PDA

View Full Version : New Build / Possible Video Card Issues



scj6771
06-07-06, 06:28 PM
I need some serious help.....I just got all the parts together for my new AMD rig (see below for part list) and after installing the last part which was my new MSI 7600GT I get no picture at all!!! I have 2 monitors which neither have a DVI option, which is no big deal cause the card comes complete with 2 DVI-VGA adapters.

The machine fires up but I am not getting any "beeps"? Of course the board does not come with any on board video or even an AGP slot, so troubleshooting is tough to do!!

At first I thought it could be the memory since it was a "bottom of the barrel" stick I bought awhile back, however it worked fine in my last rig and I just wanted to use it to get my rig up and running till the 1GB of corsair came in, and if the memory was the problem wouldn't I get some kind of warning sound?

I would bet that I either have a bad board or video card?

CPU - AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice 2000MHz HT 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939
VIDEO - MSI 7600GT
MEMORY - Generic 256MB 2700 333mhz
MOBO - ASUS A8N-E NF4U
PSU - 550 WATT ANTEC
HARD DRIVE - WD 200GB 7200

Rivas
06-07-06, 06:46 PM
hmmm
try 1 thing at a time ...
cpu only,add videocard,memory,HDD's,make sure the videocard got the power also make sure the fan (cable)from PSU is connected to mobo and also cpu fan as well.If that doesnt work take everything out and put it back in.Make sure PC speaker is connected properly,it happend few times to me that i plugged the wire somewhere else and i didnt hear any beeps.

btw similar thread is here :

http://forums.speedguide.net/showthread.php?t=200901

YARDofSTUF
06-07-06, 06:51 PM
Did you plug in the 4 pin power connector at the top of the board, left of the cpu socket.

Video card has the power cable plugged into it?

Rivas
06-07-06, 06:56 PM
Did you plug in the 4 pin power connector at the top of the board, left of the cpu socket.

Video card has the power cable plugged into it?

if he didnt it wouldnt start spinning (fans)
at least mine wouldnt

scj6771
06-07-06, 06:58 PM
Did you plug in the 4 pin power connector at the top of the board, left of the cpu socket.
Yes I did.


Video card has the power cable plugged into it?
Today 07:46 PM
This card does not require any power does it? if so, I do not see any place to plug into??....(boy do I feel like a noob, this is my first build dealing with PCI-E)

Rivas
06-07-06, 07:03 PM
Yes I did.


This card does not require any power does it? if so, I do not see any place to plug into??....(boy do I feel like a noob, this is my first build dealing with PCI-E)

You are right,it doesnt

YARDofSTUF
06-07-06, 07:19 PM
have you tried both dvi ports? both adapters?

Do you have only 1 stick of ram in there? if you have more try 1 at a time.

scj6771
06-07-06, 07:30 PM
Yes I have the speaker in but still I hear nothing?? Yes I have tried both DVI adapters.

YARDofSTUF
06-07-06, 07:35 PM
Yes I have the speaker in but still I hear nothing?? Yes I have tried both DVI adapters.

If you pull the ram out, and then try to turn it on does it beep?

scj6771
06-07-06, 07:42 PM
I now have everything off the mobo except the CPU of course and still no beeps.

YARDofSTUF
06-07-06, 08:08 PM
I now have everything off the mobo except the CPU of course and still no beeps.

Thats odd, I dont know if I want to lean to a bad mobo or a video card.

scj6771
06-07-06, 08:29 PM
Is it possible for me to take the heatsink off the CPU? It seems like the heatsink is not on all the way......the lever is not completly in the lock position...when I say it is not locked down completely I mean just a wee lil bit!!!!

Could I start over with the CPU? Or am I to assume that once the heatsink is on it is not to be removed?

YARDofSTUF
06-07-06, 08:35 PM
Is it possible for me to take the heatsink off the CPU? It seems like the heatsink is not on all the way......the lever is not completly in the lock position...when I say it is not locked down completely I mean just a wee lil bit!!!!

Could I start over with the CPU? Or am I to assume that once the heatsink is on it is not to be removed?


you can remove it. Pull in a steady straight motion, the thermal pad may pulle the cpu out with it, it happens, so thats why you wana lift it straight off. After all clamps holding the heatsink down are released of course :)

Rivas
06-07-06, 10:33 PM
Is it possible for me to take the heatsink off the CPU? It seems like the heatsink is not on all the way......the lever is not completly in the lock position...when I say it is not locked down completely I mean just a wee lil bit!!!!

Could I start over with the CPU? Or am I to assume that once the heatsink is on it is not to be removed?

you have to lock it in completely
sometimes when you are locking in the plastic pins likes to bend over and it will cause probs.But make sure not to use too much force because it will break the pin,happend to me few times and i called intel and ask them for new heatsink/fan.

scj6771
06-08-06, 05:11 AM
Ok...I am off to purchase some compound to re-install the heatsink, on another note, I used only the compound that came with the CPU, do you think it is possible that perhaps it was not enough?

scj6771
06-08-06, 06:29 AM
I also found this from HAL9000 posted on another forum.

