PDA

View Full Version : WG111v2



bizma
02-09-08, 06:20 AM
Hi there, ive recently purchased a netgear WG111 version two for my pc,
which is running on Vista. the router that we have at home is a Linksys
WRT54G.

Now ive setup the drivers for the WG111v2 without a hitch, but when you
have set it all up, including picking which network to join into and
adding the passcodes the adapter cant seem to find the network.

The little icon down in the tray is red and says scanning, i can wait
for 15 minutes and it will still stay scanning, i mean if the adapter
can see the network to know you have to enter the passcode how can it
suddenly not see it anymore?

This ones got me scratching my head/smashing pc

any help would be really really appreciated, thanks in advance :)


------------------------------------------------------------------------
View this thread: http://www.wirelessforums.org/showthread.php?t=38411
http://www.wirelessforums.org

John Navas
02-09-08, 09:48 AM
On Sat, 9 Feb 2008 07:20:49 -0500, bizma
<bizma.34ijsd@no-mx.wirelessforums.org> wrote in
<bizma.34ijsd@no-mx.wirelessforums.org>:

>Hi there, ive recently purchased a netgear WG111 version two for my pc,
>which is running on Vista. the router that we have at home is a Linksys
>WRT54G.
>
>Now ive setup the drivers for the WG111v2 without a hitch, but when you
>have set it all up, including picking which network to join into and
>adding the passcodes the adapter cant seem to find the network.

WEP of WPA? If WEP, be sure to enter all keys (router and PC) in *hex*,
not characters! And if WEP, change to WPA -- WEP is too easily broken
to be of any real value.

If that doesn't help, turn off all security while troubleshooting.

--
Best regards, FAQ for Wireless Internet: <http://Wireless.wikia.com>
John Navas FAQ for Wi-Fi: <http://wireless.wikia.com/wiki/Wi-Fi>
Wi-Fi How To: <http://wireless.wikia.com/wiki/Wi-Fi_HowTo>
Fixes to Wi-Fi Problems: <http://wireless.wikia.com/wiki/Wi-Fi_Fixes>

Jeff Liebermann
02-09-08, 10:42 PM
bizma <bizma.34ijsd@no-mx.wirelessforums.org> hath wroth:

>Hi there, ive recently purchased a netgear WG111 version two for my pc,
>which is running on Vista. the router that we have at home is a Linksys
>WRT54G.

Any particular WG111v2 driver? See:
<http://kbserver.netgear.com/products/wg111v2.asp>
and pick a number.

Out of curiosity, which hardware version WRT54G? Also, firmware
version? Some versions had problems with the DHCP server and Vista.

>Now ive setup the drivers for the WG111v2 without a hitch, but when you
>have set it all up, including picking which network to join into and
>adding the passcodes the adapter cant seem to find the network.

With or without encryption? Try it without encryption. My guess(tm)
is that you are doing that already and not getting a connection. This
is beginning to sound familiar.

>The little icon down in the tray is red and says scanning, i can wait
>for 15 minutes and it will still stay scanning, i mean if the adapter
>can see the network to know you have to enter the passcode how can it
>suddenly not see it anymore?

Ah. The little red ball below the icon is a clue. That means that
the wireless client manager is trying to get a DHCP address and
failing. Welcome to Vista.

Vista has numberous DHCP related bugs. See the list I posted at:
<http://groups.google.com/group/alt.internet.wireless/msg/cd8d480583867ee3>
for the necessary fixes.

>This ones got me scratching my head/smashing pc

That's why I always wear a hat. Scratching my head is accellerating
baldness. Smashing the PC is great fun, but rarely yields a
successful solution.

>any help would be really really appreciated, thanks in advance :)

Run:
Start -> run -> cmd <enter>
ipconfig
If the IP address is something 192.168.xxx.xxx, it's working.
If the IP address is 0.0.0.0, it's waiting for a DHCP address.
It the IP address is 169.254.xxx.xxx, DHCP has given up.

For Vista, if you can't find the MSDOS command icon or the run
command, try:
Right click on the Start button in the lower left of the screen.
Select Properties.
Select "traditional start menus" or something like that.
Welcome back to an XP style start menu.


--
Jeff Liebermann jeffl@cruzio.com
150 Felker St #D http://www.LearnByDestroying.com
Santa Cruz CA 95060 http://802.11junk.com
Skype: JeffLiebermann AE6KS 831-336-2558

drdw
08-26-08, 10:04 AM
I have similar problem in that everything appears to be fine however constantly states scanning, and icon at bottom is red. I have other wireless devices that connect to my router fine, and sometimes the box will turn green and this one will also however mostly (including at the moment) it will not!!

the I.P states 00.00.00 but I am not too computer literate and really dont have a clue how to fix this! I an running windows xp not vista as above,

Please can anyone help, it is driving me mad!!

Lanni
04-14-10, 12:19 PM
Hi

It could also simply be a problem with the driver. At http://wg111v2-driver.blogspot.com/2010/03/wg111v2-driver.html there is a program that can find all the drivers installed in your Windows and update them by it self. It even finds missing drivers.