PDA

View Full Version : Speedguide.net crashed my browser!



GokouGT
02-21-00, 10:36 AM
i use IE 5.0 on win 98 machine and whenever i visit speedguide.net , my browser freezes up.... so i gotta do that annoying end task crap like 10 times before i finally get lucky and speedguide.net page loads....

can anyone help me solve this problem?

dynamo|x
02-21-00, 10:54 AM
The same thing happens to me too. IE5

AznFuBuBoy
02-21-00, 11:03 AM
LOL... I thought I was the only one who is experiencing all this crashes when I go to this site...That led me no choice... but to use Netscape (slow... arugh...) to go to this site..

------------------
"Have you eaten RICE today?" :)

GokouGT
02-21-00, 11:08 AM
it als o happens when i try accessing the site fighters.net ..... is it just coincidence?

how do i fix this? i dont want to waste disk space on Nutscrape

TonyT
02-22-00, 12:05 AM
Clear TIF cache
Clear history folder
Enable cookies
Enable active scripting
Update the MSJVM
Revisit site & reset preferences
Worst case-turn down hdware accelleration

Oh. & if you get any error messages post the details of it here.


[This message has been edited by TonyT (edited 02-21-2000).]

Sephiroth
02-22-00, 06:25 PM
ie 4.0 works bests w/ speedguide

heyguy
02-22-00, 07:14 PM
I too have the same problem. I tried IE 5.01
and deleted cache and histories but couldn't fix it. I use netscape for now...

cableboy
02-22-00, 08:51 PM
I have had this problem for a while. You can check the feedback forum for some more info on it. One thing that might be a clue to this puzzle is I think it has to be something with caching. If you go to google and look up speedguide.net, you can open the cached version, but not he uncached verson.

http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/confused.gif


cb

Brent
02-22-00, 09:02 PM
hmmmmm I've used IE 5.0 and IE 5.01 and IE 5.5 and IE 5.5b and it's not crashed on ANY of them for me, hmmmmm, make sure you have ALL the windows updates and security fixes and such and the latest Java Runtimes and all.

Oh and I'm moving this thread to the Software forum since IE is a piece of software

cableboy
02-22-00, 09:13 PM
It is not a piece of software... its a piece of ****. It's still better than netscape though.


cb

------------------
Want some rights? Check out the new @home Bill of Rights page!

@Home Bill of Rights Home Page (under MAJOR construction.) (http://angelfire.com/de/johns)

@Home Bill of Rights Forum (http://pub6.ezboard.com/bcableusersbillofrights)

Email me with some ideas/suggestions!

bkehoe
02-23-00, 08:11 AM
Same thing happens here.

I've every single update from Windows Update (except those rubbish theme things). and it always happens.

I've found a work-around though. If I go to an address like http://www.speedguide.net/werwegg.htm , let that load, then go to www.speedguide.net, (http://www.speedguide.net,) it all works fine, but if I don't do that, around half the time, IE5.01 locks up.

Brendan

BAZZAW1
02-24-00, 04:26 PM
If IE5 still stuffs you round, Opera 3.61 may be worth a try. Certainly better than Netscrape, but it does still have some probs with Java I believe.
Baz


Originally posted by bkehoe:
Same thing happens here.

I've every single update from Windows Update (except those rubbish theme things). and it always happens.

I've found a work-around though. If I go to an address like http://www.speedguide.net/werwegg.htm , let that load, then go to www.speedguide.net, (http://www.speedguide.net,) it all works fine, but if I don't do that, around half the time, IE5.01 locks up.

Brendan

TonyT
02-24-00, 08:05 PM
Possibly corrupted Temporary Internet, History and/or Cookie index files. It's not that uncommon when upgrading from IE4 to IE5.
Clear your Temporary Internet Files, History, and Cookies as follows:

Start | Shutdown | Restart in MS-DOS mode

In the following lines, ignore all quotation marks.

At the command prompt, type in:

"smartdrv" and press "enter" (note that you will not really see anything happen. Just a return to the command prompt.


"deltree C:\Windows\tempor~1" then press "enter" and answer "Y"

next:

Type in "deltree C:\windows\history" then press "enter" and answer "Y"

next:

Type in "deltree C:\windows\cookies" then press "enter" and answer "Y"


When done, re-boot using CTRL-ALT-DEL.

bkehoe
02-27-00, 11:35 AM
I've been trying it on clean installs of Windows 2000, Win98 SE and Windows Me.

Brendan

biohazard
03-07-00, 01:58 AM
That happens to me to, when i type the address in Explorer 5 like this: www.speedguide.net (http://www.speedguide.net) but when i type it this way http://www.speedguide.net it doesn't freeze, this is very strange, does the web site offer any suggestions as to why this happens?

Philip
04-06-00, 05:24 PM
We've found an issue with the left menu bar on our site that caused crashes with IE in some rare cases. If you're still experiencing problems, email webmaster@speedguide.net with the URL of the page and your OS/broser version.

eyeball
04-11-00, 11:15 PM
hey look!!!
i viewed the source of the main speedguide.net webpage, and it says <iecrash> ..
if someone would take out that line of code, it wouldnt crash anymore!

ok not really.

------------------
"i overclocked my 14gig monitor to 40x!"

LikeAGlove
04-17-00, 11:33 PM
(cableboy... LOL) http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/biggrin.gif

I haven't had any problems with IE 5, 5.01 or 5.5

If you have all the hot fixes, patches and updates installed (and haven't seriously screwed around with your activeX, javascript and other advanced settings) you shouldn't have any problems. i've tried this page in win95, 98, NT and 2000 and have no complaints.

I agree with Brent: if there is a certain page that keeps loading incorrectly/crashing your system, then it's usually not the page's fault, but rather a bug in your config.

just my $0.02

cheers.

Unterhalterin
12-15-00, 06:09 AM
Just reading this old topic on a browser search. I had this same problem on my new upgrade a few months ago. I made sure to buy quality hardware and I limit my software to avoid problems. Speedguide wouldn't load on my computer, and in fact, some pages actually shut my computer down. I wondered if the DIMM I had in was bad. I borrowed a Viking ECC 128 MB DIMM in place of the Micron non-ECC 128 MB DIMM that seemed to be the problem. Now I have have a perfect computer with almost no errors. I did replaced the Micron memory module and it worked fine, but I decided to use the fancy Viking memory for now.

Prey521
12-15-00, 06:35 AM
Originally posted by cableboy:
It is not a piece of software... its a piece of ****. It's still better than netscape though.


ROFLMAO http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/biggrin.gif http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/biggrin.gif