PDA

View Full Version : Does a wifi "repeater" exist?



me@privacy.net
03-18-08, 02:33 PM
Does a repeater exist for wifi?

A device that one could mount up high that receives a
signal, amplifies it, and rebroadcasts it?

Peter Pan
03-18-08, 02:46 PM
me@privacy.net wrote:
> Does a repeater exist for wifi?
>
> A device that one could mount up high that receives a
> signal, amplifies it, and rebroadcasts it?

Repeater not exactly by that name, however there are some that can broadcast
whatever it is fed ( see
http://www.cellantenna.com/repeater/WirelessLAN/lanwireless.htm ) I have one
up on the garage roof and cabled to a router

There are several consumer grade repeaters out there, and i'm guessing thats
what your asking about, but unfortunately they switch between transmit and
receive (quickly) and cut your thruput in half, so to keep up speed you may
want to look at other things/plan B (that's why I went with the thing above,
I have wired where feasible, and wireless where not, gives me lots of
flexibilty and the best of both :)

me@privacy.net
03-19-08, 10:26 AM
"Peter Pan" <PeterPanNOSPAM@MarcAlanNOSPAM.info> wrote:

> I have one
>up on the garage roof and cabled to a router

How is it working out for you?

Lance
03-19-08, 12:12 PM
me@privacy.net wrote the following on 3/18/2008 12:33:
> Does a repeater exist for wifi?
>
> A device that one could mount up high that receives a
> signal, amplifies it, and rebroadcasts it?

I run a WAP54G in "repeater mode" to get good coverage on the second
floor of my home. The main router is a Linksys WRT54GS. The WAP54G will
only work in repeater mode with another Linksys router - maybe only the
WRT54 series.

This arrangement is about 4-5 years old and runs 24/7. About 3-4 times a
year some weird unknown thing happens and I'll have to reboot everything
to re-establish network connectivity.

They're located about 50 ft apart. Measured file transfer speed (big
file and stopwatch method) from 2nd floor to router to wired computer is
roughly 2 Mbit/sec. This speed wouldn't make me happy, but the rest of
the family is satisfied.

Lance
*****

Peter Pan
03-19-08, 05:23 PM
me@privacy.net wrote:
> "Peter Pan" <PeterPanNOSPAM@MarcAlanNOSPAM.info> wrote:
>
>> I have one
>> up on the garage roof and cabled to a router
>
> How is it working out for you?

Adequately, I live on 10 acres in northern idaho, and cept in the months
when there is a lot of foliage that blocks the signal, works okay on my
laptop and pda, (outside dsl and cable areas, so I have sat internet tied
into my home network)... unfortunately it works best in the winter, cept
there was over 3 feet of snow on the ground, so It was a bit too cold
out/hard to walk around.....

As an aside, that was the cheaper consumer way, (now) in the area (spokane
washington) Skynet of spokane (http://www.spokaneskynet.com/) has a several
hundred square mile hotspot, with commercial grade repeaters on the
mountains in the area (last count, 20.... they spent lots of bucks, but it's
really cool)

Where do you live at? There are several other commercial nets already
available, you may want to check online to see if there is already one in
your area.....

DTC
03-19-08, 05:58 PM
me@privacy.net wrote:
> Does a repeater exist for wifi?
>
> A device that one could mount up high that receives a
> signal, amplifies it, and rebroadcasts it?

What kind of sped do you want? How far the distance? How much money
do you want to spend?

When we go horseback riding and camping in the grasslands, I set up a
mast on my truck and pipe my 10 Meg DSL signal ten miles from town down
into the valleys to my laptops and still have a 10 Meg endpoint
connection.

me@privacy.net
03-19-08, 07:26 PM
"Peter Pan" <PeterPanNOSPAM@MarcAlanNOSPAM.info> wrote:

>Where do you live at? There are several other commercial nets already
>available, you may want to check online to see if there is already one in
>your area.....

Hannibal Missouri

Peter Pan
03-19-08, 08:57 PM
me@privacy.net wrote:
> "Peter Pan" <PeterPanNOSPAM@MarcAlanNOSPAM.info> wrote:
>
>> Where do you live at? There are several other commercial nets already
>> available, you may want to check online to see if there is already
>> one in your area.....
>
> Hannibal Missouri

Check http://www.onelasvegas.com/wireless and click on the state and follow
the links... does show a red dot for Hannibal, but have no idea if you can
get it.....

Peter Pan
03-19-08, 09:35 PM
Peter Pan wrote:
> me@privacy.net wrote:
>> "Peter Pan" <PeterPanNOSPAM@MarcAlanNOSPAM.info> wrote:
>>
>>> Where do you live at? There are several other commercial nets
>>> already available, you may want to check online to see if there is
>>> already one in your area.....
>>
>> Hannibal Missouri
>
> Check http://www.onelasvegas.com/wireless and click on the state and
> follow the links... does show a red dot for Hannibal, but have no
> idea if you can get it.....

