PDA

View Full Version : Port forwarding problem with router



Menacer
08-01-04, 12:01 PM
Hi,

I have a nexland isb soho router and it was working fine until a problem came up and i had to flash the firmware and ever since i have done this when i open ports it doesnt seem to have any effect at all. I put 192.168.0.2 in the server lan address and it worked fine before but now it doesnt seem to work but i know this is the right ip to put in because when i use shields up site to check if the ports are working they say stealthed which is open and if i try any other ip and do the port scan it says they are closed so 192.168.0.2 is correct here is a image of it

http://www.david.barry9.btinternet.co.uk/nexlandvirtual.jpg

could there be any reason why this isnt working maybe a setting or something?

Please help me ive spent literally a week trying to figure out whats wrong and got no where :(

Thanks in advance

Menace

KuRe
08-01-04, 07:37 PM
I see you're trying to allow mIRC dcc. Have you checked the settings in your mIRC client (right port, disable file ignores, etc.)?

Menacer
08-02-04, 05:44 AM
Well the big problem i have is with bittorrent because if you are unable to open ports 6881-6999 the downloads go at about 5kbs but once unlocked they go up to 60kbs+ and the reason i know that the firewall isnt opening the port is that there is like a status light on the bit torrent client and it should go green but its yellow meaning its not working with the router

So im unsure what to do

Menacer
08-03-04, 08:51 AM
I get no help from nexland support they tell me to ring number for support but i live in the uk and so thats kinda impossible with out racking up a huge phone bill im stuck with what to do i cant fix it its driving me mad :(

YeOldeStonecat
08-03-04, 09:48 AM
If you can hang for a few more days, I'll try to dust off my ISB SOHO and hook it up to my system, poke around a bit. It's been so long since I used it....can't just pull stuff right out of memory.

I remember the Nexlands often had some extra steps.

Menacer
08-04-04, 06:00 PM
cool thanks

Menacer
08-09-04, 02:15 PM
Any luck?

also one question when flashing the firmware is it possible to flash an older version if i have a newer one running on the soho

Menacer
08-21-04, 01:50 PM
guess not :p

Menacer
08-23-04, 05:15 PM
Nexland support sucks, i live in the UK and they wont offer me any support by email and keep just saying to ring their number even though its a US number which would cost me a bomb, looks like gonna have to get a new router.

YeOldeStonecat
08-24-04, 05:24 AM
Any luck?

No, sorry, forgot that it's out on loan at a temporary setup. Can't fiddle with it at home.

Cypher
11-09-04, 05:13 PM
First a few links which may help

http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/archive/guide_to_azureus.cfm

http://www.portforward.com/cportsnotes/azureus/azureus22.htm

http://azureus.sourceforge.net/plugin.php (obviously). ;)

http://azureus.sourceforge.net/wiki/index.php/FullTextSearch?s=port+forwarding


Obviously make sure you have the latest JRE and client.

http://www.java.com/en/download/installed.jsp

Being Java based leaves room for a degree of flakiness. It seems many people are having similar issues. You could in fact try another program all together.

http://www.afterdawn.com/software/p2p_software/p2p_applications/


*Edit

Make sure you have the right firmware for your router. I know that the 16n.bin was a beta. Use teh best one for your ISP:
http://shiftlock.com/Nexland/

I know Symantic offers only a 15 and 16 update on their site. It really sucks they bought Nexland. :irate:

Anyway the above linke should more than help. :thumb:

The Dude
11-25-04, 03:59 PM
You should be able to flash back to the old firmware. Are you using a static IP on the PC you are trying to port forward to? If not you may want to check it to make sure it hasn't changed on you.