PDA

View Full Version : Do Video Cards Just Die Sometimes?

Psyco
04-19-00, 08:23 PM
im notorious for writing long messages, so ill try to keep it short.

basically, ive had a Diamond Monster Fusion 16MB AGP vid card for around a year. other than the fact that i needed a special version of the BIOS to make it run on my Asus P5A-B mobo, i hadn't had any problems with it. then one day i decided to try the reference drivers from 3DFX in order to see if there was any way to get Q3 to run on it. those drivers didnt work for me at all. so i went back to usin the Diamond drivers, and things seemed ok. a day or so later i tried to play some Rogue Spear online, as i had been doing for like 4 months before then. i noticed that the game would slow down almost to a stop at certain times, would turn and look at a diff direction while everything else was "frozen", and would then sometimes jump ahead to where i would have been if nothing had slown down. these characteristics looked very similar to lag (poor latency) on games, which is somethin i had not seen much of since getting a cable modem service. and it seemed to only be noticeable on my end. the other people in the game would only see me stop walking, and then appear in a new place (sometimes called warp), but their games would be running full speed the whole time. i called my cable comp, and after extensive testing, we couldnt find anything wrong with the line. so i decided to reinstall win98 over itself, and after doing so, the game seemed to run a lot better, and sometimes ran like there was no problem at all. but after playing for a week or so, it would be back to running slow again. i tried all different combo's of driver versions and bios versions from Diamond, and tried to install the oldest versions and reproduce the upgrading path in the same order as it had been before. no luck. i tried reinstalling the game. no luck. i tried all different video settings, and different audio settings. i even tried running it in s