PDA

View Full Version : Comcast Powerboost!



YeOldeStonecat
08-23-06, 10:23 AM
Gotta Love It! :D
http://www.speedguide.net/~brian/powerboost2.JPG

Prey521
08-23-06, 10:29 AM
LMAO! Cache doesn't count :p :D

What's the speed rated at?

Izzo
08-23-06, 10:33 AM
I really hope Comcast does something like that up here. I've had cable for 4 years now at the same speed. :irate:

YeOldeStonecat
08-23-06, 10:38 AM
LMAO! Cache doesn't count :p :D

What's the speed rated at?

I can replicate this at any given moment, with different PCs, any browser, after emptying cache. ;)

Granted it's a brief burst only..after a little bit it settles down into the 10-ish range. But nice for downloading those small files, they come down before you can blink.

Prey521
08-23-06, 11:41 AM
I miss Optonline, damn Road Runner needs to get with the program and offer better speeds at a reasonable price!

YARDofSTUF
08-23-06, 02:19 PM
Yup, Powerboost rocks :nod:

Prey521
08-23-06, 02:22 PM
Yup, Powerboost rocks :nod:
Die

gameplaya
09-29-06, 10:52 AM
this power boost increases my speed in comcast? but wouldnt there be a fee in this?

YeOldeStonecat
09-29-06, 02:18 PM
this power boost increases my speed in comcast? but wouldnt there be a fee in this?

It comes with the service, depends if they rolled it out in your area.

YARDofSTUF
09-29-06, 10:28 PM
It comes with the service, depends if they rolled it out in your area.


Its in his area, he did a speed test in the gaming forum where hes having some lag issues with his Xbox, he got 25k down.

Hes feelin' the boost!

gameplaya
10-06-06, 11:01 AM
lol i sure am so thats wat the power boost was:rotfl:

gameplaya
10-06-06, 11:02 AM
but for some reason even though my speed is fast i still lag sometimes i think it has ot do with my router

Sava700
10-16-06, 06:17 AM
but for some reason even though my speed is fast i still lag sometimes i think it has ot do with my router


Some area's of Comcasts service is having issues... same as other thread
check out these forums at dslreports.com lots of people posting about issues.
I hate to lead anyone off here to somewhere else but most folks with your types of issues check there.

Loonatic
10-16-06, 12:03 PM
My Sb4220 wont pick up PowerBoost. My neighbors have it, but they have the SB5120, etc. *kicks Sb4220*

YARDofSTUF
10-16-06, 01:14 PM
Some area's of Comcasts service is having issues... same as other thread
check out these forums at dslreports.com lots of people posting about issues.
I hate to lead anyone off here to somewhere else but most folks with your types of issues check there.


DSL reports have a recent tinfoil hat convention? Read a couple threads about problems with comcast and google/youtube one day and they started going off on how comcast is trying to divide the internet lol

YARDofSTUF
10-16-06, 01:19 PM
My Sb4220 wont pick up PowerBoost. My neighbors have it, but they have the SB5120, etc. *kicks Sb4220*


is the 4220 DOCSIS 1.1 compatible? if so it should be able to use it.

k8cpa
12-09-06, 05:52 PM
Well guys, it's great if you're a new customer, but us old customers get the shaft... read below...:

Linkie (http://savedbygrace82.wordpress.com/2006/12/09/comcast-internet-is-ripping-people-off/)

Grrrrr...:irate: :mad:

YARDofSTUF
12-09-06, 07:37 PM
Well guys, it's great if you're a new customer, but us old customers get the shaft... read below...:

Linkie (http://savedbygrace82.wordpress.com/2006/12/09/comcast-internet-is-ripping-people-off/)

Grrrrr...:irate: :mad:

No us old customers don't get the shaft, I'm an old customer with them and when powerboost was made avialable in my area it kicked in, powerboost may not be in your area yet.

k8cpa
12-09-06, 11:21 PM
No us old customers don't get the shaft, I'm an old customer with them and when powerboost was made avialable in my area it kicked in, powerboost may not be in your area yet.

Well, from what I gather, it's here, I don't get it. and I won't unless I upgrade and pay more stinkin' money.... SCREW YOU COMCAST! :mad:

-Me

YARDofSTUF
12-10-06, 12:56 AM
http://www.broadbandreports.com/shownews/75298

According to that the 6 meg users get 12mbps bursts and the 8 meg users get 18mbps bursts.

PsychoDeath
02-05-07, 04:05 PM
maybe this is a bit late to post this but...



Frequency of Download and Upload Speed Bursts / How long in between Bursts?

PowerBoost bucket replenishment (the time it takes for the customer to be able to experience another burst) occurs at the rate of the customer's provisioned speed. For Download PowerBoost this is best estimated to be about 13 seconds for 6Mbps customers, and about 20 seconds for 8Mbps. For Upload PowerBoost this is best estimated to be about 1.7 minutes for both 6Mbps/384Kbps and 8Mbps/768Kbps upstream.

This is calculated by converting the bucket size to Megabits instead of MegaBytes, and then dividing it by provisioned speed.

Download PowerBoost Bucket Configuration

Download PowerBoost Bucket Configuration

Bucket Size

(in MB)

Bucket Size

(in Mb)

1MB == 8Mb

Bucket Replenishment *

(time before another Boost can be experienced)

10MB

(6Mbps/384Kbps customers)


80Mb

(6Mbps/384Kbps customers)


80Mb / 6Mbps ≈ 13.333 sec.

20MB

(8Mbps/768Kbps customers)


160Mb

(8Mbps/768Kbps customers)


160Mb / 8Mbps = 20 sec.

* These are best case estimates and actual times may vary.

Upload PowerBoost Bucket Configuration

Upload PowerBoost Bucket Configuration

Bucket Size

(in MB)

Bucket Size

(in Mb)

1MB == 8Mb

Bucket Replenishment *

(time before another Boost can be experienced)

5MB

(6Mbps/384Kbps customers)


40Mb

(6Mbps/384Kbps customers)


40Mb / 384Kbps ≈ 1.7 minutes

10MB

(8Mbps/768Kbps customers)


80Mb

(8Mbps/768Kbps customers)


80Mb / 768Kbps = 1.7 minutes

* These are best case estimates and actual times may vary.

Sava700
03-03-07, 09:17 PM
I was reading that upload powerboost was being rolled out now and should be available to all areas by May7th. Some people over on Dslreports forums are reporting over 2megs bursting for upload.. hell I haven't even seen download bursting yet!????!?! I called and get told yeah you should have it. but I don't and then they ask did you download the software!?!? I'm like WTF!? your site says I don't have to download software I think they pick up any stupid freak off the street and put them in a tech support chair.. I can't believe these people. One guy I got connected to couldn't even speak a lick of english! :irate: :irate: :irate:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/94255934.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

there is my most recent test once I was able to even get upload to work half way decent cause of this new upgrade.. I just want some stable freakin internet for longer than a month please...thats all I ask for!!!!

jdmz
06-29-08, 04:50 PM
im not getting power boost with my sb4200 in colorado...