PDA

View Full Version : Which driver should I use for Win2K3?



RoundEye
02-16-04, 07:16 PM
Well it's time for me to get serious about my MCSE for Win2K3. I want to install it on my Win2K server, but there's no official drivers for a Radeon 7200.

Do you think I would be better using drivers for WinXP or Win2K?

RoundEye
02-16-04, 08:02 PM
Another driver issue, I have a 3Com 3C905C-TX, there's no Win2K3 drivers for it on 3Com's site.

:confused:

ghost
02-16-04, 08:09 PM
Originally posted by RoundEye
Well it's time for me to get serious about my MCSE for Win2K3. I want to install it on my Win2K server, but there's no official drivers for a Radeon 7200.

Do you think I would be better using drivers for WinXP or Win2K?

I believe they are the same driver anyway. ;)

YeOldeStonecat
02-16-04, 08:37 PM
Originally posted by RoundEye
Another driver issue, I have a 3Com 3C905C-TX, there's no Win2K3 drivers for it on 3Com's site.

:confused:

Not sure about the Radeon, chances are 2K3 will include them. But for the 3COM 905...that's an old NIC, even Win98 has built in drivers for it.

Norm
02-16-04, 09:40 PM
Originally posted by RoundEye
Another driver issue, I have a 3Com 3C905C-TX, there's no Win2K3 drivers for it on 3Com's site.

:confused: I am almost positive I installed 2K3 on my main rig (a few months back), and it installed a driver for my 3Com 3C905C-TX from it's own data base. I definitely didn't install a driver manually, and I had internet access.

Qwijib0
02-16-04, 09:53 PM
Originally posted by RoundEye
Another driver issue, I have a 3Com 3C905C-TX, there's no Win2K3 drivers for it on 3Com's site.

:confused:

I don't think there's an OS out today without built in support for the 905x series.

As for video, if you won't be gaming, the default drivers will be fine for 2d work. I think 2k3 safe mode is 800x600 16bit anyway.

AMPLIFRIER
02-16-04, 11:16 PM
no doubt...its got ot be one of the most common EVER

AMP

RoundEye
02-17-04, 05:59 PM
Yeah, it picked up the driver for the 3com, and I used the Catalyst for the video. I had to run dxdiag and enable acceleration on the display tab, and also go into the advanced properties of the display and slide Hardware acceleration all the way to the right or it wouldn't load the drivers.

Everything seems fine so far....but my other mobo had fits with Win2K3 and would lag bigtime after I started adding apps and stuff. Oh well, I have my other install backed up and I can go back to it if need be.

I hope this works out, I like Win2K3 so far, and I do most of my work from my server.

m4a2t0t
02-18-04, 12:31 AM
heh, every heard of virtual pc? basically you can run multiple OS'es at the same time. there are some other vendors that make it besides MS.

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/virtualpc/