PDA

View Full Version : Question about Verizon DSL



skeetyskirt
10-07-05, 12:02 PM
HI,
My question is do you have to have the verizon online support installed on your pc? I'ts 10mb . I'm running WXPHome Verizon dsl 768/128. Came with a westell moden 6100. I read scott's news lettter and he says you don't need it, true or not.
Verizon online is in the add and remove programs also but doesn't say anything about mb.
If I uninstall the support, will the dsl still work?
Thank you

skeetyskirt
10-10-05, 06:57 AM
Does anyone have a clue? :confused:

Mactron
10-10-05, 07:19 AM
No you don't need it if your half way handy around a computer. If your VZ West it's super simple since it's DHCP (Me ;) ) If your VZ East it's that PPPoE Sh** and you have get into the 6100 Modem/Router combo and setup user/pass for the PPPoE. You can remove the VZ bloatware after setup, but it will leave garbage behind. HTH

FYI 6100 info:
http://192.168.1.1/
The default user name is: admin
The default password is: password

skeetyskirt
10-10-05, 05:34 PM
Mactron,
I'm really sorry, but what does all that mean ?
Went to that site and don't really understand.
Please help
Thank you

Mactron
10-10-05, 05:43 PM
Mactron,
I'm really sorry, but what does all that mean ?
Went to that site and don't really understand.
Please help
Thank you
LoL, I'll assume your up and running corect? If so, you don't need the "verizon online support" That make sense ?

skeetyskirt
10-11-05, 06:12 AM
Ok, from what I undrestand it's dchp and I'm running pretty good. Have not changed anything . So, I'll go and uninstall the vz software and see what happens.
Thank you

mnosteele52
10-11-05, 09:57 AM
To configure Windows XP for a broadband connection using PPPoE

1. Click Start, click Control Panel, click Network and Internet Connections, and then click Network Connections. (If you're using Classic view click Start, and click Control Panel, and then double-click Network Connections).

2. Under Network Tasks, click Create a new connection, and then click Next.

3. Click Connect to the Internet, and then click Next.

4. Click Set up my connection manually, and then click Next.

5. Click Connect using a broadband connection that requires a user name and password.

6. In the Connection Name dialog box, type the name of the ISP. This becomes the name of the connection. Click Next.

7. In the Internet Account Information dialog box shown in Figure 1 below, type the user name and password. Additional checkboxes allow you to specify whether this connection and its user name and password is available to all users (selected by default), whether this connection is your default Internet connection (selected by default), and whether to enable the Internet Connection Firewall on the connection (enabled by default). Make the appropriate selections, and then click Next.

8. In the Completing the Connection Wizard dialog box, review the settings. If you need to modify any of them, click Back as many times as necessary. If all the settings are correct, click Finish.

9. In the Connect dialog box, click Connect to attempt the connection.

:)

YeOldeStonecat
10-11-05, 10:00 AM
Correct you do not need their software...you can use broadband routers to support the PPPoE, or even the Westell modem/router that you currently have.

skeetyskirt
10-11-05, 02:20 PM
I'm soory ya'll, I told you I was new to this dsl thing. I don't understand any of this so I guess I'll just leave it alone as I don't want to bother any of you with my noobness to dsl.
Thank you very much and have a great day.

YARDofSTUF
10-11-05, 05:06 PM
I'm soory ya'll, I told you I was new to this dsl thing. I don't understand any of this so I guess I'll just leave it alone as I don't want to bother any of you with my noobness to dsl.
Thank you very much and have a great day.


Basically they're telling you that you dont need it, but to get rid of it u need to transfer some information to another program so that you can still have internet access, unless you have a router and add the info there, a router connects to the modem to allow multiple PCs to use the modem.


If you dont wanna play around with this stuff and dont mind the software, its probably best to leave it.

skeetyskirt
10-12-05, 02:29 AM
Hey YARDofSTUF,
Thank you I got it now, a little slow on this dsl stuff.
I do have that 6100 westell modem/router but like you said, "If you dont wanna play around with this stuff and dont mind the software, its probably best to leave it." I think for now that's what I'll do till I learn more about this stuff.
Thanks to all for the new knowledge and I'll be hanging around to learn more.
Take care and have a great day! :thumb:

BizWeb432
10-18-05, 04:26 PM
Actually..
The only thing your going to need in the Verizon CD.. is the WinPoet Software, which is not Integrated with Support Center.. Also the only way you even need Winpoet is if you have a Westell Wirespeed or White Westell and you do not have Windows XP..
Westell 6100
Westell Versalink 327
The Action Tek
Westell 2200
any of those modems can be configured through the default gateway 192.168.1.1
Now if you have a White Westell or a Westell Wirepseed you can just use your PPPoE Authentication in Windows XP.. or if you have a Router you can authenticate from that..

skeetyskirt
10-23-05, 03:57 PM
BizWeb432,
how do you configure the gateway? Have a westell 6100.

toohtaah
11-02-05, 11:14 PM
Like one guy mentioned above, when you uninstall Verizon Online DSL software from your system, the garbage will still be on your system.

Does anyone know how to get rid of the garbage?

Road Runner
11-03-05, 05:07 AM
Like one guy mentioned above, when you uninstall Verizon Online DSL software from your system, the garbage will still be on your system.

Does anyone know how to get rid of the garbage?
Uh, what makes you think it is still on your system? I've install/uninstalled their software plenty of times, and yes, it's completely ridded from my machine. I used the general "Add/Remove" utility given with Windows XP.

toohtaah
11-03-05, 01:33 PM
I am not 100% sure, but I can see only 1 verizon software I can uninstall from add/remove program tools on Windows XP. After I uninstalled the software, I still
got a window popup to input username/password in order to start verizon support center. Since the pc I am talking about is my friends, I will go back and see if I missed something.

mccoffee
11-03-05, 04:43 PM
this might help too

http://dslnuts.com/pppoe/Stalls.htm

mspupuppy
05-08-06, 07:40 PM
I am getting Roadrunner cable (Time Warner) tomorrow..should I discontinue service w/ Verizon DSL, or can I hold onto it for another month as I have a month with new cable co. (they said I had to discontinue w/ Verizon, is this true?? HELPP!!

YeOldeStonecat
05-08-06, 07:54 PM
I am getting Roadrunner cable (Time Warner) tomorrow..should I discontinue service w/ Verizon DSL, or can I hold onto it for another month as I have a month with new cable co. (they said I had to discontinue w/ Verizon, is this true?? HELPP!!

You can hold onto both..one cannot tell you to disconnect the other...they are different technologies (cable and DSL)...irrelevent of each other.

I ran both cable and DSL at my house for a couple of months overlapping. Even at the same time on my router..load balancing them.