PDA

View Full Version : What to upgrade next? RAM or CPU



JawZ
02-06-04, 02:05 AM
I have an A7N8X Deluxe mobo with an Athlon XP 2500 "Barton" chip and 512MB Corsair TwinX memory running in dual channel mode.

I'd like to go for a gig of Ram. But I would also like to upgrade my CPU to a XP 3200.

If I were to upgrade the ram by installing 1 512MB module in the unpopulated bank...what would that do for me and how would it affect the performance of the RAM?

Or should I go with a new pair of TwinX totaling 1 gig (2 512MB modules)

If I upgrade the CPU to the 3200 which runs at 400MHz....my RAM is only 333Mhz.


What is the best deal/price/performance?

TIA.:D

Brk
02-06-04, 02:13 AM
Get the RAM.

If you put the 512 MB stick in there, it will throw off the dual-channel memory config, thusly negating the speed benefit.

Mark
02-06-04, 05:14 AM
Originally posted by Burke
Get the RAM.

If you put the 512 MB stick in there, it will throw off the dual-channel memory config, thusly negating the speed benefit.

not sure about that, i run 2 512 sticks of 3200LL corsair in the dual channel slots and 1 other 512 stick of 3200 corsair in the third slot and still get the same overclock and sandra memory benchmark scores.
plus the bios still says it is running in dual channel config.

Brk
02-06-04, 07:39 AM
Originally posted by Mark
not sure about that, i run 2 512 sticks of 3200LL corsair in the dual channel slots and 1 other 512 stick of 3200 corsair in the third slot and still get the same overclock and sandra memory benchmark scores.
plus the bios still says it is running in dual channel config.

Then you can't be running dual-channel. The whole point of it is to use two matched pairs of RAM in order to reap the benefit...unless suddenly someone has changed the spec or something.

maroon
02-06-04, 10:19 AM
It'll run dual channel with 3 sticks of ram. One memory controller controls two ram slots while the other controls one.

For example:

memory controller 1 > slot 1 > 256 ram & > slot 2 > 256 ram


memory controller 2 > slot 3 > 512 ram


As long as each memory controller has the same amount of total ram, you're good to go.


I would go for the ram.

Brk
02-06-04, 10:23 AM
Then it must be different on Intel and AMD boards.