PDA

View Full Version : IE5.0



PC101
10-16-00, 07:04 PM
Hi,

If you've seen this post before I apologize, I did post it in the networking one, I think this is where it should be, anyway here's my problem.

All of a sudden IE will not dispay any pages, keep getting the message "The page cannot be
displayed" this is on all sites we try to visit. Netscape works fine. This is an intermittent
problem, cause sometimes it will go to the a page, usually after reboot, or fist try in the
morning, then it will jump back to the cannot display page message. We are running
Win.98SE, and roadrunner is our connection. Any Ideas? Thank you..Ron

Oh I already de-fragged, and cleaned out the temp files.

------------------
Life is what happens to you while your busy making other plans

Zporttech
10-16-00, 07:27 PM
Have you tried the self repair? Or you might need to reinstall it. Both options are in the control panel in add/remove programs. Select IE5 like you were going to uninstall it and it should give you an options list.

------------------
Steve
www.zport.com

PC101
10-16-00, 07:42 PM
Thanks Steve, But it is not listed in the add/remove, why is that? This is the version that comes with win98se. This is a bafflement, cause it will load a page right after reboot, then goes back to it's cannot display page message.???

Zporttech
10-16-00, 08:56 PM
I made a quick pass through the Microsoft Knowledge base. I came up with two possible solutions.

1. If you are using Internet Connection sharing it might be causing a conflict with IE. If you are using it, try disabling it and see if that helps.

2. Make sure your proxy settings are disabled. (internet options/LAN settings)

As far as the "repair" goes, I had forgoten that SE did away with it. Below is Microsoft`s answer on the repair issue.


"The Repair Internet Explorer tool is found in the Microsoft Internet Explorer 5 and Internet Tools option in the Add/Remove Programs tool. In Windows 98 Second Edition, the Microsoft Internet Explorer 5 and Internet Tools option is no longer available. To reinstall or remove Internet Explorer 5, you must reinstall or remove Windows 98 Second Edition. "

I know it wasn`t much, but maybe this will be a place to start. Also, hopefully some of the other good folks here will give us a hand......




------------------
Steve
www.zport.com

PC101
10-16-00, 09:16 PM
Thanks Zporttech,

What exactly do you mean by Internet sharing? And where do I find the enable/disable? You'll have to excuse some of my questions, but I forgot more then I ever knew,:-)tHE WIERD PART TO ALL THIS, IS THAT i'VE BEEN USING nETSCAPE AND ie FOR OVER A YEAR, and this is the first problem with IE. But Netscape works just dandy.

PC101
10-16-00, 09:21 PM
Oh, when I go to refresh, nothing happens but I get this in the title bar..

res://C:WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SHDOCLC.DLL/dsnerror.htm#
That is followed with the web address I'm trying to access

TonyT
10-16-00, 10:24 PM
DNS error is what you have. If you are using a hosts file you made yourself or a program made one for you, then try updating the IP's for the hosts file or just move it out of the windows folder to another directory & then test browsing.

The hosts file is called just that, HOSTS. There is NO file extension, ie .exe,.gif etc.
Do not confuse this with HOSTS.SAM which is a sample hosts file that outlines how to create one.

The other situation is that you are not being asigned the correct configs from RR in that their DNS servers are not supporting you.

Hardfloor
10-17-00, 02:08 AM
Explain to me on the hosts file. If you put the ips of the sites you access in the .sam file, windows won't look for them there? The lmhosts.sam gives you info on how to create, but the hosts.sam only gives me my local host address. When I use fastnet and scan the sites off my bookmarks, it wants to put the ip's in the .sam file. Is there a different way? How do you create a new hosts file?

legalmind
10-17-00, 07:34 AM
Originally posted by Zporttech:
I made a quick pass through the Microsoft Knowledge base. I came up with two possible solutions.

1. If you are using Internet Connection sharing it might be causing a conflict with IE. If you are using it, try disabling it and see if that helps.

2. Make sure your proxy settings are disabled. (internet options/LAN settings)

As far as the "repair" goes, I had forgoten that SE did away with it. Below is Microsoft`s answer on the repair issue.


