PDA

View Full Version : Set Bandwith Under LAN



Frances
01-11-05, 11:47 PM
Hey, my family finally got cables for me :)
but my brother keeps download stuff and my internet connection goes very slow :cry:

is there a way to minimize his bandwith so it won't effect me as much?
we are under a D-Link router, I don't think router can do that cause I looked at it a bit, and can't find anything to control bandwith. Or I have to change some setting in his computer?

thankyou everyone :thumb:

koldchillah
01-12-05, 11:13 AM
I believe the router would need to have its own QoS Service. Windows XP has a built-in QoS service that can be added to the LAN connection properties, but it is managed via group policy and can only throttle the bandwidth (actually its just application prioritization) on the local machine. You need to setup QoS at the router-level in order to keep his connection from affecting yours. There's not much in the home market with QoS that I can think of, but I know a lot of business-class routers have QoS variations built-in, usually to help with VoIP or other "voice" technologies.

Perhaps someone else here can think of another possible solution?

Frances
01-12-05, 07:12 PM
ok, I'll try that QoS thing on his computer, cuz I heard that before :p

koldchillah
01-12-05, 07:31 PM
ok, I'll try that QoS thing on his computer, cuz I heard that before :p

sorry, but as I explained, I don't think thats gonna help much.


it is managed via group policy and can only throttle the bandwidth (actually its just application prioritization) on the local machine. You need to setup QoS at the router-level in order to keep his connection from affecting yours.

Shinobi
01-12-05, 11:47 PM
Hey, my family finally got cables for me :)
but my brother keeps download stuff and my internet connection goes very slow :cry:

is there a way to minimize his bandwith so it won't effect me as much?
we are under a D-Link router, I don't think router can do that cause I looked at it a bit, and can't find anything to control bandwith. Or I have to change some setting in his computer?

thankyou everyone :thumb:

Hi, I use netlimiter http://www.netlimiter.com/
It's a pretty good app... It will do what you want.. however..
you'll need to install it on your brothers computer....

Hope it helps.
Shinobi :thumb:

Frances
01-13-05, 01:13 AM
Thanks for all of you :thumb:

I think the net limiter will be the best solution but he will notice it :irate:

I will keep researching :D

KevinF
01-20-05, 01:41 AM
Too bad you don't have a Linksys.

Sveasoft's firmware has its own QoS where you can prioritize applications/type of traffic/individual computers by IP address.

algae007
03-27-05, 03:33 AM
i have I have BEFSR81V3 firmware 2.45.5 ..im wondering if sum1 can give me a detailed explainnation of how i can set QoS for only a specific user on LAN? Plllzzzz help me :irate: