PDA

View Full Version : Frustrating connectivity issue (DI-524)



SirDevon
02-16-05, 07:07 PM
I use a D-Link DI-524 ver A1 wireless router on my DSL service. I currently have one hard-wired and one wireless system connected to it. It seems to work fine if using non-connection sensitive applications, but using MSN messenger or any gaming software it'll either freeze the app, or close it.

Looking into this issue:

Using Event Viewer, I have noticed several information posts all at very small intervals, but very frequent. Often over 10 times an hour, on both wired and wireless systems.

The system detected that network adapter <ADAPTER> was connected to the network, and has initiated normal operation over the network adapter. EVENT 4201

I thought that it could be a DHCP issue within the router, so I reset the router using the reset button on the back. This didn't resolve.

Then thinking that perhaps a static assignment within the LAN side could help solve, I assigned static IP addresses to both systems. This didn't resolve issue.

So these events are caused by the connection on the WAN side of the router.

I see that there are many issues regarding wireless routers and 2.4 GHz phones, microwaves, etc. But, this is not just affecting the wireless connection.

Windows 2000 IP Configuration

Host Name............................... : <omited>
Primary DNS Suffix..................... :
Node Type............................... : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled..................... : No
WINS Proxy Enabled................... : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix..... :
Description................................ : D-Link AirPlus G DWL-G122 Wireless
Physical Address......................... : <omited>
DHCP Enabled............................ : No
IP Address................................ : 192.168.0.100
Subnet Mask............................. : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway........................ : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers.............................. : 192.168.0.1
192.168.0.1

To add, the router has the latest firmware: Ver 1.05 issued 22 July 2004

Anything else???

conf123
02-20-05, 03:25 PM
Make sure your firmware version is current and you may need to open specific ports on the router to run certain applications and games.

SirDevon
02-22-05, 12:15 PM
The firmware is the latest release from D-link for this router, as I have posted above. It is not that applications cannot get out, it is that they do not maintain a constant connection. If you look at the Event Viewer, it'll show the IP/network card being re-connected several times per hour.

SirDevon
02-22-05, 12:18 PM
And, btw... I don't have any ports closed on the router. I am currently using a software firewall on both systems, and have no reports in either of them of hack/attacks.

conf123
02-22-05, 06:49 PM
Sorry I didn't read your problem carefully.

You can try to resolve this problem on your wired nic by locking down the speed of your Ethernet card. This may resolve the wired nic. If this works then the wireless side may be a separate issue.

To correct this problem in WINDOWS XP

1. Go to Start> Control Panel > and select Network connections.

2. Right click on your network card (for 2000 and XP only)and select Properties.

3. Select the Configure button.

4. Under the Advanced tab you will see two boxes; Property and Value.

Note: Depending on the type of Ethernet card you are using the headings in the Property box will be slightly different.

5. Select each heading in the Properties box until the Value box displays the speed of your Ethernet card (it will look like this: Auto-Negotiation, 10Mb Full, 100 MB Half, etc..). You want to select 10mb Full Duplex.

Keep clicking OK until you get to the desktop. Your computer may ask you to reboot depending on the version of Windows you are running.

SirDevon
03-02-05, 01:40 AM
Sorry, but I think you may still be reading the problem incorrectly. This issue is on the WAN side of the router, as both wired and wireless connections reveal the error.

wee96
03-02-05, 07:39 AM
Did you try setting the WAN port to 10mbps? Sometimes having it on 10/100 auto (default) can cause this issue, try setting it to 10mbps and see if that helps at all.