PDA

View Full Version : Bad Wireless Router?



chrisa
06-10-07, 09:53 PM
I've been having connectivity problems for months and it's driving me
berserk!

Situation:
I have a home networking package consisting of 1 modem, 1 Linksys
Wireless B router, a destop and a laptop. My internet connection is
perfectly fine, if I run the cable from my modem directly to either my
desktop or laptop, I connect fine 24/7 with no issues. But when I run
the connection through the wireless router,

Mr. Arnold
06-10-07, 11:51 PM
"chrisa" <hm@mmm.com> wrote in message
news:vldp63dotacldif00jhj142i6lfvn4uodp@4ax.com...
> I've been having connectivity problems for months and it's driving me
> berserk!
>
> Situation:
> I have a home networking package consisting of 1 modem, 1 Linksys
> Wireless B router, a destop and a laptop. My internet connection is
> perfectly fine, if I run the cable from my modem directly to either my
> desktop or laptop, I connect fine 24/7 with no issues. But when I run
> the connection through the wireless router, I have frequent dropped
> connections throughout the day. Sometimes I get lucky and the
> connection holds for a full day without dropping, sometimes it drops
> literally every 20 minutes. Here is the weird part, if the connection
> drops, I unplug the cable going from the modem to the wireless router
> and plug it directly into my laptop so that the laptop is connected to
> the modem, and then verify that there's a connection from my modem,
> there always is. I then plug the cable back into the wireless router,
> and then the wireless connection is somehow "reset" and works
> again(until it drops again in another hour of course). Now if I simply
> unplug the line from the router wihtout plugging it into my laptop and
> then plug it back into the router(I wait a few minutes between
> replugging), the connection will NOT re-establish. It will ONLY
> re-establish if I first connect it to my computer. I am absolutely
> baffled as to what is causing this problem.
>
> I have the router's setting to get an IP address automatically, I'm
> using WPA for security.
>
> And in addition, I had bought a Netgear router




thinking something was
> just wrong with the router, but I had the IDENTICAL same problem but
> even MORE frequent disconnections. So I took it back to the store.


Do a hard reset of the router, by holding the Reset button for 30 seconds or
more and power recycle the router off/on. Your router will be reset to
factory default settings so you'll have to set the WAP key again.

You can disable the Wireless Zero Configuration on XP to see if that's
dropping the wireless connection as the machine tries to connect to other
networks in your area, dropping your connection.

You can have some kind wireless interference that could be happening that's
causing the connection to be lost.

If you got a friend with a wireless laptop, then have them come over and
connect to see if the problem follows. If the problem doesn't follow with
the friend's computer, then may be your wireless card is going defective.

If the problem follows to your friend's computer, then you might have some
kind of interference happening.

Walter Mautner
06-11-07, 12:18 AM
chrisa wrote:

> I've been having connectivity problems for months and it's driving me
> berserk!
.....
> And in addition, I had bought a Netgear router thinking something was
> just wrong with the router, but I had the IDENTICAL same problem but
> even MORE frequent disconnections. So I took it back to the store.
>
You may try to change the wireless channel from the default to another one,
on the router. Maybe your neighbours use wireless as well?
--
vista policy violation: Microsoft optical mouse found penguin patterns
on mousepad. Partition scan in progress to remove offending
incompatible products. Reactivate MS software.
Linux 2.6.17mm,Xorg7.2/nvidia [LinuxCounter#295241,ICQ#4918962]

Mr. Arnold
06-11-07, 12:58 AM
"chrisa" <hm@mmm.com> wrote in message
news:0glp63pv9plso8119crnja9eii86iiqjs9@4ax.com...
> On Mon, 11 Jun 2007 04:51:18 GMT, "Mr. Arnold" <MR. Arnold@Arnold.com>
> wrote:
>
>
>>Do a hard reset of the router, by holding the Reset button for 30 seconds
>>or
>>more and power recycle the router off/on. Your router will be reset to
>>factory default settings so you'll have to set the WAP key again.
>
> I'd done this before and I think I had a solid 2 days of connection.
> After that, the problem came back with a vengeance. I'll try resetting
> again and seeing what happens.

You can also try to re-flash the router with its firmware as firmware can
become sick and not function properly.

>
>>You can disable the Wireless Zero Configuration on XP to see if that's
>>dropping the wireless connection as the machine tries to connect to other
>>networks in your area, dropping your connection.
>
> I'm on Vista. Does vista still have the zero configuration issue?

I have Vista on a laptop as well, and it has a wireless card. Vista has a
WLAN Autoconfig service in Services, which seems to be the same thing as WZC
on XP. You can try disabling that to see what happens.

WZC on XP allowed you to walk with a laptop or desktop, if you could walk
with a desktop, and it would roam for a wireless connection.

The WAC is doing the same thing on Vista. Also, if I go to Device Manager
and select the card, right-click/Properties/Advanced Button, it has a
setting for Aggressive Roaming as well with various settings.

So, did these machines you have come with Vista? Did you upgrade to Vista
doing an upgrade of Vista over the top of XP? If you did an Vista upgrade,
did you check to see if the card had a driver for Vista? If Vista upgrade,
did you do the Vista Compatibility check on the machine?

>
>>
>>You can have some kind wireless interference that could be happening
>>that's
>>causing the connection to be lost.
>
> Perhaps, but can't imagine what as I don't have any heavy electronics
> or anything around.
>
>>If you got a friend with a wireless laptop, then have them come over and
>>connect to see if the problem follows. If the problem doesn't follow with
>>the friend's computer, then may be your wireless card is going defective.

You got Vista on both machines. I would still have someone come over with a
non Vista machine and see if the problem follows.

Also along with posting to alt.internet.wireless, you might want to post to
a Microsoft.Public.Windows.Vista NG like Setup or Hardware, which they may
be able to give you some things to look at about the issues you are having
with your wireless connection.

I have seen your post in the sometimes, that's most of the time, madd house
called 24hrs. :)

Yes Baby
06-11-07, 12:59 AM
"chrisa" <hm@mmm.com> wrote in message
news:vldp63dotacldif00jhj142i6lfvn4uodp@4ax.com...
> I've been having connectivity problems for months and it's driving me
> berserk!
>
> Situation:
> I have a home networking package consisting of 1 modem, 1 Linksys
> Wireless B router, a destop and a laptop. My internet connection is
> perfectly fine, if I run the cable from my modem directly to either my
> desktop or laptop, I connect fine 24/7 with no issues. But when I run
> the connection through the wireless router, I have frequent dropped
> connections throughout the day. Sometimes I get lucky and the
> connection holds for a full day without dropping, sometimes it drops
> literally every 20 minutes. Here is the weird part, if the connection
> drops, I unplug the cable going from the modem to the wireless router
> and plug it directly into my laptop so that the laptop is connected to
> the modem, and then verify that there's a connection from my modem,
> there always is. I then plug the cable back into the wireless router,
> and then the wireless connection is somehow "reset" and works
> again(until it drops again in another hour of course). Now if I simply
> unplug the line from the router wihtout plugging it into my laptop and
> then plug it back into the router(I wait a few minutes between
> replugging), the connection will NOT re-establish. It will ONLY
> re-establish if I first connect it to my computer. I am absolutely
> baffled as to what is causing this problem.
>
> I have the router's setting to get an IP address automatically, I'm
> using WPA for security.
>
> And in addition, I had bought a Netgear router thinking something was
> just wrong with the router, but I had the IDENTICAL same problem but
> even MORE frequent disconnections. So I took it back to the store.
>
> I don't know what the heck to do anymore. I'm hoping someone has some
> pointers! Help!

I had connectivity problems for 12 months, something like 500+ reconnections
in that period (BT technical have a tracing system). Finally had a
discussion with a knowledgeable tech and he arranged a BT engineers visit.

The cable entering my house had poor/corroded wiring. He renewed this and
fitted a filter box at the same time...................been OK since.

