PDA

View Full Version : Building system - Look Okay?



Dunster
02-13-04, 04:42 PM
Okay, I got the okay from my wife for a new system. This is going to replace my PIII 733 I use for my desktop.

All the prices below are from Newegg. I'd like to buy everything there, but if I have too, I'll source out to different sellers.

Please check check and evaluate.....

Antec Aluminum Minitower case with 350w PS "Lanboy" Silver - $99
Coolmaster 80mm Fan - $9
Asus P4P800 (865PE chipset) - $107
PIV 3.0C (Northwood) 800 FBS with HT (retail with HSF) - $221
Western Digital 120 GB 7200RPM SATA Drive - $106
Lite-On Black 52x32x52 CD-RW - $33
Floppy (Black) - $10
Sapphire Radeon 9800Pro - $215
Memory (I NEED SUGGESTIONS) - I want to probably run 2x(256MB) Dual channel PC3200 - BRAND AND TYPE REQUESTED PLEASE (I'd also consider going to 1 GB if cheap enough)
Cables - SATA cable, floppy, and CD-RW from local shop probably.

Total (without memory) = $800
I have keyboard, mouse, speakers, monitor and WinXP Pro already.

Questions -
1. Give me memory suggestions
2. Will the black CD-RW and floppy look good with this silver case?
3. Have I forgotten anything?

TrevGlas
02-13-04, 04:55 PM
Lookin nice.....

Go with Corsair XMS 3200 or Geil Golden Dragon 3200.

1gb will run you about um... like 150?

TrevGlas
02-13-04, 04:58 PM
Black floppy would look decent with the lanboy case. You can always paint them whatever color you prefer :D

qball15j
02-13-04, 05:10 PM
You might aswell go with the P43.2 with HT :D :nod:

Dunster
02-13-04, 05:59 PM
Originally posted by qball15j
You might aswell go with the P43.2 with HT :D :nod:

That would increase my price $53. I'd like to try to keep the system under $900, so once you factor in the memory, I would be over that amount.

Dunster
02-13-04, 06:04 PM
Originally posted by TrevGlas
Lookin nice.....

Go with Corsair XMS 3200 or Geil Golden Dragon 3200.

1gb will run you about um... like 150?

Do I need "non EEC" and "registered" for dual channel? I can never remember which.

TrevGlas
02-13-04, 06:35 PM
Neither..... your chipset doesnt support ECC ram anyways.

Just get either of the 3200's that I recommended.. youll be pleased.

Evilone
02-13-04, 06:54 PM
don't need the p43.2, i got the 3.0 and it overclocks to 3.4 no problem

chimdogger
02-13-04, 06:54 PM
I have used Corsair XMS 3200 and Crucial 3200 on that motherboard with no problems.

Corsair is faster and Crucial is probably a little more stable.

Is that the 8 meg cache Western Digital??? If not I would consider get the 8 meg cache version.

Everything else looks good.

Dunster
02-13-04, 07:20 PM
Originally posted by chimdogger
I have used Corsair XMS 3200 and Crucial 3200 on that motherboard with no problems.

Corsair is faster and Crucial is probably a little more stable.

Is that the 8 meg cache Western Digital??? If not I would consider get the 8 meg cache version.

Everything else looks good.


I'll go for the corsair. RAM prices certainly have gone up lately.

Also, yes, it is an 8 MB vache version.

One question for all. If I'm not setting up a RAID, then is it really worth it to get a SATA drive or an IDE ATA drive? It would save a few more $$$'s.

AMPLIFRIER
02-14-04, 01:01 PM
id make the hdd a wd raptor and get another hdd later when you can afford it.

AMP