PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else have PacBell DSL?



Humboldt
10-04-00, 10:51 PM
Hey there, I have PacBell DSL with an Efficient Networks Inc. Speedstream 4060, version 1.1.4. My question for anyone using PacBell is does your connection seem to freeze up after about 10 to 15 minutes of non-use? If I have the online connection running and leave for that long, when I come back to the computer it often won't reload a browser or fetch mail until I warm boot. Do the drivers automatically uninstall or deactivate after a certain amount of time or something? I know it's not the energy settings for Win 98 or screensaver. Any advice would be greatly appreciated... Thanks

glc1
10-04-00, 11:11 PM
R u using PPPoE? If so, read here (http://www.dslreports.com/faq/faq#156). U can also try RASPPPoE (http://user.cs.tu-berlin.de/~normanb/#Download).

Humboldt
10-04-00, 11:58 PM
Thanks a lot, I'll checked them out tried the first hint with adding the numbers for IP and Subnet fields. Also downed and installed the Microsoft patch. Would you recommend the program that is offered on that first page, RASPPPOE? I think I'm understanding correctly, that it's an optional method of connecting to your DSL ISP? Is that right or am I mistaken? Anyway, thanks alot for the tips.

glc1
10-05-00, 02:10 AM
Originally posted by Humboldt:
I think I'm understanding correctly, that it's an optional method of connecting to your DSL ISP? It's only an option if ur currently using PPPoE to get online.



[This message has been edited by glc1 (edited 10-05-2000).]

smaier69
10-05-00, 02:36 AM
i have Pacbell DSL. though i no longer have the basic package (i have their "enhanced DSL" with 5 static ip's and such). however, when i did have the basic dsl package using PPPoE (same modem u have as well), it would time out on occasion. my freind/neighbor (who was an installer for Pacbell, and coincidentally insalled mine). he told me, as well as did Pacbell tech support (whatever that's worth), that when there has been a certain amount of inactivity, their server drops the connection until you renew your lease - i.e., log on again). i have seen ways of keeping a connection alive longer, but never employed them myself (opted for the "enhanced" deal instead).

i can tell you the first thing i did when i got dsl installed was get rid of that Enternet 300 poo-poo. at the time, winPOET worked fine for me, but i have heard and read good things about raspppoe. i would give that a shot as well.

as far as the 15 minutes of inactivity causing the connection to drop, i would usually lose the connection after 30 to 45 minutes. sometimes 2 or 3 hours. it was never really consistant for me. this could be what is happening in your case, but 15 minutes seems kinda short.

------------------
"It is better to not speak and be thought a fool,
then to open your mouth and remove all doubt."

I know, I know..... sometimes i just can't help it!

Mattgical
10-05-00, 05:07 PM
the link to the raspppoe doesnt work.

glc1
10-05-00, 05:10 PM
Originally posted by Mattgical:
the link to the raspppoe doesnt work.Err, it was working a day or so ago. I don't know any other locations, maybe some1 else on this forum does.

smaier69
10-05-00, 08:27 PM
i have seen raspppoe for download here.
http://www.sympaticousers.org/links/downloads.htm

hope this helps http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
"It is better to not speak and be thought a fool,
then to open your mouth and remove all doubt."

I know, I know..... sometimes i just can't help it!