barry@sme-online.com
06-11-07, 12:02 PM
On Jun 10, 10:53 pm, chrisa <h...@mmm.com> wrote:
> I've been having connectivity problems for months and it's driving me
> berserk!
>
> Situation:
> I have a home networking package consisting of 1 modem, 1 Linksys
> Wireless B router, a destop and a laptop. My internet connection is
> perfectly fine, if I run the cable from my modem directly to either my
> desktop or laptop, I connect fine 24/7 with no issues. But when I run
> the connection through the wireless router, I have frequent dropped
> connections throughout the day. Sometimes I get lucky and the
> connection holds for a full day without dropping, sometimes it drops
> literally every 20 minutes. Here is the weird part, if the connection
> drops, I unplug the cable going from the modem to the wireless router
> and plug it directly into my laptop so that the laptop is connected to
> the modem, and then verify that there's a connection from my modem,
> there always is. I then plug the cable back into the wireless router,
> and then the wireless connection is somehow "reset" and works
> again(until it drops again in another hour of course). Now if I simply
> unplug the line from the router wihtout plugging it into my laptop and
> then plug it back into the router(I wait a few minutes between
> replugging), the connection will NOT re-establish. It will ONLY
> re-establish if I first connect it to my computer. I am absolutely
> baffled as to what is causing this problem.
>
> I have the router's setting to get an IP address automatically, I'm
> using WPA for security.
>
> And in addition, I had bought a Netgear router thinking something was
> just wrong with the router, but I had the IDENTICAL same problem but
> even MORE frequent disconnections. So I took it back to the store.
>
> I don't know what the heck to do anymore. I'm hoping someone has some
> pointers! Help!

Know how to check IP status, and connectivity? Which OS on clients?

Wanna tell?

Which connection-manager on client?

J

John Wunderlich
06-11-07, 02:53 PM
chrisa <hm@mmm.com> wrote in
news:vldp63dotacldif00jhj142i6lfvn4uodp@4ax.com:

> I've been having connectivity problems for months and it's driving me
> berserk!
>

You have a lot of good advice. FWIW, Let me throw one more into the
mix. You say you have Vista, but this may apply there as well:

"The computer disconnects from a wireless network after random time
intervals in Windows XP"

<http://support.microsoft.com/kb/910387/en-us>

HTH,
John

chrisa
06-12-07, 04:49 AM

chrisa
06-12-07, 04:53 AM
On Mon, 11 Jun 2007 02:53:26 GMT, chrisa <hm@mmm.com> wrote:

>I've been having connectivity problems for months and it's driving me
>berserk!
>
>Situation:
>I have a home networking package consisting of 1 modem, 1 Linksys
>Wireless B router, a destop and a laptop. My internet connection is
>perfectly fine, if I run the cable from my modem directly to either my
>desktop or laptop, I connect fine 24/7 with no issues. But when I run
>the connection through the wireless router, I have frequent dropped
>connections throughout the day. Sometimes I get lucky and the
>connection holds for a full day without dropping, sometimes it drops
>literally every 20 minutes. Here is the weird part, if the connection
>drops, I unplug the cable going from the modem to the wireless router
>and plug it directly into my laptop so that the laptop is connected to
>the modem, and then verify that there's a connection from my modem,
>there always is. I then plug the cable back into the wireless router,
>and then the wireless connection is somehow "reset" and works
>again(until it drops again in another hour of course). Now if I simply
>unplug the line from the router wihtout plugging it into my laptop and
>then plug it back into the router(I wait a few minutes between
>replugging), the connection will NOT re-establish. It will ONLY
>re-establish if I first connect it to my computer. I am absolutely
>baffled as to what is causing this problem.
>
>I have the router's setting to get an IP address automatically, I'm
>using WPA for security.
>
>And in addition, I had bought a Netgear router thinking something was
>just wrong with the router, but I had the IDENTICAL same problem but
>even MORE frequent disconnections. So I took it back to the store.
>
>I don't know what the heck to do anymore. I'm hoping someone has some
>pointers! Help!


One more piece of the puzzle perhaps. My router was actually being
good. I was up for about more than a full day, wow. I had the same IP
for the entire day from what I saw. My connection went down a few
minutes ago. I unplugged the cable from the router(leading out the
modem) into my laptop to verify a live connection which there was,
then plugged it back into the router. And as usual the router is back
up after doing that. I also notice that when I checked my IP address,
it had changed.

Now what I wonder is whether my connection is dropping because my IP
gets changed or did the IP change because I plugged it back into the
router. That may be another clue as to the problem for me throw out
there.

chicagofan
06-12-07, 03:37 PM
chrisa wrote:
>
> One more piece of the puzzle perhaps. My router was actually being
> good. I was up for about more than a full day, wow. I had the same IP
> for the entire day from what I saw. My connection went down a few
> minutes ago. I unplugged the cable from the router(leading out the
> modem) into my laptop to verify a live connection which there was,
> then plugged it back into the router. And as usual the router is back
> up after doing that. I also notice that when I checked my IP address,
> it had changed.
>
> Now what I wonder is whether my connection is dropping because my IP
> gets changed or did the IP change because I plugged it back into the
> router. That may be another clue as to the problem for me throw out
> there.

