PDA

View Full Version : Radom shut downs



sentra8777
02-17-04, 09:26 PM
For a while i been getting randon shut downs. Were out of no were my conmp would just shut down. My temps are all normal so iam not sure what it is. I checked for viruses and i have none. I thought i fixed it because it would do it once a day. I thought it was a video driver issue. But even when i was at the desktop it would happen. So i thought it was a software issue with norton. So i reinstalled it and then it didnt happen for like 3 days. Then i was watching a steaming video and it didnt again. Iam at a lose of what it might be. Anyone know??? :)

Dunster
02-17-04, 09:52 PM
Are you talking Windows going into shut down mode, or is it just abruptly turning off?

qball15j
02-17-04, 09:54 PM
I had a problem with my other system and those random shutdowns. It turned out the problem was chep RAM, weird thing was I did ram tests and they all passed. But I still decided to purchase some Crucial memory and its been running smoothly ever since. :D

Joe
02-17-04, 10:03 PM
make sure windows isnt setup to "automatically restart" in the event of an error.... its in start-up and recovery.. also make sure your ram is running within spec as far as timing... not all cheap pc2100 can do turbo settings of 2-2-2

sentra8777
02-18-04, 06:44 AM
do u mean shut off system retore??

sentra8777
02-20-04, 03:27 PM
ok did that turned off auto restart. But then after a few days it didnt again :(

sentra8777
02-20-04, 03:29 PM
also how do i know what timeing my ram should be at???

Mark
02-20-04, 03:31 PM
it would help to post what parts are in your system, along with the voltages the cpu and memory are running at.

any overclocking going on ?

sentra8777
02-20-04, 04:11 PM
ok here are my system specs and no there is not any over clocking going on

I N T E L (R) A C T I V E M O N I T O R

System Information Report
2/20/2004 5:01:16 PM

***************************************************************************
General Information
***************************************************************************
Product name Intel(R) Desktop Board D865PERL based system
Board model Genuine Intel(R) D865PERL system board
OS version Windows* XP version 5.1 build 2600
OS memory 1,047,276 KB RAM

***************************************************************************
Processor
***************************************************************************
Processor Genuine Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 Processor
Processor speed 3.00 GHz
Bus speed 800 MHz
L1 cache Data Cache 8KB, Execution Trace Cache 12K Micro-ops
L2 cache Advanced Transfer Cache 512 KB
Form factor Socket 478
Stepping 9

***************************************************************************
System
***************************************************************************
Physical memory 1,024 MB RAM
Memory speed DDR333
Memory type DDR, Synchronous
Form factor DIMM
BIOS date 05/02/2003
BIOS size 512 KB
BIOS version P06 (RL86510A.86A.0052.P06.0305020834)

***************************************************************************
Sensors
***************************************************************************
Sensor Name System Fan 1
Current Value 2836
Upper Threshold not applicable
Lower Threshold not applicable

Sensor Name System Fan 2
Current Value 1542
Upper Threshold not applicable
Lower Threshold not applicable

Sensor Name Processor Zone
Current Value 38
Upper Threshold 70
Lower Threshold not applicable

Sensor Name System Zone 1
Current Value 31
Upper Threshold 50
Lower Threshold not applicable

Sensor Name System Zone 2
Current Value 33
Upper Threshold 50
Lower Threshold not applicable

Sensor Name +12 V
Nominal Value 12.000
Current Value 12.188
Upper Threshold 13.200
Lower Threshold 10.800

Sensor Name +5 V
Nominal Value 5.000
Current Value 5.104
Upper Threshold 6.000
Lower Threshold 4.000

Sensor Name +3.3 V
Nominal Value 3.300
Current Value 3.266
Upper Threshold 4.300
Lower Threshold 2.300

Sensor Name CPU Core (+1.55 V)
Nominal Value 1.550
Current Value 1.518
Upper Threshold 2.350
Lower Threshold 0.750

Sensor Name CPU I/O (+1.5 V)
Nominal Value 1.500
Current Value 1.445
Upper Threshold 2.300
Lower Threshold 0.700


***************************************************************************
End of Report
***************************************************************************

*Third-party brands and names are the property of their respective owners.

