PDA

View Full Version : I know emachines are rather poor.... but...



nepenthe
01-29-04, 11:39 PM
lookie (http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?j=1&CategoryID=cat01174&id=1069301995506&skuId=6249703&type=product)

Athlon 64 Notebook Sale, Jan 29
$160 drop. BestBuy.com has the new eMachines Notebook with Mobile AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 3000+ Model: M6805 15.4" Widescreen, 512MB/60GB, Radeon 9600 Video chip, 6 in 1 card reader, Firewire, DVD/CDRW $1289 after rebates and $10 off $125 (Exp 2/3). Free shipping

$150 rebate (Copy UPC Exp 1/31) and

$100 rebate Exp 5/29/04

Mark
01-30-04, 05:17 AM
Originally posted by nepenthe
lookie (http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?j=1&CategoryID=cat01174&id=1069301995506&skuId=6249703&type=product)

Athlon 64 Notebook Sale, Jan 29
$160 drop. BestBuy.com has the new eMachines Notebook with Mobile AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 3000+ Model: M6805 15.4" Widescreen, 512MB/60GB, Radeon 9600 Video chip, 6 in 1 card reader, Firewire, DVD/CDRW $1289 after rebates and $10 off $125 (Exp 2/3). Free shipping

$150 rebate (Copy UPC Exp 1/31) and

$100 rebate Exp 5/29/04

i am still thinking about getting one also, started a thread here (http://forums.speedguide.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=134842)

nepenthe
01-30-04, 05:33 AM
http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?threadid=719618

Mark
01-30-04, 05:47 AM
how does a dead pixel look anyways, i mean how would i tell if there was one ?

there is a long thread at genmay also about a few guys that got those laptops and some had dead pixels.

BaLa
01-30-04, 06:03 AM
I get some BS error msg...
says I don't have cookies enabled...but that's a buncha BS

Brk
01-30-04, 07:00 AM
Originally posted by BaLa
I get some BS error msg...
says I don't have cookies enabled...but that's a buncha BS

You use SpyBot or SpywareBlaster? I think their immunizations block the specific cookie.

BaLa
01-30-04, 07:10 AM
Originally posted by Burke
You use SpyBot or SpywareBlaster? I think their immunizations block the specific cookie.
nope

I even changed IE to accept all cookies earlier..still no go..
oh well..

Brk
01-30-04, 09:09 AM
Gateway just bought eMachines...which may account for its refocus.

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=13909

Jeremy
01-30-04, 09:49 AM
Originally posted by Mark
how does a dead pixel look anyways, i mean how would i tell if there was one ?

there is a long thread at genmay also about a few guys that got those laptops and some had dead pixels.

notably i think that the emachines notebook has a 1280x800 screen which is relatively low resolution for such a high-end configuration (my screen is also 15.4" but 1680x1050, and 1920x1200 is also available; at any rate they're beautiful). you get alot of good stuff like a cpu and gpu, but people often forget about the screen. yours will have a fairly high dot pitch which will magnify the effect of a dead pixel. dead pixels will be easiest to see if you have a bright background, and will usually appear as a single dot, often black or white. depending on if it's a subpixel (r/g/b getting stuck but not all three) and location on the LCD, it might not affect you, but i personally like having a flawless screen.

also a stigma..."emachines" often is attributed with "crappy"

Joel
01-30-04, 11:49 AM
BaLa, just go to bestbuy.com, it's on the front page.

A_old
01-30-04, 02:58 PM
emachines are not bad anymore.

ghost
01-30-04, 06:01 PM
EMachines got a bad rep years ago for being cheap and having proprietary components (like the earlier Dells).

I've sold many of their desktops over the past few months and haven't had a single one come back. They now accept off-the-shelf upgrades.

Many are not good performers but that's not their intended purpose when you stuff them with Celerons and 400 MHz FSB's. I sell them to families that need a new computer but don't have a lot of money to spend and just want to surf, do email and light applications. There are a few that have better (read: faster) components but are priced close enough to the HPs and Compaqs that the eMachines name takes them out of contention.

Now they have come out with this notebook using the latest AMD processor and I'm eager to see how they fare under normal usage in comparison with the Toshibas and Sonys. If any of you guys buy one I'd like to hear your impressions.

nepenthe
01-30-04, 09:12 PM
Circuit City is also offering the same. In addition, a DVD writer is available in a different model.

nepenthe
01-30-04, 09:21 PM
http://www.emachines.com/products/products.html?prod=eMachines_M6805

What I find odd is that the Athlon64 3000 is supposedly a 2GHz processor with a 512K cache. In their description, it is 1.8Ghz with a 1M cache. Also it is utilizing PC2700 RAM. If so, then the CPU would not be running at 1:1 with RAM, no?

A_old
01-31-04, 02:32 AM
whoa gateway bought em already? with what cash? they're a sinking ship..they just want their products in retail stores..cause gway country isn't doing so well

YeOldeStonecat
01-31-04, 08:14 AM
Originally posted by Amro
..cause gway country isn't doing so well

Heehee...Gateway has some business setup deal, I forget the exact name, but an office can purchase servers, workstations, the whole thing...Gateway sends "professional network engineers" onsite to set it up for you.

Last year, we got a client who had some e-mail problems with their server. It was a law firm (specializing in sexual harassment), the Gateway "professional network engineers"...built the exchange server, put it in the DMZ of a..LOL...Linksys router. So naturally the Exchange server got compromised....and was spamming out porn mail.

A_old
01-31-04, 08:17 PM
u gotta be kidding me. LOL he put it in dmz of a linky? just dmz alone is bad enough. i'm a total nitwit when i comes to corporate networking (just haven't done any)...and i know better

Jamie_R
02-01-04, 07:00 AM
a guy I work with bought an e-machine as a 2nd pc for his home - I removed / installed some s/w for him - seemed to be a real snappy little machine.
I was actually thinking about picking one up to load Linux on ... or use as another server ...