PDA

View Full Version : Comcast users? having issues?



Sava700
03-02-07, 10:31 PM
I'm having issues loading websites, the speedtest.net site hardly works or takes a few mins to even get a ping test let alone start the speedtest, speedguides the same way, speakeasy's does the download but it takes a min sometimes to start and the upload sometimes just sits there???? WTF?

I called Comcast but I got the rudest tech support guy that I almost went off on him but instead asked to be transfered.. its not my God damn computer!!! NOO clearing my cache will not fix it...and NOOOOOO its not spyware!!! :irate: :irate:

mountainman
03-02-07, 10:33 PM
Virus?

:p

Sava700
03-02-07, 10:43 PM
Virus?

:p

:nope:

Loonatic
03-02-07, 10:58 PM
Trace route to speakeasy shows a clear route. Comcast is fine here :D

Unholy
03-02-07, 11:10 PM
I just get a wicked ping spike once in a while.

YARDofSTUF
03-02-07, 11:26 PM
Comcast is great here.

Sava700
03-03-07, 12:56 AM
yeah its odd.. when i'm on Ventrilo i hear people fine.. when I try to talk it lags bad..for upload. Same with surfing the web, I hit sites slow and retrieve info fast. Speedtests to vs places are the same results... maybe the tech will find something onthe lines here monday but I don't think so.. dslreports forums are full of people having "internet broken" issues on the comcast line. Also hear they are rolling out powerboost for upload around chicago.. that might be doing it too.. ever since Feb 25th to 28th it looks like till now.

Roody
03-03-07, 09:19 AM
Works fine for me.

Izzo
03-03-07, 09:31 AM
they prolly saw how pathetic your actual gameplay is and decided to step in and do you a favor :p

Roody
03-03-07, 09:31 AM
they prolly saw how pathetic your actual gameplay is and decided to step in and do you a favor :p

oh snap :rotfl:

Izzo
03-03-07, 09:32 AM
oh snap :rotfl:

Izzo > Buttman :D

Roody
03-03-07, 09:33 AM
Izzo > Buttman :D

:rotfl: :D

Izzo
03-03-07, 09:36 AM
:rotfl: :D

He needs to pick up 2142

Sava700
03-03-07, 01:43 PM
arg....

Sava700
03-05-07, 03:54 PM
Ok today the tech came by.. well only thing they had on the paper for him to check was "upload" which was fine at the time he came by..go figure. :rolleyes:
Well talking to him and showing some speedtests and the forums with screen shots of test results there was no issue but the shots showed powerboost on up and down stream.. he didn't even know what powerboost was :confused: :rolleyes: I explained what it was and that upload was being rolled out and should be completed by May 7th from what I read..

I'm at my wits end...

CableDude
03-05-07, 07:26 PM
he didn't even know what powerboost was :confused: :rolleyes:

:rotfl:

Sava700
03-14-07, 05:27 AM
Can yall believe someone accually gave me negative rep points for saying "God Damn" in this thread? or was it WTF?! I'm not sure hell it would have been any word this "User" thought was bad.

Perhaps I should be more polite to the stupid tech support people and not curse so much when I need to rant? :rolleyes:

YARDofSTUF
03-14-07, 06:03 AM
Can yall believe someone accually gave me negative rep points for saying "God Damn" in this thread? or was it WTF?! I'm not sure hell it would have been any word this "User" thought was bad.

Perhaps I should be more polite to the stupid tech support people and not curse so much when I need to rant? :rolleyes:

Guess we gotta be careful when we leave the gen forum lol

scudmuffin
04-08-07, 02:53 AM
did you ever resolve this issue, because i am literally having the exact same problem. pages take a while to load, and time out if they have a lot of pictures or data or i need to log in, or whatever. when i do get a speed test going, it says my download speeds are AMAZING, but for upload it just sits there...
this just started happening friday 4/6.

i've been on the phone for a good couple of hours with at least 5 different people.
argh, i don't need to clear my cache or turn off my firewall.
no, it's not my router, that works perfectly.
what? my modem you say? that doesn't make sense. it responds to ping. i can open it in my browser.

they are sending out a technician monday morning.
they still think my modem is broken.


but seriously, solution? of any kind? i'm moving soon, so if they can't fix this i'll just cancel my service with them...