Forgot, have wireless on your 'puter already? If so, you may want to fire up
the free program netstumbler (download it at http://www.netstumbler.com/ )

IMO looking at maps/dots/shaded areas etc, doesn't mean as much as actually
trying something to see if it works, and if there is a signal where you have
your machne... Did I menton it is free? :)

me@privacy.net
04-03-08, 05:52 PM
"Peter Pan" <PeterPanNOSPAM@MarcAlanNOSPAM.info> wrote:

>IMO looking at maps/dots/shaded areas etc, doesn't mean as much as actually
>trying something to see if it works, and if there is a signal where you have
>your machne... Did I menton it is free? :)

What exactly is a 'commercial net" for WIFI?

What is in it for them to broadcast free wifi signals?

Peter Pan
04-04-08, 12:33 AM
me@privacy.net wrote:
> "Peter Pan" <PeterPanNOSPAM@MarcAlanNOSPAM.info> wrote:
>
>> IMO looking at maps/dots/shaded areas etc, doesn't mean as much as
>> actually trying something to see if it works, and if there is a
>> signal where you have your machne... Did I menton it is free? :)
>
> What exactly is a 'commercial net" for WIFI?
>
> What is in it for them to broadcast free wifi signals?

Commercial nets aren't always free (usually a subscription).... However that
link/map shows both free and paid/commercial stuff... Since nobody can
acurrately predict exactly what will be received at a specific locaton, why
not try and see if you can get a free one (if available)

me@privacy.net
04-04-08, 11:59 AM
"Peter Pan" <PeterPanNOSPAM@MarcAlanNOSPAM.info> wrote:

>Commercial nets aren't always free (usually a subscription).... However that
>link/map shows both free and paid/commercial stuff... Since nobody can
>acurrately predict exactly what will be received at a specific locaton, why
>not try and see if you can get a free one (if available)

Well I Am picking up some kind of wifi connection....
but how can I tell if it's a commercial free one?

Peter Pan
04-04-08, 02:03 PM
me@privacy.net wrote:
> "Peter Pan" <PeterPanNOSPAM@MarcAlanNOSPAM.info> wrote:
>
>> Commercial nets aren't always free (usually a subscription)....
>> However that link/map shows both free and paid/commercial stuff...
>> Since nobody can acurrately predict exactly what will be received at
>> a specific locaton, why not try and see if you can get a free one
>> (if available)
>
> Well I Am picking up some kind of wifi connection....
> but how can I tell if it's a commercial free one?

Try using it? I have wifi in the laptop, and a PDA with wifi, so it's pretty
easy to try... Unfortunately I am finding a bunch of supposed "free"
systems, that have splash screens and beg for money once you connect (they
must be free to connect so they can charge), another oddity, I've run across
some that show locked/closed (i use netstumbler/ministumbler get em free at
http://www.netstumbler.com/ ) but you can use em free once you get
authorized/added to the okay list....

If you already have a puter and wifi card/connection (as evidenced by what
you wrote above), worth a shot at trying netstumbler (hey it's free, so what
the heck, mayb it will work with your wifi stuff) and see what it says.....
(mine shows a picture of a lock, and either it is open or closed, as for
logon, usually you have to connect and see what it says)

me@privacy.net
04-04-08, 03:40 PM
"Peter Pan" <PeterPanNOSPAM@MarcAlanNOSPAM.info> wrote:

>Try using it? I have wifi in the laptop, and a PDA

Ok.... thanks....

I hate to be so dumb abt this..... but I am using the
connection.... I just don't want to be using someone
unsecured PRIVATE connection that's all.

Its just that I can't tell if this is the free
commercial on in the map/info you gave me.

Again....I just don't want to be horning in on someone
private paid for connection.... unless maybe they have
it open just so that others CAN use.... out of goodness
of their heart or something.

I guess my bottom line question is..... how can I
contact or find out of this connection is available to
anyone free?

Peter Pan
04-04-08, 09:32 PM
me@privacy.net wrote:
> "Peter Pan" <PeterPanNOSPAM@MarcAlanNOSPAM.info> wrote:
>
>> Try using it? I have wifi in the laptop, and a PDA
>
> Ok.... thanks....
>
> I hate to be so dumb abt this..... but I am using the
> connection.... I just don't want to be using someone
> unsecured PRIVATE connection that's all.
>
> Its just that I can't tell if this is the free
> commercial on in the map/info you gave me.
>
> Again....I just don't want to be horning in on someone
> private paid for connection.... unless maybe they have
> it open just so that others CAN use.... out of goodness
> of their heart or something.
>
> I guess my bottom line question is..... how can I
> contact or find out of this connection is available to
> anyone free?


No way of telling....But there are some progs out there that may help you
find the source (it's easier with my PDA, I just walk around and see if the
signal level goes up or down) Try some of the free ones at
http://www.download.com/ and see what you can find to get the general
direction to walk in.....

RaisinCain
09-13-12, 05:08 PM
This thread has FAIL written all over it. Seriously? WTF are you people suggesting?