PDA

View Full Version : Why 10Mb Nics & cable modems?



Far-N-Wide
01-04-05, 05:27 PM
On several places (speed guide forms) I've read that if your using a cable modem and a Router/Switch, you should change the properties of the network connection to a setting of 10Mb or half duplex is preferred vs. a 100Mb or full duplex setting. Why is this necessary? Also is this for each PC behind the router, or is this for the router to cable modem (done on the router menu)

Id have to guess, buffers or bottlenecks due to speed of the cable is an issue, but Ive not seen this anywhere on my providers web page (Comcast), Linksys (BEFSR41), Motorola Surfboard SB4100.

Im hesitant to do this, as my home network (5 PCs) is all capable 100MB. Id hate to limit a single connection or all 5 to 10 Mb just appease the modem.

BaLa
01-05-05, 04:36 AM
where did you read that?


Most if not all cable modems are only 10mpbs anyways, if your cable modem is directly connected to your PC then it wouldn't matter.

YeOldeStonecat
01-05-05, 08:15 AM
When a router is in place, it's not an issue. I've not seen performance differences anyways after trying each. And I'd much rather have a 100 meg connection for my LAN, for file transfers 'n what not, then a 10 meg connection.

I "suppose" this so called tweak arose due to some people doing a direct connection from their PC, to the broadband modem/bridge. Since most broadband modems/bridges are 10 meg devices, and the world of many different brands of computer hardware, and various drivers, isn't a perfect world....the usual "auto-detect" settings doesn't always work perfectly.

Far-N-Wide
01-05-05, 10:46 AM
where did you read that?

I've seen it on about 3 threads (on speed guide) some stickys, and even on cablenut (someplace). I'm gonna leave mine on auto. I have Linksys Nics that seem to place nice with the router, and I'm just not that **** to go and eek out a few more bits of performance.

I just wanted know the reasoning.

Thanks YeOldeStonecat, I was tripping on What the... , but your reply turned on the bub in my head as to a possiblility I'd not thought of.

Cheers

illestdynasty
01-06-05, 12:33 AM
I've seen it on about 3 threads (on speed guide) some stickys, and even on cablenut (someplace). I'm gonna leave mine on auto. I have Linksys Nics that seem to place nice with the router, and I'm just not that **** to go and eek out a few more bits of performance.

I just wanted know the reasoning.

Thanks YeOldeStonecat, I was tripping on What the... , but your reply turned on the bub in my head as to a possiblility I'd not thought of.

Cheers

I've tried every nic setting there is. If your using a router/switch set it to 100MB full duplex and forget it. If your connecting directly to the modem use any setting you want as long as its not auto detect. I've tried all setups and I havent noticed a speed difference when connecting directly to the modem. However if set to anything other then 100MB or auto detect when connected to a router, I've experienced less then optimal throughput

netmasta
01-14-05, 05:14 PM
When using a D-Link DI-624 (and possibly other routers) along with an older NIC only 10Mbps Full Duplex will work.

I found this out when I got my router and had my connection dropping for ~5 secs every once in a while.


Problems keeping a constant connect to the router Print
This is typically an issue with older 10/100BaseT network cards. The problem is the older cards have a hard time establishing a connection speed with the router unit.You can resolve this issue by locking down the speed of your Ethernet card.

To correct this problem in WINDOWS XP

Step 1 Go to Start> Control Panel > and select Network connections.

Step 2 Right click on your network card (for 2000 and XP only)and select Properties.

Step 3 Select the Configure button.

Step 4 Under the Advanced tab you will see two boxes; Property and Value.

Note: Depending on the type of Ethernet card you are using the headings in the Property box will be slightly different.

Step 5 Select each heading in the Properties box until the Value box displays the speed of your Ethernet card (it will look like this: Auto-Negotiation, 10Mb Full, 100 MB Half, etc..). You want to select 10mb Full Duplex.

Step 6 Keep clicking OK until you get to the desktop. Your computer may ask you to reboot depending on the version of Windows you are running.



On several places (speed guide forms) I've read that if your using a cable modem and a Router/Switch, you should change the properties of the network connection to a setting of 10Mb or half duplex is preferred vs. a 100Mb or full duplex setting. Why is this necessary? Also is this for each PC behind the router, or is this for the router to cable modem (done on the router menu)

Id have to guess, buffers or bottlenecks due to speed of the cable is an issue, but Ive not seen this anywhere on my providers web page (Comcast), Linksys (BEFSR41), Motorola Surfboard SB4100.

Im hesitant to do this, as my home network (5 PCs) is all capable 100MB. Id hate to limit a single connection or all 5 to 10 Mb just appease the modem.