PDA

View Full Version : 2 Anti virus at once ?



EvilAngel
10-20-00, 01:35 AM
Currently I am running NAV2000 and the InnoculateIT PE. Could this create problems or could this be a safe call? So far there is no sign of conflict or incompatability of any sort.

Anyone have any advantages or disadvantages of running two antivirus's feel free to post them http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/wink.gif TIA

------------------
The mouth is mightier than the sword!

EvilAngel
10-20-00, 01:40 AM
I failed to mention that my system resources at boot up are at 92% so the resource thang ain't an issue http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif

Pitch
10-20-00, 02:07 AM
Are you running both programs at the same time? If you are, that's, pretty much, a "no, no." If you read the documentation of many antivirus programs, you'll see that it is something they warn against doing. And, even if you don't run them at the same time, there isn't a need for two antivirus programs running on the same computer. One good antivirus program (like Norton or InoculateIt) that's kept up to date, is all you'll need to keep your computer virus free. Now these programs may not take up much System Resources on your particular computer, but they cerainly can take up a good chunk of Memory (different from System Resources).

joker12578
10-20-00, 09:05 AM
first of all someones wrong. Yea, it's not good to run two at once and yea they will confict its a matter of time. Having more then one virus scanner/type of scaner is the smart way to go. Just scan one scaner at a time, and only use one to scan files at one time. Running both can sometimes make one call the other a virus. But be/c of the prob with some $hitty updated files (norton) its good to also use another, sometimes one will find what the other missed. Goes a lot for norton too they seem to miss a lot of viruses. You can stop one from loading by using msconfig to stop one from loading and also will have to stop it in the options. I have only once had norton find what tds and mcafee messed. And all those times had countless times had mcafee find what norton messed. But even with using the one that finds the most, I would have made a mistake by clicking that file. And I prob would have if I didn't have two scanners.

EvilAngel
10-20-00, 06:19 PM
Very interesting, both of your posts make sence. I will do the MSCONFIG thang and disable Inocculate. If I feel that its nessassary to run a scan, I can do both independantly. Thanx for input guys http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/wink.gif

------------------
The mouth is mightier than the sword!