Aznboy
02-20-04, 09:27 PM
wuts ur Power Supply's max wattage?

sentra8777
02-20-04, 11:31 PM
its a 300 watt power supply.

sentra8777
02-21-04, 12:16 AM
also if this helps i have the 9800 video card. Which plugs in the power supply. U think its that iam not getting enough power to run everything??

nightowl
02-21-04, 02:38 PM
eather you need a new power supply or your you have a bad ram stick

Mark
02-21-04, 03:18 PM
go here (http://www.memtest86.com/) and download memtest 86, put it on a floppy, boot to the floppy and let it run a few passes to check the memory.

sentra8777
02-21-04, 10:37 PM
well my comp dont have a floopy at the moment. I went out and got a more power antec power supply. The one I had was the cheap one that came with the case. I needed a new power supply anyway. If it doce it again then ya its the ram. So I guess i will take out one stick at a time to see which one is bad.

sentra8777
02-21-04, 10:37 PM
well my comp dont have a floopy at the moment. I went out and got a more power antec power supply. The one I had was the cheap one that came with the case. I needed a new power supply anyway. If it doce it again then ya its the ram. So I guess i will take out one stick at a time to see which one is bad.

sentra8777
02-21-04, 10:37 PM
well my comp dont have a floopy at the moment. I went out and got a more power antec power supply. The one I had was the cheap one that came with the case. I needed a new power supply anyway. If it doce it again then ya its the ram. So I guess i will take out one stick at a time to see which one is bad.

aagiants
02-22-04, 02:15 AM
Originally posted by qball15j
I had a problem with my other system and those random shutdowns. It turned out the problem was chep RAM, weird thing was I did ram tests and they all passed. But I still decided to purchase some Crucial memory and its been running smoothly ever since. :D

ditto on that, it drove me crazy, i tried everything, but i too bought a cheapo brand

sentra8777
02-22-04, 02:37 PM
whats a good brand of ddr ram. Right now the sticks i have are both centron. I did get another random shut down so iam just playing the process of emlination. Took one out to see which one is the bad one. So i know its not the power supply because i put in a more powerful brand new antec.

Dunster
02-22-04, 03:54 PM
Mushkin or Corsair are top of the line. I use Crucial which is also a very good brand.

sentra8777
02-22-04, 06:26 PM
could it be both sticks because i get random shut downs no matter which one of the two are in.

Mark
02-22-04, 07:05 PM
run memtest 86 on each stick individually

sentra8777
02-22-04, 07:18 PM
i cant get it to work dont have a floopy. Cant get it to boot in with a cd room.

sentra8777
02-22-04, 07:21 PM
also were in the bios is it to set it were it will shut down on a certin temp. I guess i heard people saying that sometimes the bios has it lower then it should. More then likly not it but just wondering.

Mark
02-22-04, 07:25 PM
they have iso's to make a bootable cd if ya want, direct link here (http://www.memtest86.com/memtest86-3.0.iso.zip)

Norm
02-22-04, 07:48 PM
After reading all the posts in this thread, and mulling over everything tried already, I would have to say it's your vid card.

Getting too hot maybe?
Isn't sitting just right in the slot?
reseat it, and get some extra cooling to it.

If you set your PC up to 'not shutdown' on errors, and there is nothing in the event logs, then it's most likely an electrical short.
Reseat everything.

If you're OC'ing, reset to defaults

sentra8777
02-22-04, 09:03 PM
that could be to with the vid card. umm u mean reseat everything in the bios right. Like reset optimal defaults?

sentra8777
02-22-04, 09:07 PM
Just to let u know its not complety shuting down. It kind of turns off and then on again. Like it restarts with out u telling it to. Then disk check comes on bla bla u know what I mean :) Also iam not over clocking.

Norm
02-22-04, 09:28 PM
Originally posted by sentra8777
that could be to with the vid card. umm u mean reseat everything in the bios right. Like reset optimal defaults? By reseat, I mean pull off every connection, all PCI cards, ram, IDE connectors, and put them back on nice and snug, and tighten any screws.

The problem seems to me to be with vid card. I could be wrong though. Without being there in person, it's hard to be absolutely sure. It could be almost anything with a connector. A short from a bad connection will cause a PC to abrubtly reboot without adding an event to the log.. PCI, IDE, Ram, PSU, whatever, so reseat everything for good luck.

As a PC heats up apparentl good connections can become bad ones due to the rise in heat. Expansion, even a little on an already 'borderline connection' can cause shorting, and a reboot.

sentra8777
02-23-04, 05:17 PM
well i did that but i found something interesting stuck under the mother board while checking all the connections. I found a copper penny. So who know that could of been it. Still got to wait and see. How that penny got there i have no clue. Anyway I will keep you guys posted. Also thanks realy thanks so far for all respounces.

sentra8777
02-25-04, 09:56 AM
well after a fewdays it has not shorted out maby the penny way it. Crossing my fingers lol still cant belive i had a penny in there. Good thing my safty features were working who knows what could of happened.

Norm
02-25-04, 02:23 PM
Was probably the penny. Possibly a bad connection.

Glad you found it :)

sentra8777
02-25-04, 04:37 PM
ok other question how do i get a small case to vent better. I have a small one and when temps go up in my room so doce the computer. I do have a mess of wires from the psu can that block air flow.