PDA

View Full Version : Anyone got the low down on OCZ memory?



jdblitz
12-27-00, 03:02 PM
Lookin to OC my p3 700e to like 150 fsb on my new abit bx133raid. and I need DA memory GUARANTEED @ CAS 222 150 fsb. Plz Help!!!

THX

JD

ssjDoh
12-27-00, 03:30 PM
I've heard that they are really good. Same kind of qulaity of the Mushkin's Rev2 and Crucial 7e sticks.

Jesse has/will order them so we'll have to wait till he gets them to get an official word http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif

Crimson
12-27-00, 03:46 PM
Actually, theres a new reV3 out from mushkin-i think its "guaranteed" @ 150 2:2:2
yup.
"Mushkin announces the release of the 128MB High Performance Revision 3 module. The chips on this module are hand picked high yield chips, and the memory module is guaranteed to run at 150MHz 2-2-2! With the memory bus quickly becoming the biggest bottleneck in todays computers, the guaranteed ability to run the memory bus at 150MHz 2-2-2 is important for improving the performance of 3D gaming, integrated UMA chipset based computers, high-end desktop publishing, intensive graphic editing, servers, and workstations. "


[This message has been edited by Crimson (edited 12-27-2000).]

freckmoto
12-27-00, 04:33 PM
I love My OCZ Stuff. I have the select, their bottom of the barrel RAM and it does 140 CAS 222 perfectly. If you get the OCZ PC170, you should have no problem doing 150 CAS 2 because is is tested 170-180 CAS 2. Very high quality RAM.

Freckmoto

------------------
Abit KT7 RAID
Duron 600 @ 1000mhz
OCZ Monster 2 Heatsink
256mb PC133 Infineon 222
10 gig
TNT2
Aureal Vortex 2

drdoug99
12-30-00, 03:09 AM
Cool, I just ordered a 256MB stick of the 150mhz, 2-3-2 ram, for $129 that's a heck of a deal I thought.

I have a 2 yeard old IBM Aptiva, now, in my BIOS, it's pretty restrictive, and I can't change the speed of the memory like some BIOS's you can, so what will happen if I just take out my old memory and pop in the new one.? will it run at 100 or 133? I can't change the CAS, BTW, what does CAS mean? lol.
thanks for your help.

drdoug99
12-30-00, 03:10 AM
Cool, I just ordered a 256MB stick of the 150mhz, 2-3-2 ram, for $129 that's a heck of a deal I thought.

I have a 2 yeard old IBM Aptiva, now, in my BIOS, it's pretty restrictive, and I can't change the speed of the memory like some BIOS's you can, so what will happen if I just take out my old memory and pop in the new one.? will it run at 100 or 133? I can't change the CAS, BTW, what does CAS mean? lol.
thanks for your help.

freckmoto
12-30-00, 03:00 PM
It will run at 100mhz bus if that is your system bus, and you cannot adjust any setting in the bios.

Freckmoto

freckmoto
12-30-00, 03:04 PM
Blitz, the OCZ PC150 enhanced is all you need if you want 150 FSB at CAS 222. But just to be safe, you could get the 170.

Freckmoto