PDA

View Full Version : anyone have idsl?



spankiez
10-07-00, 01:36 AM
After watching my @home cable go to crap in 2 months, I need to look for alternatives to feed my gaming addiction. 200+ ping just dont' cut it. The next best affordable solution is iDSL (144k). I live to far away to get ADSL. So, do any of you guys have iDSL? How are the pings in gaming such as Quake? I need some feedback before I decide what to do.

cablenut
10-07-00, 01:42 AM
if your looking at idsl 144K that means your over 20K in mileage and even the 144k isn't guarenteed I would stick with cable...

cablenut
10-07-00, 01:43 AM
sorry 20k feet http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif

spankiez
10-07-00, 06:46 PM
Actually, I live 18,000 feet away from the central office. :'-/ I guess it's time to move.

Bravefan
10-07-00, 11:06 PM
Don't get iDSL. Wait till the DSL companies expand to your town better. IDSL has a lot of the problems of ISDN (inconsistent, prone to crash). I have cable, it sucks, and I'm getting DSL, but its better than IDSL

spankiez
10-08-00, 09:36 PM
Ugh... I had ISDN for 2 years before I got cable and all it did was died on me litterally every other month. :-/ I'm doomed on never having a reliable conenction.

dannjr
10-09-00, 02:20 PM
SDSL CAN GO 18000 feet according to North point
Check it out
better than IDSL if you can get them
http://www.dslreports.com/distance


------------------
dannjr@microsyspro.com
Microsystems (http://microsyspro.com)

THE WORLDS THINNEST BOOK: THINGS I CAN'T BUY By Bill Gates