"The Repair Internet Explorer tool is found in the Microsoft Internet Explorer 5 and Internet Tools option in the Add/Remove Programs tool. In Windows 98 Second Edition, the Microsoft Internet Explorer 5 and Internet Tools option is no longer available. To reinstall or remove Internet Explorer 5, you must reinstall or remove Windows 98 Second Edition. "

I know it wasn`t much, but maybe this will be a place to start. Also, hopefully some of the other good folks here will give us a hand......



Repair is in my se 2nd! So is add and remove.

PC101
10-17-00, 08:21 AM
I do not have the option to repair, in control panel add/remove, Internet explorer is not listed there. WHY? I don't know, but when I get home today I'll check the HOSTS idea, but like I said, all was fine until three days ago. thanks for all the ideas, keep them coming.
Ron

Zporttech
10-17-00, 11:34 AM
Originally posted by legalmind:

Originally posted by Zporttech:
I made a quick pass through the Microsoft Knowledge base. I came up with two possible solutions.

1. If you are using Internet Connection sharing it might be causing a conflict with IE. If you are using it, try disabling it and see if that helps.

2. Make sure your proxy settings are disabled. (internet options/LAN settings)

As far as the "repair" goes, I had forgoten that SE did away with it. Below is Microsoft`s answer on the repair issue.


"The Repair Internet Explorer tool is found in the Microsoft Internet Explorer 5 and Internet Tools option in the Add/Remove Programs tool. In Windows 98 Second Edition, the Microsoft Internet Explorer 5 and Internet Tools option is no longer available. To reinstall or remove Internet Explorer 5, you must reinstall or remove Windows 98 Second Edition. "

I know it wasn`t much, but maybe this will be a place to start. Also, hopefully some of the other good folks here will give us a hand......



Repair is in my se 2nd! So is add and remove.


I looked at a buddy`s SE, he didn`t have it either. But, after loading 5.5 from a microsoft CD, it showed up! Have you done anything like this?


------------------
Steve
www.zport.com

Zporttech
10-17-00, 11:35 AM
Originally posted by TonyT:
DNS error is what you have. If you are using a hosts file you made yourself or a program made one for you, then try updating the IP's for the hosts file or just move it out of the windows folder to another directory & then test browsing.

The hosts file is called just that, HOSTS. There is NO file extension, ie .exe,.gif etc.
Do not confuse this with HOSTS.SAM which is a sample hosts file that outlines how to create one.

The other situation is that you are not being asigned the correct configs from RR in that their DNS servers are not supporting you.

Why will his Netscape work?



------------------
Steve
www.zport.com

Zporttech
10-17-00, 11:40 AM
Originally posted by PC101:
Thanks Zporttech,

What exactly do you mean by Internet sharing? And where do I find the enable/disable? You'll have to excuse some of my questions, but I forgot more then I ever knew,:-)tHE WIERD PART TO ALL THIS, IS THAT i'VE BEEN USING nETSCAPE AND ie FOR OVER A YEAR, and this is the first problem with IE. But Netscape works just dandy.

ICS can be used if you have more than one computer and want to connect them to the net. If you go into Internet Options then connections you should see a tab next to LAN settings if it is installed. You can enabel/disable from there. If it is not there, it would have to be installed from your Windows CD.....



------------------
Steve
www.zport.com

PC101
10-17-00, 04:07 PM
Thanks everyone for all your help and suggestions. What I did was download the IE5.01 Service pack1, and all seems normal again, er, well nothings ever normal here, but anyway seems to have fixed what ever was ailing it.

Ron

------------------
Life is what happens to you while your busy making other plans

TonyT
10-17-00, 04:12 PM
Not sure about thje Netscape thing, but I believe that it doesn't use the hosts file in c:\windows folder but would keep one in it's own directory if there was one.

Hardfloor
FastNet should NOT be writing to LMHOSTS.SAM or HOSTS.SAM. They are sample files, not hosts files. Putting IP's there will do absolutely no good at all & IE won't even check there for IP's! If FastNet is doing that then s/g is misconfigured or very wrong with the program. If it wants to write to one of those existing files, then move those sample files to the desktop prior to running FastNet. It will create an actual HOSTS file in c:/windows. Then move the samples back when finished with FastNet.

PC101
Try deleting the TIF's & History folders via DOS. You could have corrupt index.dat files in those directories. And while yer at it, clear out the Cookies folder in DOS as well to get rid of the index.dat there too. Instructions on how to do it that way are in a post in same forum here with the subject of "index.dat".