PDA

View Full Version : Linksys Question



hjm357
11-16-04, 12:43 AM
Anybody know the difference between the Linksys WRT54G wireless router and the one they ship with their "wireless G kit for notebooks" (WKPC54G)? The obvious difference I see is that the notebook one has only one antenna and I'm wondering why they would manufacture a new router design just for the purpose of bundling it with a wireless card. From what I see all the other similar products have two antennas. It is stripped down in other ways?

Here's the link on that kit:
http://www.linksys.com/products/product.asp?grid=33&scid=35&prid=614

crazyjw1971
11-16-04, 07:23 AM
I would stay away from the WKPC54G. I set one up for someone and it has been nothing but problems. And the firmware is up to date :rolleyes: ...

Get the WRT54G. If you are up to it, get one of the "aftermarket" (Sorry, I drag race :thumb: ) firmwares. I run a WAP54G with one of the "aftermarket" firmwares and I dont have a problem.

hjm357
11-16-04, 12:14 PM
actually, i already have a wrt54g, i was just curious.

where can i download a copy of this firmware?

crazyjw1971
11-16-04, 03:16 PM
http://www.hyperdrive.be/portal/

Im using the HyperWAP firmware. You will need the HyperWRT firmware.

***USE AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!*** If something goes wrong, Linksys WILL NOT help you...

ins_
11-18-04, 04:17 AM
thanks for the link crazy, but i dont notice any better speeds/reception once i turn the antenna settings up

did you?

crazyjw1971
11-25-04, 11:31 AM
Yes, I did actually. How high did you turn up the power? Im running at 48...

crazyjw1971
11-25-04, 11:32 AM
Also, you might wanna try Netstumbler and see if you have a lot of noise in your signal...

ins_
11-27-04, 04:32 PM
I'm having some trouble with Netstumbler, dunno what/how it is supposed to work.

Do I have to broadcast my SSID? Currently, I do not have it broadcasted.