PDA

View Full Version : Verizon DSL speed



dysfunction
05-16-05, 05:42 PM
Well, I know I have 1 Mbit Verizon DSl, but I have no idea what my upload rate is supposed to be. I seem to get around 16 MBytes, making me think I have a 128 Mb upload- which seems rather slow. Also, I never seem to get anywehre near 1 Mbit download- the best is I've ever seen is under 800. My typical download rates are around 60 or 70 KB, but that varies.

blippo
01-05-06, 10:12 AM
I have verizon DSL and my speeds are similar to yours. I'm going to be getting a verizon person to come out and check whats wrong. If I ever get a solution to this problem, I will post it

Mactron
01-05-06, 10:33 AM
My typical download rates are around 60 or 70 KB, but that varies.
The Verizon tiers ae:
768/128
1500/128
1500/384
3000/768

While verizon does over provision to make up for some of the overhead losses. You will never get the advertised speed. Sounds as if you are on 768/128. The 60-70 k sounds a tad low, but then you maybe at the extream for distance requirements or possibly have noise on you line. HTH

blippo
01-05-06, 02:55 PM
My case, what the tech told me the speed I had from verizon to the modem was,
1792 KBits/Sec by 448 KBits/Sec

I'm lucky to reach half of that speed. I talked to 2 techs who went through all the checks with the computer and line. I didn't have another computer to hook up to to find out if it was something with the computer. I'm guessing they will have something to bring here to check that out.

Mactron
01-05-06, 03:18 PM
My case, what the tech told me the speed I had from verizon to the modem was,
1792 KBits/Sec by 448 KBits/Sec
That's the over provisioning I was talking about. You have the 1500/384 tier then.


I'm lucky to reach half of that speed.

Have tried the TCP Optimizer ? http://www.speedguide.net/downloads.php
It can make quite a difference, especially with Win9X ME.

blippo
01-05-06, 03:21 PM
Yes, I have my stats posted in the broadband tweak section. I'm just waiting till Mccoffee has a chance to look at it.

mccoffee
01-05-06, 04:15 PM
The two main factors for slow speed in dsl , is line quality and distance from central office

keep that in mind

blippo
01-05-06, 05:22 PM
The two main factors for slow speed in dsl , is line quality and distance from central office

keep that in mind

That's what I understood also. Of the 3 Techs I talked on the phone with, they didn't mention anything about that. I assumed they had an idea from looking at my location of my address. But I will see if somebody comes out here to the house if they mention that is the cause with my case

Mactron
01-05-06, 05:32 PM
If you have one of the newer Westell modems and are directly connected to it. (no router) Try http://192.168.1.1/transtat.htm
Copy and post the results here.

The info should look similar to this:

Transceiver Revision: 01.00.09.00
Vendor ID Code: 4
Line Mode: G.DMT Mode
Data Path: Interleaved
Transceiver Information Down Stream Path Up Stream Path
DSL Speed (Kbits/Sec) 864 160
Margin (dB) 14.5 28.0
Line Attenuation (dB) 48.0 31.0
Transmit Power (dBm) 14.1 10.9"

blippo
01-05-06, 05:37 PM
Transceiver Revision: 1.0.9.0
Vendor ID Code: 4
Line Mode: G.DMT Mode
Data Path: Interleaved
Transceiver Information Down Stream Path Up Stream Path
DSL Speed (Kbits/Sec) 1792 448
Margin (dB) 18.5 22.0
Line Attenuation (dB) 42.0 27.0
Transmit Power (dBm) 16.8 11.0

blippo
01-05-06, 05:50 PM
How does that look to you?

Mactron
01-05-06, 05:58 PM
Transceiver Revision: 1.0.9.0
Vendor ID Code: 4
Line Mode: G.DMT Mode
Data Path: Interleaved
Transceiver Information Down Stream Path Up Stream Path
DSL Speed (Kbits/Sec) 1792 448
Margin (dB) 18.5 22.0
Line Attenuation (dB) 42.0 27.0
Transmit Power (dBm) 16.8 11.0
WoW nothing bad there. You should be getting better speeds than you say you get. It's not a distance problem as the attenuation isn't bad. Line quality is not an issue with that margin. I'm stumped. My only advice would be to double check everything... I know again. :mad:

blippo
01-05-06, 06:04 PM
Under one of the suggestions it has 1. Under your LAN connection - properties - general tab, uninstall all the protocols there that you do not need. For a stand alone pc all you need is Internet Protocol TCP/IP.

I have 2 listed, this one I believe is for if I use a wireless connection which I do at hotels. I don't know if this would affect anything

Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN

Mactron
01-05-06, 06:10 PM
Under one of the suggestions it has 1. Under your LAN connection - properties - general tab, uninstall all the protocols there that you do not need. For a stand alone pc all you need is Internet Protocol TCP/IP.

I have 2 listed, this one I believe is for if I use a wireless connection which I do at hotels. I don't know if this would affect anything

Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
Your asking if the Wireless being on would affect your speed? No, I can't think of any way it would.

blippo
01-05-06, 06:18 PM
okay, thanks, I'll get this mystery solved eventually. I am not going to stop trying until I find out. My renewal comes up at the end of February. I might have to look back into getting cable if this speed don't get a little better.

sekim
01-08-06, 08:29 AM
I've XP on verizon atm and a different modem .. actiontec.
Can you look at your numbers...
Near End CRC Errors (I/F):
Far End CRC Errors (I/F):
Near End RS FEC (I/F):
Far End RS FEC (I/F):

If xp here is set much off the default for rwin settings ... those errors really jump and things slow down.