PDA

View Full Version : A possible way to uninstall DX8?



smaier69
10-26-00, 05:53 PM
i was just thinking about this earlier, and thought i'd run it by you guys to see what you think.

i, like many other people here at speedguide, have downloaded and installed directx 8 BETA. it works fine for me, but for some others, it has not. some questions came up about the best way to uninstall it.

what if you did this:

downloaded dx7a, or whatever, then ran dxdiag, and got a list of your directx files, such as i did here ( http://home.pacbell.net/smaier69/dxfiles.html ). in theory, this should list all the directx 8 files (with the yellow triangle next to them in the list.... also listed as "Beta Retail" under attributes. print this out, or screen capture the active window. if you want, you can just copy the one i have (its for win98 SE, though, so bear that in mind).

then, restart in safe mode, (or better yet, in DOS), and manually delete the files. there's a bunch of them, i know, but if you gotta, you gotta.

then, empty the recycle bin, and restart in safe mode again. run the directx 7a (or whatever) installer, and everything should be kewel?

anyways, just wanted to run it by you guys, and see what you think.

------------------
"Those who fail to recognize the past are condemned to relive it"

-Jim Jones

FunK
10-28-00, 01:30 AM
I think ya might be on to something d00d.
But what about the registry entries?
I don't know if it's worth all the trouble.
I lost 50 points in 3DMark2000.
But i can live with that. My games are smooth still and it was only for bragging rights.
Sooooooooo with that in mind.........
I ordered my 1Ghz Athlon today. http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif
I'll show that damn Direct X 8 how to get my points back! LOL
I'll keep ya posted.

Peace,
FunK

smaier69
10-28-00, 03:20 AM
hehehe..... right on, man.... i kinda thought about that (the registry) as well. too bad.

and a 1Ghz, eh? you lucky dog http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif at some point i will make the jump as well, but for the time being, i'm "stuck" with this slot "a" 700.

it's always nice seeing yourself obliterate a past benchmark score....... its inexplicable, really. a joy only performance junkies know...... http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
"Those who fail to recognize the past are condemned to relive it"

-Jim Jones

TonyT
10-28-00, 02:11 PM
How to uninstall & reinstall DirectX (http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/Q191/5/98.ASP)

FunK
10-28-00, 11:50 PM
Thanks Tony T.
That's a helpful link.
I enjoy your responces at SpeedCorp.net

smaier69, I am upgrading from an Athlon 700.
Have you tried OCing that CPU?
I got 840Mhz out of mine (Stable).
If ya can't upgrade, overclock that bad boy!
I still have an old FIC MoBo. I think I'll put the 700 with the GFD on it @ 800 (maybe more) on the FIC, and then slap the 1Ghz CPU in this Abit MoBo, that I am running now.
I think my next MoBo will wait until Abit starts producing T-Bird MoBos for the 1G+ CPUs. I think my MoBo can handle it now, but I'll wait for a while.

I kinda shorted myself by getting this KA7-100.
As it will not support the T-Birds.
I would think that they have an adapter for them, but I haven't seen them yet.
Anyway man, try to OC that 700 you have, you will be impressed! http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif

Peace,
FunK

smaier69
10-29-00, 12:51 AM
Funk,

nope, i have not really tried to overclock this athlon. my last box was a cellie 433@545/iwill BD-100+ (BX440)..... it ran well, but sounded like i was beating a baby with a cat. it was a micro ATX case. there was no room on the inside for my usual 80mm fans, so i cut 2 holes in the top of the case, and 1 on the left side, and mounted the fans..... on the outside of the case (ugly, but it got the job done).

anyways, i presently have an MSI-6167 mobo, which is not an OC'ers board (but solid as a ROCK). i will be buying another comp before x-mas, and will be getting an MSI-6195, which is a little more OC'ing freindly.

i do have a question about oc'ing athlon systems (slot a), though. i have seen references to a "goldfinger" device, to which i am unfamiliar. what is it?

and as far as mobo's in your instance, have you ever used MSI solutions? man, i have used them for some build-up work in the past, and they have all rocked. good stuff, man.

three cheers for TonyT, though. he shoots, he scores!!!!!! good job, man. http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
"Those who fail to recognize the past are condemned to relive it"

-Jim Jones

TonyT
10-29-00, 09:57 AM
Thank you and You're welcome!

Have you seen this?
http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/Forum2/HTML/008255.html

FunK
10-29-00, 11:54 AM
GFD's are little devices that clip on to an Athlon CPU (The case has to be removed from one side). They allow you to change teh CPU multiplyer to a higher setting, thus overclocking the CPU wihout any FSB changes.
Of course, if one is used, most people OC the FSB as well, to get the very most out of the CPU.

Here is a link to a site that has a bunch of OC info.
This page is for GFDs alone. It has pictures of some of the more popular ones. http://bxboards.com/athlonoverclock/gfd.shtml


Yeah TonyT, I saw that. I hope nobody got too mad at you guys. CN is a good guy, hope everything is smoothed out now.

Peace,
FunK

[This message has been edited by FunK (edited 10-29-2000).]

smaier69
11-01-00, 04:55 PM
aaaahhh, i gotcha. so it replaces the soldering gun, then. sweet!

------------------
"Those who fail to recognize the past are condemned to relive it"

-Jim Jones