PDA

View Full Version : URGENT: My computer ask for CURRENT Password after update BIOS

alex298
07-26-06, 09:35 AM
Hi,

Motherboard: Intel MotherBoard D865GBF

I have been using my computer for over two years. However after I installed the "Express BIOS Update P24". The computer restart and then ask for:

Enter the CURRENT Password:

I tried the Administrator Passsword. However it's not correct. Now I cannot start the computer. Please help! How can I know the password?? I need to use the computer very urgent!

P.S. I NEVER set the BIOS password before.

Thanks and best regards

YARDofSTUF
07-26-06, 10:54 AM
Reset CMOS, should clear it. If not, try not typing anythign and hitting [Enter] or try "password"

Sava700
07-26-06, 05:00 PM
tried "no password" just hitting enter?

alex298
07-26-06, 10:30 PM
Hi all,

Thanks for your information.

I tried "password", "PASSWORD" and without password. But it did not work :cry: :cry: :cry:

It seems that the only way is to reset the CMOS password. I saw a rather big round button battery (about 2cm in diameter) on the motherboard. Should I just take out this battery for a few hours to reset the CMOS password?

Thanks and best regards

YARDofSTUF
07-26-06, 10:51 PM
Hi all,

Thanks for your information.

I tried "password", "PASSWORD" and without password. But it did not work :cry: :cry: :cry:

It seems that the only way is to reset the CMOS password. I saw a rather big round button battery (about 2cm in diameter) on the motherboard. Should I just take out this battery for a few hours to reset the CMOS password?

Thanks and best regards

You can remove the battery, but theres also a jumper on the board labeled CMOS that you can move from pins 2 and 3 to 1 and 2 in order to reset it.

alex298
07-27-06, 12:42 AM
Hi all,

I solved the problem finally! I have to work overnight to-day because I did not work yesterday :)