PDA

View Full Version : RDRAM vs SDRAM



LoopeD
05-01-00, 03:30 PM
I am buying a Dell comp (cause I get a work discount http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif)
I recently went to their webpage to price out a system and guess what? They are almost exclusively using the new RDRAM from Rambus Inc! Last time I checked they were still using SDRAM.

Now, I am torn. I've done a little research and I've discovered that Rambus lost a bunch of $$$ cause their memory was crapping out. It's also a lot more expensive. The site I was reading (www.tomshardware.com) made it sound that buying RDRAM was a bad idea. However Intel, who as everyone knows controls like 75% of the market, has begun using exclusively RDRAM, even though there is a new SDRAM coming out.

Now my question is, do I get RDRAM and risk mem crashes? I guess my mentality is, if Intel's so confident that it has switched to RDRAM, as has one of their biggest retailers, Dell, then can the horror stories I've been hearing be overblown? Or do I talk to Dell and convince them to put SDRAM in my new machine?

Please post if you know the TRUTH about RDRAM http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/wink.gif

http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gifd

Coppermine
05-01-00, 05:46 PM
Well RDRAM doesn't CRASH it's main problem is that it's very expensive and at this time offers no noticeable benefits vs SDRAM. If you can wait a while a newer intel chipset called i815 aka Solano is due to be out sometime in the next month. This chipset will be built around SDRAM and won't have the performance hit an i820 with SDRAM has. Brings me to another thing i820 with SDRAM isn't a good idea as there is a performance hit coz of the MTH (memory translator hub) basically the chip that makes SDRAM work on a i820. If you can't wait now and don't wanna overclock much a BX and SDRAM will still do well or if you want you can go with a VIA chipset and have PC133 support and AGP 4x. Although the 4x gain is very neglegable. What config are you getting exactly ? Tell me this and i'll tell you more.

Fixxer
05-01-00, 06:37 PM
Intel owns RDRAM so I'm not suprised they are trying to push it upon you.. heh

DIDS
05-02-00, 03:00 AM
LoopeD,

I just bought a new DELL 667MHZ P3 with 128MB RDRAM@356MHZ back in January. I haven't had a problem with my PC at all. I have it loaded up with a ton of programs and do heavy multi-tasking without memory problems. Which is better RDRAM or SDRAM? I couldn't tell ya. Hope this helps you.


Regards,

DIDS

------------------


It Can't Rain All The Time
- Eric Draven (The Crow)

-------------------------

LikeAGlove
05-02-00, 05:56 PM
holysh_t, DIDS.

nice computer (drool)!!!! lotsa coin for that puppy.

http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/biggrin.gif http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/biggrin.gif

glove


------------------
____________________________________
GO LEAFS GO!!! Lord Stanley awaits...

http://espn.go.com/i/nhl/profiles/teams/logos/tor.gif
... the Devils can go to hell... pun intended :)

Fixxer
05-02-00, 09:16 PM
Actually if he would have built his own with a nice BX board he prolly coulda got 2x the puter for less money.

Hell_Yes
05-02-00, 10:27 PM
Fixxer,

Didja haveta go p*ss on his pop tart like that? <snicker>

david

DIDS
05-02-00, 11:53 PM
Fixxer,

I dont think so. Since I wouldn't have a clue on how to build one myself. I would have proably ended up paying 2x what I paid for my DELL after I got done screwing things up building my own. I would rather shell out the $$ for a quality DELL machine with Tech support and a warranty. Than to build my own and not have Tech support or a warranty. Knowing how I am. It probably would have blew up and destoryed my house on its 1st boot up. LOL.

Regards,

DIDS

Fixxer
05-03-00, 12:38 AM
chuckle.. but then you woulda got a new house and another new puter.. http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/biggrin.gif

DIDS
05-03-00, 01:02 AM
In that case I am going to build my own PC right NOW! LOL

Hell_Yes
05-03-00, 01:04 AM
From what I read, Rdram and Sdram are roughly equivalent in performance. Rdram is a bit quicker. Sdram however is about at the end of its ability to improve. Rdram has the bandwidth potential to grow exponentially. What does this mean to you, the present day computer shopper? Buy the system with Sdram since its much more affordable and by the time Rdram truly blows away it, you'll be buying a new computer anyway.....

david

LoopeD
05-03-00, 07:43 PM
Thanks a lot everyone

I went back to Dell and noticed that they are only offering RDRAM exclusively with their new gigahertz system; I'm prob gonna get an 850 with 256 Mb SDRAM. I can't WAIT!!!!!!

http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gifd