PDA

View Full Version : MinFileCache and MaxFileCache



Biggy
10-17-00, 03:38 AM
i have in my vcache MinFileCache=32768 and MaxFileCache=32768 is this right? I have 128 RAM or should the MinFileCache be set to 0 , while keeping the max the same. any suggestions.

dannjr
10-17-00, 04:10 AM
here try this before you try that
at the run command type "mem"
take note of the memory usage
next at the run command type
"sysedit"
click on the config.sys file and if theres nothing at all in it add this to it

device=c:\windows\himem.sys
device=c:\windows\emm386.exe noems
dos=high,umb
files=128
devicehigh=c:\windows\setver.exe
devicehigh=c:\windows\ifshlp.sys

Save and restart your machine then repete the "mem" command you should see a noticable diff in memory usage then go play with these other settings. While most of the commands work primarly for Dos there are still some programs that have handles that go that way

If your not sure about these you can get more info on these at http://search.support.microsoft.com/
Another good place for info


------------------
dannjr@microsyspro.com
Microsystems (http://microsyspro.com)

THE WORLDS THINNEST BOOK: THINGS I CAN'T BUY By Bill Gates

cablenut
10-17-00, 08:01 AM
Biggy, tweak3d.net recommeneds 8192 for min and max, seems to work good for me to..

freckmoto
10-17-00, 10:15 AM
Danjr. What if there is stuff that I need in my config.sys? Can I still use the tweak you suggested?


Max

dannjr
10-17-00, 10:22 AM
Yes just make sure that Himem.sys is first in the order of things or put all of that before your original info


Originally posted by freckmoto:
Danjr. What if there is stuff that I need in my config.sys? Can I still use the tweak you suggested?


Max



------------------
dannjr@microsyspro.com
Microsystems (http://microsyspro.com)

THE WORLDS THINNEST BOOK: THINGS I CAN'T BUY By Bill Gates

dannjr
10-17-00, 03:13 PM
Freeware from analogx cache booster and Maxmem if you want a program to do it

http://www.analogx.com/contents/download/system.htm


Originally posted by mattyx:
there is a shareware program called cacheman (get it a download.com) that does a good job of optimizing memory usage. it also allows you to tweak the settings yourself.

i have used it and it works well.

Brent
10-17-00, 03:48 PM
moving to the software forum......

mattyx
10-17-00, 11:27 PM
there is a shareware program called cacheman (get it a download.com) that does a good job of optimizing memory usage. it also allows you to tweak the settings yourself.

i have used it and it works well.