It's not likely your IP changed due to a brief disconnection by you.

That sounds like the problem I had for awhile with my Linksys router,
because DHCP wasn't working after IP changes by my ISP. After I updated
the router firmware to the latest, that problem went away.

I'd check the Linksys web site for your *exact* router version, to see
if there are any updates that might help. They tell you what they
correct. Good luck...
bj

Kraftee
06-12-07, 05:44 PM
chicagofan wrote:
> chrisa wrote:
>>
>> One more piece of the puzzle perhaps. My router was actually being
>> good. I was up for about more than a full day, wow. I had the same
>> IP for the entire day from what I saw. My connection went down a
>> few minutes ago. I unplugged the cable from the router(leading out
>> the modem) into my laptop to verify a live connection which there
>> was, then plugged it back into the router. And as usual the router
>> is back up after doing that. I also notice that when I checked my
>> IP address, it had changed.
>>
>> Now what I wonder is whether my connection is dropping because my
>> IP gets changed or did the IP change because I plugged it back
>> into the router. That may be another clue as to the problem for me
>> throw out there.
>
> It's not likely your IP changed due to a brief disconnection by you.

Fraid it will, one connection via the wireless & the next by patch
lead........that's a sure way of getting differing IP addresses
(because it is being connected to differing MAC adresses).

I can't help but wonder why the OP hasn't tried using fixed IP
adresses for each connection. If it is a DHCP problem it's one sure
way of getting around it..

chicagofan
06-13-07, 02:49 PM
Kraftee wrote:
> chicagofan wrote:
>> chrisa wrote:
>>> One more piece of the puzzle perhaps. My router was actually being
>>> good. I was up for about more than a full day, wow. I had the same
>>> IP for the entire day from what I saw. My connection went down a
>>> few minutes ago. I unplugged the cable from the router(leading out
>>> the modem) into my laptop to verify a live connection which there
>>> was, then plugged it back into the router. And as usual the router
>>> is back up after doing that. I also notice that when I checked my
>>> IP address, it had changed.
>>>
>>> Now what I wonder is whether my connection is dropping because my
>>> IP gets changed or did the IP change because I plugged it back
>>> into the router. That may be another clue as to the problem for me
>>> throw out there.
>>
>> It's not likely your IP changed due to a brief disconnection by you.
>
> Fraid it will, one connection via the wireless & the next by patch
> lead........that's a sure way of getting differing IP addresses
> (because it is being connected to differing MAC adresses).

My bad; I should have said that hadn't been my experience, rather than
imply it wasn't likely for anyone else. :)
bj

chrisa
06-16-07, 04:17 PM
On Tue, 12 Jun 2007 23:44:21 +0100, "Kraftee"
<kraftee@b&e-cottee.me.uk> wrote:


>I can't help but wonder why the OP hasn't tried using fixed IP
>adresses for each connection. If it is a DHCP problem it's one sure
>way of getting around it..

I'm not too saavy with networking issues so not sure how to fix my IP
addresses for each connection. I have a dynanic IP from my ISP, how do
I change it to fixed?

chrisa
06-16-07, 04:33 PM
On Tue, 12 Jun 2007 23:44:21 +0100, "Kraftee"
<kraftee@b&e-cottee.me.uk> wrote:

>I can't help but wonder why the OP hasn't tried using fixed IP
>adresses for each connection. If it is a DHCP problem it's one sure
>way of getting around it..

Whatever the problem is, I am sure at this point that it has something
to do with the computers acquiring an IP address. My connection went
down a couple time, and when I opened up the find a network screen, I
saw my SSID name, and then I saw it say "acquiring an IP address" and
then a few seconds later it showed connected and it was fine. So
perhaps this whole problem is the DHCP. By the way, I did update the
firmware, and like I said in a previous post, I bought a brand new
Netgear router right out the box and was still having the same
problem, so I don't think it's related to router firmware. I'm
wondering now if I need a new modem.

Kraftee
06-17-07, 04:20 AM
chrisa wrote:
> On Tue, 12 Jun 2007 23:44:21 +0100, "Kraftee"
> <kraftee@b&e-cottee.me.uk> wrote:
>
>
>> I can't help but wonder why the OP hasn't tried using fixed IP
>> adresses for each connection. If it is a DHCP problem it's one
>> sure way of getting around it..
>
> I'm not too saavy with networking issues so not sure how to fix my
> IP addresses for each connection. I have a dynanic IP from my ISP,
> how do I change it to fixed?

