PDA

View Full Version : hughesnet and port forwarding



beggsr
02-14-07, 07:45 PM
I have a hughesnet 7000 and a dlink 524 router. I finally have the router and hughesnet working together. I need the instructions to get port forward working.

I have set up an account with a dns service..

when I type in the dns address all I get is the hughesnet modem, instead of the device that I need. Any step by step instructions will be helpful. Thanks in advance.

I am port forwarding to 192.168.1.10

trogers
02-17-07, 06:21 AM
Port forwarding is usually independent of the ISP. Go to this site that guides you to port forward your Brand and Model of router with a wide range of software:

http://www.portforward.com/

beggsr
02-17-07, 10:37 PM
Went to multiple sites for instructions and I now have a static IP from hughsnet.
72.xxx.xxx.185
255.255.255.252

dlink router di524

outside address static
72.xxx.xxx.186
255.255.255.252
gateway 72.xxx.xxx.185

inside address
192.168.1.1

dvr port forward to 192.168.1.10 ports 5000 and 5001

I can ping 72.xxx.xxx.185

still cannot connect to dvr. Am I missing anything.

trogers
02-18-07, 06:42 AM
Went to multiple sites for instructions and I now have a static IP from hughsnet.
72.xxx.xxx.185
255.255.255.252

dlink router di524

outside address static
72.xxx.xxx.186
255.255.255.252
gateway 72.xxx.xxx.185

inside address
192.168.1.1

dvr port forward to 192.168.1.10 ports 5000 and 5001

I can ping 72.xxx.xxx.185

still cannot connect to dvr. Am I missing anything.

Imagine you are setting up a LAN with your DLink as a DHCP server dispensing LAN IP to multiple devices.

The DLink is where you need to punch holes through to get to the WAN side, thus port forwarding the DLink.

You need to set a static LAN IP address of 192.168.1.10 to your comp so that the DLink can deliver data packets through these ports to the static LAN IP address:

http://www.portforward.com/networking/static-xp.htm

Philip
02-23-07, 09:09 AM
As already mentioned... You have to forward ports 5000 and 5001 on your DLink router to the internal static IP of your DVR (192.168.1.10 ?). Once you do, you should be able to reach your DVR using your external IP address:
72.xxx.xxx.186:5000 ?

If the above works, you've set the router correctly. Note that if you are using some type of free dynamic DNS for a hostname, they may not be forwarding all ports. Make sure the IP works first.