PDA

View Full Version : Bottom Line it for me..........



coomarlin
10-04-00, 06:48 PM
All of these bandwidth measurements are really quite daunting. There seems to be no consistency in the way people measure things.

Since I am an Internet explorer user and I'm use to seeing things download in KB/Sec thats the way I seem to judge speeds.

So with that in mind what kind of speeds are you guys getting in KB/Sec? I'd like to know your average and max speeds you guys see regularly.

With a 56K modem I regularly saw 5.3KB/Sec
What can i expect with a cable modem?

glc1
10-04-00, 06:50 PM
AT&T@Home
recent max: 440KBps
avg.: 250-400KBps

BTW, bits is the industry standard, that's why ISPs (besides using it as a marketing ploy) and people on this forum use bits. IE uses bytes b/c that's the way MS decided to do it (When u have as much money as MS u can do things anyway u want http://www.speedguide.net/ubb/smile.gif). Anything dealing w/networking/internet (DSL, cable, NICs, hubs, etc.) will use bits. U get used to it after a while and get a feel for how fast a speed measured in bits is w/o having to convert it to bytes.

[This message has been edited by glc1 (edited 10-04-2000).]

coomarlin
10-04-00, 07:32 PM
So I assume by saying you get 440KBps you are getting 440 KB/sec in an internet explorer download!!! That's awesome!

What site was the 440 from? I'm looking for a superfast site benchmark from.

glc1
10-04-00, 07:50 PM
Originally posted by coomarlin:
So I assume by saying you get 440KBps you are getting 440 KB/sec in an internet explorer download!!! That's awesome!

What site was the 440 from? I'm looking for a superfast site benchmark from.Yes, 440KB/sec (KBps and KB/sec = the same thing). I was downloading from 3dfx.com. I get speeds like that all the time from fast corp sites. That's one way I test my speed along w/www.dslreports.com

Merc
10-04-00, 10:25 PM
Is there something i am doing wrong...i am only getting about 180 kiloBYTES a sec off sites where i have 20-30 ms pings on. Hehe on the half way mark yaaaah

[This message has been edited by Merc (edited 10-04-2000).]

glc1
10-04-00, 10:28 PM
Originally posted by Merc:
Is there something i am doing wrong...i am only getting about 180 kiloBYTES a sec off sites where i have 20-30 ms pings on. Maybe ur capped. Who's ur provider?