PDA

View Full Version : OOL



jesse23
10-04-00, 10:26 PM
I just heard from a few friends that OOL is only running on a 6 megabit d/l cap for now. They said its not 10 until more people get cable, and it is needed. The good news is that over 50% of the people in NJ have cable, and they have used about 1/10th of the bandwith.

------------------
Don't Try This At Home!
http://smilecwm.tripod.com/ut2/Instagib.gif

[This message has been edited by jesse23 (edited 10-04-2000).]

Lex Luthor
10-04-00, 11:01 PM
What?! Why would they make a higher cap when more people come on.

The cap is 10Mbps and that's a fact.

You won't hit it ever though.

Lex

Lex Luthor
10-04-00, 11:01 PM
dbl post..sorry

[This message has been edited by Lex Luthor (edited 10-05-2000).]

jesse23
10-04-00, 11:12 PM
I have no idea. I was just relaying a msg. =).

Lex whats yer average speed?

------------------
Two Fingers WAY UP. Can You Guess Which two?
http://smilecwm.tripod.com/ruinkai/flipa.gif

[This message has been edited by jesse23 (edited 10-05-2000).]

Lex Luthor
10-05-00, 06:48 AM
About 500-600KB from sites that can send me that fast and from OOL's ftp.

Lex

Cable Guy
10-05-00, 02:11 PM
Whats OOL?

------------------
Its the cable guy!

Michfan
10-05-00, 02:14 PM
OOL-optimum online
i get like 400KB from ool, but probly faster ocne i upgrade my pos pc..the DL cap is 10mbps, tho most people will never get over 6 cause of limitatioms, and upload is 1mbps

------------------
"The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didnt exist"-Verbal Kint
http://www.ageofkings.org/omega/michfan.gif

glc1
10-05-00, 02:26 PM
Originally posted by Michfan:
i get like 400KB from ool, but probly faster ocne i upgrade my pos pc..the DL cap is 10mbps, tho most people will never get over 6 cause of limitatioms,
99.9% will never get 10mbps (not once) b/c u have to be practically the only one on ur node, ur ISP's backbone has to be solid, and the site ur d/ling from has to be able to dish out that kind of speed. Everything has to be just right which very rarely happens. What's ur PC's specs?

[This message has been edited by glc1 (edited 10-05-2000).]

jesse23
10-05-00, 08:14 PM
I've hit the cap a few times. It Flashed there for a few secs. Then it dropped to roughly 750k. My average is 550-650.

ct106
10-05-00, 10:56 PM
you hit 10mbps a few times? which modem do you have? ive never gotten over 8mbps and i was the only one on the node,before ool certified it to the public. what town do you live in? i would like to find out if that headend your fed from is set up differently.

Lex Luthor
10-05-00, 11:03 PM
He didn't hit 10Mbps! Don't worry...we have been over this 100 times. If IE says you hit 10Mbps after 1 second it means NOTHING whatsoever, see his other posts.

Lex

user3657
10-06-00, 12:00 AM
not true, my bud hit 1.5mb from msdn and yahoo when it just hit my area he was the first on node of course.

glc1
10-06-00, 12:08 AM
Originally posted by user3657:
my bud hit 1.5mb from msdn and yahooSorry, but that's not possible as 10mbps = 1.2MBps, not 1.5. Besides, Lex is right, one second at 10mbps doesn't count b/c it's just burst and IE has been known to display incorrect speeds.



[This message has been edited by glc1 (edited 10-06-2000).]