You don't.....

You turn of the DHCP server in your router & then assign IPs to each
of your machines using the IP of your router as your gateway IP..

Do a google & it will be there...

Warren Oates
06-17-07, 07:14 AM
In article <f52ucl$sqp$1@news.datemas.de>,
"Kraftee" <kraftee@b&e-cottee.me.uk> wrote:

> You don't.....
>
> You turn of the DHCP server in your router & then assign IPs to each
> of your machines using the IP of your router as your gateway IP..

Depending on the router, you can also tell its DHCP server to "reserve"
specific addresses (in its range) to specific machines on your LAN.
--
W. Oates

Kraftee
06-17-07, 02:10 PM
Warren Oates wrote:
> In article <f52ucl$sqp$1@news.datemas.de>,
> "Kraftee" <kraftee@b&e-cottee.me.uk> wrote:
>
>> You don't.....
>>
>> You turn of the DHCP server in your router & then assign IPs to
>> each of your machines using the IP of your router as your gateway
>> IP..
>
> Depending on the router, you can also tell its DHCP server to
> "reserve" specific addresses (in its range) to specific machines on
> your LAN.

I've got a firewall which is supposed to do that.....doesn't work it
just allocates the next free IP. Thankfully the print server isn't on
when I try & log in wirelessly from my works laptop (yes it gives the
same IP to both)

chrisa
06-17-07, 03:53 PM
On Sun, 17 Jun 2007 10:20:19 +0100, "Kraftee"
<kraftee@b&e-cottee.me.uk> wrote:

>chrisa wrote:
>> On Tue, 12 Jun 2007 23:44:21 +0100, "Kraftee"
>> <kraftee@b&e-cottee.me.uk> wrote:
>>
>>
>>> I can't help but wonder why the OP hasn't tried using fixed IP
>>> adresses for each connection. If it is a DHCP problem it's one
>>> sure way of getting around it..
>>
>> I'm not too saavy with networking issues so not sure how to fix my
>> IP addresses for each connection. I have a dynanic IP from my ISP,
>> how do I change it to fixed?
>
>You don't.....
>
>You turn of the DHCP server in your router & then assign IPs to each
>of your machines using the IP of your router as your gateway IP..
>
>Do a google & it will be there...


I'll look into that, because I'm getting desperate for a solution. I
upgraded modem firmware and the problem actually seems to have gotten
WORSE!

Kraftee
06-17-07, 04:15 PM
chrisa wrote:
> On Sun, 17 Jun 2007 10:20:19 +0100, "Kraftee"
> <kraftee@b&e-cottee.me.uk> wrote:
>
>> chrisa wrote:
>>> On Tue, 12 Jun 2007 23:44:21 +0100, "Kraftee"
>>> <kraftee@b&e-cottee.me.uk> wrote:
>>>
>>>
>>>> I can't help but wonder why the OP hasn't tried using fixed IP
>>>> adresses for each connection. If it is a DHCP problem it's one
>>>> sure way of getting around it..
>>>
>>> I'm not too saavy with networking issues so not sure how to fix my
>>> IP addresses for each connection. I have a dynanic IP from my ISP,
>>> how do I change it to fixed?
>>
>> You don't.....
>>
>> You turn of the DHCP server in your router & then assign IPs to
>> each of your machines using the IP of your router as your gateway
>> IP..
>>
>> Do a google & it will be there...
>
>
> I'll look into that, because I'm getting desperate for a solution. I
> upgraded modem firmware and the problem actually seems to have
> gotten WORSE!

If it's getting worse reset the unit back to default, normally you've
got a small hole in the back to do this & then start setting it up
again.

DracoKayne
03-30-08, 09:21 AM
ok so heres our problem we have a dell wireless router and every day about 4 or 5 times a day our connection drops on our laptops and we cant find the router again for about 10 min if i unplugg the wire goin from the dsl box to the router it will come back up after a few min but maybe its us we dont use a desktop because we can use our laptops. Do you need a desktop computer to use a wireless router effectivly? and maybe its just our dsl i dont know but ts really starting to tweak my gibbles and im startin to get sick of having to get up when im comfortable lol playing a game. anyways i do know that our conection dosnt show up on wireless network connection screen when its down so maybe it is our router. anyways thanks for leting me rant i feel a litle better lol. any help you could offer would be appreciated thanks