Sava700
04-15-07, 03:06 PM
did you ever resolve this issue, because i am literally having the exact same problem. pages take a while to load, and time out if they have a lot of pictures or data or i need to log in, or whatever. when i do get a speed test going, it says my download speeds are AMAZING, but for upload it just sits there...
this just started happening friday 4/6.

i've been on the phone for a good couple of hours with at least 5 different people.
argh, i don't need to clear my cache or turn off my firewall.
no, it's not my router, that works perfectly.
what? my modem you say? that doesn't make sense. it responds to ping. i can open it in my browser.

they are sending out a technician monday morning.
they still think my modem is broken.


but seriously, solution? of any kind? i'm moving soon, so if they can't fix this i'll just cancel my service with them...

problem fixed itself..prob just upgrading..but they are rolling out upload powerboost in alot of area's so that might be a issue with alot of people.
I had a outage yesterday for about an hour it came back and ran fine so hard to tell what is going on alot of times but at least when I called they knew of the outage and sent someone out just for the hell of it.

Sava700
04-30-07, 09:57 PM
update again.. I'm having almost the same issue again.. its up and down on the speeds as in making surfing or anything a pain in the butt.

Sava700
05-20-07, 09:14 PM
updating.. well its almost a month since the problem began and its still going.. 30+ CSR calls 4 techs to house and nothing fixed.. I think I might be better off going back to dialup :rolleyes: :irate:

chaoss_2000
05-22-07, 12:50 AM
Ive been having the same problem. I used to hit peaks of 13,000 download and about 1200 upload, now i get as low as 700 download and as low as 300 upload. Upload usually stays good though. I thought it was because I had to format my comp.

chaoss_2000
05-22-07, 02:14 AM
I reset my modem to factory config. and nothing.
Reset everything, and nothing.
Checked my signals and cables, nothing.
I reinstalled internet explorer and now have 19343 download and 1783 upload on www.speakeasy.net speedtest for atlanta.

inferno3387
07-31-07, 09:14 PM
Well, I am having problems with crazy drop offs. Anyone know what to do?

http://www.speedtest.net/result/162641226.png

shfire
08-06-07, 11:46 AM
I've had the same problems myself. Many calls to the CSM's and its all th same thing reset this, reset that... Then it always end up with it must be your modem. We will send out a tech in a week. The problem fixed it self, but it comes back every now and then. I don't have power boost here yet though. I hope verizon FiOs gets out here soon.

Sava700
08-20-07, 11:05 AM
Well yet another update.. problem seems to be fixed. They don't have no idea what fixed it so the cause is still unknown. Its been since April so yall do the math on the time frame. I had to call to the top to get things moving on this so I suggest the same if after several calls to the 800's and CSR's can't do nothing, otherwise you will end up having as much trouble as I have. I have had DSL hooked up for two months now to have stable internet and it will stay hooked up for at least a month till problem is known not to return and I go back to Comcast.

I even stopped paying the bill till it was fixed and I'll expect a full refund of anything I've paid since April and perhaps a few months free.

Good luck! :thumb:

Sava700
09-05-07, 08:30 PM
ok another update.. not fixed.. after a week of working fine we are back to square 1... Comcast just isn't worth a damn!!!

Sava700
01-11-08, 03:35 PM
Well its been a few months and now I've got the issue of the SB5120 I had isn't wanting to work with their systems as of last night..I wake up this morning and I'm "Wallgardened" therefore I can't do nothing! Yesterday all I called for was to be fixed from the 6meg package to the 8meg that I pay for like I'm supposed to be getting. They re-did my account and it screwed something up. I got a temp 5101 modem for now but the config on it isn't right but I'll sit with it till I get my replacement 5120 in from newegg and then finally get my crap straight. The only good thing at the moment is I can finally see upload powerboost but the download on this temp modem sucks major!

Sava700
01-19-08, 03:13 PM
http://forums.speedguide.net/showthread.php?t=235738

OSULLY
01-19-08, 04:29 PM
Sava700

I don't curse much but you should hear me when I work on a car. What your dealing with could turn a Scientologist Christian. IMO curse away. So much for rep points. They have a purpose but this thread is very informative.

YARDofSTUF
01-20-08, 11:26 AM
Comcast is still excellent here in CT :)

Sava700
01-23-08, 04:10 PM
Comcast is still excellent here in CT :)

God forbid you ever run into a problem.

YARDofSTUF
01-23-08, 04:54 PM
God forbid you ever run into a problem.

:rotfl:

If I do I just hope FIOS will be ready by then. Comcast is my only real broadband option.