PDA

View Full Version : Fixed my dsl freeze



Airwolf
10-07-00, 10:21 AM
Well awhile back I tryed to get help with freezing of dsl and some inputed and I tryed without success and thanks for the tips tho. I did find out that it was the browser i was using http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif I was using IE 5.5 and it keeps freezing on me so I changed to netscape and 4 days without a freeze http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif But i hate using netscape lol Thanks to speedguide and all the tips they helped my speed http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif And that for some reason i get faster speedtest with netscape http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif last checked was 1090 Kbps

dannjr
10-07-00, 01:13 PM
I remember this if IE is still freezing up then it really is'nt fixed.
If you used the web patch from here it may also be pulling in to much info to fast try lowering the amounts for IE
Its called the speedguide web patch.
Maybe I'm wrong and you tried that already.

You can also go back to the windows update click on show installed and download IE complete.
Click on install when it asks the components click on miniml chose the components for a custom install then click on advanvced and save it all to a directory of your choice then reinstall it IE 5.501 is what I think you may have there is a updated version out there IE5.503 I believe.
Its worth a try it'll take about 20min or less
Let me know

------------------

THE WORLDS THINNEST BOOK: THINGS I CAN'T BUY By Bill Gates

glc1
10-07-00, 03:11 PM
Airwolf, go back to IE 5.01 as Netscape sucks the big one.

dannjr
10-07-00, 03:25 PM
Should add as long as you don't have WinME


Originally posted by glc1:
Airwolf, go back to IE 5.01 as Netscape sucks the big one.

Cable Guy
10-07-00, 03:33 PM
Congratz airwolf!

------------------
Its the cable guy!

Airwolf
10-07-00, 09:50 PM
Well I did download web patch too. and it frozed.

For IE 5.01 i deleted 5.5 from control panel I'm I back to old settings? or do i need to delete whole explore?
Yea netscape sux lol

dannjr
10-07-00, 10:34 PM
See I can't remember what OS your running but check this D/L from Microsoft Also try lowering the Rwin just a little along with the MTU also in the web patch if oyou go into the registry lower the number by 1 for both entry's
You relize I'm reaching here so do one at a time starting with the patch from Microsoft

Make sure your Drivers are up to date for your network card.
http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/Q243/1/99.ASP