1) Remove EVERYTHING from the case
2) Set the motherboard on a non conductive surface. The motherboard box is perfect for this. .DO NOT PLACE THE MOTHERBOARD ON THE STATIC BAG! It can acually conduct electricity! We are going to try and assemble a running system outside of the case.
3) Install the CPU and heat sink.
4) Install the RAM (only install 1 stick for SDRAM, 2 for RDRAM)
5) Install the video card
6) Connect the monitor to the video card.
7) Connect the power supply to the motherboard.
8) Connect power to the power supply
9) Do NOT connect ANYTHING else. Make sure you have the power connector on the CPU fan connected.
10) Use a small screwdriver to momentarily short the power switch connector on the motherboard.


I will also be making a trip to the PC store to purchase some compound to reseat the heatsink to the CPU. I sure hope I did not cause any more damage by taking the heatsink off??

Rivas
06-08-06, 01:30 PM
I also found this from HAL9000 posted on another forum.

1) Remove EVERYTHING from the case
2) Set the motherboard on a non conductive surface. The motherboard box is perfect for this. .DO NOT PLACE THE MOTHERBOARD ON THE STATIC BAG! It can acually conduct electricity! We are going to try and assemble a running system outside of the case.
3) Install the CPU and heat sink.
4) Install the RAM (only install 1 stick for SDRAM, 2 for RDRAM)
5) Install the video card
6) Connect the monitor to the video card.
7) Connect the power supply to the motherboard.
8) Connect power to the power supply
9) Do NOT connect ANYTHING else. Make sure you have the power connector on the CPU fan connected.
10) Use a small screwdriver to momentarily short the power switch connector on the motherboard.


I will also be making a trip to the PC store to purchase some compound to reseat the heatsink to the CPU. I sure hope I did not cause any more damage by taking the heatsink off??

when i have probs im always doing that
mobo on piece of cardboard,cpu,ram,video card only and then its usually working.When i put it back in case is stops working :rotfl: :irate:
Usually its some cable issue or hard drive.

terrancelam
06-08-06, 05:01 PM
usually when you get no post from a computer, it is one of three things: (assuming that your computer powers on)

1.) CPU
2.) Video Card
3.) Memory

If your CPU is brand new and you didn't break any pins or do something improper to it, you can usually assume that it is safe to say it is good.

Now that I've taken a look at your system configuration, your memory isn't fast enough to run at the speeds your bus needs it to. I thought all AMD 64's at that range needed PC 3200 / DDR 400mhz memory for the minimum bus speed. My bet is that your memory is your issue and that it needs to be replaced.

Before you do that, there is one last thing you can try. Whenever I have an issue with a system, I always clear the cmos before trying anything else if I am sure the parts are all good. Sometimes there is an issue with components and an existing configuration factory set into the machine that will cause it to not post. So the best thing to do is to clear the cmos (i.e pull the battery out and switch the jumper over) before you start making returns or getting any new parts.

scj6771
06-09-06, 06:54 AM
Well....I am at a total loss, I have tried everything I can think of including running this board out of the case with only the CPU, PSU and video card, I upgraded my memory to a 256MB DDR3200 stick but still nothing.

I suppose it's either the board or CPU, I don't think I can get a replacement board since I bought it off NewEgg. I gotta say this is the first time I have worked on a tech project that had me so frustrated and ready to throw in the towel....

I still for the life of me can't figure out why I am not hearing any beeps?? I have reseated the memory numerous times and even cleared the CMOS.

I also can not get that lever to lock tightly on the heatsink, perhaps I will take a pic and post it, the lever pushes down but not all the way flush??

Here is what ASUS had to say (http://home.earthlink.net/~lenjackowski/data/ASUS%20Response.pdf)

I was thinking of purchasing a cheap mobo and video card to use for testing purposes, any suggestions?

Perhaps if I throw my compenents on another board I can get the issue resolved.

scj6771
06-16-06, 07:11 AM
***UPDATE***

Well I have got some good news and some bad news, First let me thank you all for your support and patience with me regarding this issue.

I decided to purchase a new (but cheap) mobo and vid card for testing purposes, well they finally arrived and I began building immediately, to be honest with you I thought for sure I had a bad CPU but I was wrong.

I simply installed the CPU onto the new board with the new vid card and it fired up!!, so I knew I had a bad mobo. Good news right? Well I decided to put the rig together using that mobo and my MSI 7600GT and things were going great, I installed Escape from Butcher Bay and was having a great time (I never realized how bad I needed a new graphics card) when all of a sudden the machine just shutdown.

My first guess is overheating, I was getting temps around 44c when under little stress, not sure what the temps were while I was playing. However now the rig fires up but just like with my previous mobo the only devices that seem to be working are the fans.

The bottom line is I am now in the same boat that I was in before, could the heatsink be pulling away from the CPU?

Rambus
06-23-06, 07:17 PM
New Member,

I just read about your problem and everything seems to point to a faulty PSU. Many times found that one or more of the different voltage outputs has failed (i.e. 12 volts working so the Fans activate, and HDD spin) but the system is dead.

Can't really explain how the cheapo mobo managed to fire up except that the PSU problem could be an internal faulty connection which just happened to connect.

Rambus

morbidpete
06-23-06, 07:44 PM
New Member,

I just read about your problem and everything seems to point to a faulty PSU. Many times found that one or more of the different voltage outputs has failed (i.e. 12 volts working so the Fans activate, and HDD spin) but the system is dead.

Can't really explain how the cheapo mobo managed to fire up except that the PSU problem could be an internal faulty connection which just happened to connect.

Rambus

good call :thumb:

Leatherneck
06-27-06, 07:32 AM
Make sure you are not shorting out the motherboard on the mounting studs. Sometimes new MB don't line up the same as the previous MB.