
an ethernet cable plugged into the WGA54G, I can get a ping response
wirelessly from it via multiple computers and I can see the WGA54G via
my router. Once I plug an ethernet cable into a computer on which
I've shut down all other connections (turned off wireless on it, etc.
such that the ethernet cable leading to the WGA54G is the only
connection via that computer), wireless functions on the WGA54G seem
to cease. I no longer can ping it via any computer and I can no
longer see it via my router. And the "Wireless G" LED goes out, too.
If I unplug the ethernet cable, wireless remains gone on the WGA54G
until after I unplug it and then plug it back in.

It was manufactured in Dec 2007 had came with a firmware version of
1.16. This version isn't anywhere to be found on Linksys' web site.
The thing wasn't working anyway, at least not that I could see, so I
"upgraded" the firmware to the latest version on Linksys' site, which
was version 1.13. Same results.

Before I call this unit defective, anybody got any ideas?

Thanks.
Kevin

k-man
03-20-08, 08:49 AM
On Mar 18, 11:29 pm, k-man <kmccr...@gmail.com> wrote:
> All:
>
> I got a brand spanking new Linksys WGA54G yesterday. I have a NetGear
> router and I was able to get the WGA54G set up on it OK. I'm running
> MAC filtering but no other security measures (no encryption). Without
> an ethernet cable plugged into the WGA54G, I can get a ping response
> wirelessly from it via multiple computers and I can see the WGA54G via
> my router. Once I plug an ethernet cable into a computer on which
> I've shut down all other connections (turned off wireless on it, etc.
> such that the ethernet cable leading to the WGA54G is the only
> connection via that computer), wireless functions on the WGA54G seem
> to cease. I no longer can ping it via any computer and I can no
> longer see it via my router. And the "Wireless G" LED goes out, too.
> If I unplug the ethernet cable, wireless remains gone on the WGA54G
> until after I unplug it and then plug it back in.
>
> It was manufactured in Dec 2007 had came with a firmware version of
> 1.16. This version isn't anywhere to be found on Linksys' web site.
> The thing wasn't working anyway, at least not that I could see, so I
> "upgraded" the firmware to the latest version on Linksys' site, which
> was version 1.13. Same results.
>
> Before I call this unit defective, anybody got any ideas?
>
> Thanks.
> Kevin

The WGA54G box actually contains two MAC addresses. But the WGA54G
can be pinged wirelessly, suggesting the that the correct MAC address
is being used on the router MAC filtering. When the ethernet cable's
plugged in, the WGA54G might be switching to the ethernet port's MAC
address. Seems like putting both WGA54G's MAC addresses in the MAC
filtering list should work. But it does not. Answer: Turn off
CLONING.

cast1e
04-10-08, 01:41 AM
I registered just to tell you that. After hours I finally turned cloning off and it works great!

tintin123
04-23-08, 02:27 AM
i ran across this thread trying to find an answer, i have a Netgear router (WGR614 v6) i recently purchase a wga54g by linksys, i tried to connect both of them together, which is fine, but the problem is getting connection wirelssly. when i plugged it in i had both of them setting to shared key, cloning off, but the status would never go from disconnect to connect any idea?