PDA

View Full Version : amd price drop?



RoscoPColtrane
07-29-06, 11:57 AM
Weren't the AMD cpus supposted to drop in price a bit more than they have? I remember seeing a price listing and they don't seem to be as cheap as indicated... anyone have any info on this?

I want to upgrade to the cheapest x2 with 2x1meg cache....

Mark
07-29-06, 12:14 PM
i think i saw a X2-3800 for about 130 or so and the X2 4600 for like 240 or so ??

i was a little bit off.........

http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=M&Category_Code=AMDdc

Shagster
07-29-06, 01:29 PM
The AMD price drop list was never official like Intel's was.

RoscoPColtrane
07-29-06, 01:37 PM
how much of a difference does the 1 meg cache make over the 512? I kinda want a dual core but don't think i really need it, i don't multitask much at all. When i play video games i have EVERYTHING else turned off anyway. i'm between 3 different cpu's right now.

I've made my mind up on the Asrock dual 939 so i can recycle my video card (save some money!)

here are the CPU's im thinking about, what do you think? How does each O/C?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103539

Single Core 3700+ 1meg cache San Diego (good core right?!) 100 bucks!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103562

3800+ dual core with 2x512 cache 150 bucks

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103546

4400+ dual core w/ 2x1meg cach 250 ( might be more than i wanna spend)

are my thoughts on properly that the single core with the 1 meg cache and faster speed will out perform the dual core 512 cache slower speed?

Like i said i don't do anything else while gaming so will i really take advantage of the dual core?

Thanks guys

jbkm

RoscoPColtrane
07-29-06, 01:39 PM
oh okay, i thought it was offical, just wishful thinking then huh? I see they did drop in price pretty good tho!

I wish i could just scrap my system and get a new pentium D, friend of mine just picked one up and he loves it!

oh one more thing. The AMD cpu's are boasting a 2000mhz FSB, how do they pull that off with ddr 3200? i thought the fsb and ram were synchronous? :confused:

YARDofSTUF
07-29-06, 02:50 PM
2000mhz HTT
200mhz FSB
DDR 400


EDIT: Oh and dual core with 512k cache is MUCH better than a single core with 1 meg.

Dual core 3800 X2 speeds
1 meg cache, 1.8ghz
512k cache, 2ghz

so the 1 meg is worth about 200mhz

RoscoPColtrane
07-29-06, 03:08 PM
Whoops! I thought the 1 megger was faster. for some reason i thought it was 2.2ghz. What exactly is that 2000 thing? My 3200 barton doesn't have that in the specs. Thanks!

YARDofSTUF
07-29-06, 03:27 PM
The HTT, its meaningless lol

Its good, but the 2000mhz is overkill for now, if you adjust it lower, you barely notice the slightest change.

RoscoPColtrane
07-29-06, 04:48 PM
so its just some kind of advertising thing then?

so in order to get a faster ram/fsb i have to kick it up to an am2 mobo? doubt im gonna deal with that since im on a budget and this is kind of an upgrade and not a rebuild. thanks!

YARDofSTUF
07-29-06, 04:52 PM
Well you can OC.

I've gone as high as 315 mhz FSB on my 4400+ 939 socket.

RoscoPColtrane
07-29-06, 05:45 PM
dang! thats pretty smokin, what ram are you using for that? i take it that its not ddr 3200?

YARDofSTUF
07-29-06, 05:50 PM
well I wasnt runnign at DDR 630 lol gskill DDR500, settled in on 250mhz ish