PDA

View Full Version : What To Upgrade?



Hatchling
12-16-00, 05:37 PM
A few weeks ago I posed a question as to what graphics card I should upgrade to. I decided on a Geforce2 GTS, but have decided to wait on that as I think about a much more useful upgrade. My current system is:

PIII 550 SLOT1 CPU
Diamond Viper V770 TNT2 Ultra 32MB
13.6 Gig HD, ULTRA-DMA/66
Tekram P6Pro-A+ mobo
256 MD PC133 SDRAM
Creative SB Live Value PCI
10X DVD/32X
8X CD-RW

I was thinking about going for a new CPU/mobo, as my mobo only supports PIII CPU's up to 733. But I figure it would be better to get an AMD chip, and a fast one at that, to help me play the latest games.

Here's what I found at the Overclockerz Store:
Abit KT7 - Duron 1000m( Overclocked )
with OCZ Monster 2 cooler $ 219.99
300 Watt PS to OCZ Coolcase $ 59.99
OCZ - Coolcase- Midtower $79.99

I would then just transfer all my other components and keep my old video card. I figure a new PIII 733 and a Geforce2 GTS would run me around $380 while the new mobo, CPU, PS and case would cost around $360.

Thoughts?

freckmoto
12-16-00, 05:56 PM
Thats the mobo/cpu combo I bought http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif See specks below http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif Fast as HELL!!!

------------------
Abit KT7 RAID
Duron 1000mhz
OCZ Monster 2 Heatsink
256mb PC133 Infineon 222
10 gig
TNT2
Aureal Vortex 2

Hatchling
12-16-00, 06:23 PM
Originally posted by freckmoto:
Thats the mobo/cpu combo I bought http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif See specks below http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif Fast as HELL!!!



According to the reviews at Motherboards.com, the KT7 mobo is glitchy.
http://www.motherboards.com/catalog/product_info.php?category_id=4&index_id=7&subcategory_id=7&products_id=249&PHPSESSID=723af476a4c6b902d020bc3ba6a63ff7

Also says the board is picky when it comes to memory DIMMs. Have you had any problems so far?

How loud is the OCZ cooler anyway?

HongKongPolice
12-16-00, 07:21 PM
Ya would be better to upgrade your CPU/Mobo instead cuz your CPU is just too slow unless you're gonna overclock it. Is your CPU a coppermine? If so you can probably reach 733Mhz pretty easily.

I've got my P3 550E (coppermine) up to 826Mhz stable check it out here: http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/Forum4/HTML/001255.html

Hatchling
12-16-00, 07:47 PM
Originally posted by TigerUpperCut:
Ya would be better to upgrade your CPU/Mobo instead cuz your CPU is just too slow unless you're gonna overclock it. Is your CPU a coppermine? If so you can probably reach 733Mhz pretty easily.


It is a Coppermine, although I tend to be a little leery of overclocking. Did a little checking and found a Biostar M7VKB mobo with a T-Bird 1GHZ cpu for $291. With shipping this comes out to $334.

I'll need to get a case with a 300 watt PS, but that can be had locally, since the shipping will be more with it.

As for transfering the rest of my components, can I just put 'em in the new case and expect to go through the usual detect process? Or will there be headaches to reconfigure my system with the new mobo/CPU?

HongKongPolice
12-16-00, 07:49 PM
Why not try overclocking 1st?

freckmoto
12-16-00, 08:47 PM
The KT7 is the best o/cing mobo around!!! If you get decent memory it will work fine. I am sure what you already have will be sufficient. The monster 2 is pretty loud but not too bad. And if you dont like the noise, you could get the ocz dualie instead, which might make you run a couple degrees hotter, but not as much sound http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif

Freckmoto

------------------
Abit KT7 RAID
Duron 1000mhz
OCZ Monster 2 Heatsink
256mb PC133 Infineon 222
10 gig
TNT2
Aureal Vortex 2