PDA

View Full Version : Could a bad CMOS battery cause timing problems?



JawZ
06-09-03, 10:53 AM
http://forums.speedguide.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=116216

Just searching for ideas to this time problem. Brand new mobo but I guess the battery could be bad????

TIA

The Dude
06-09-03, 11:20 AM
Yes ,I have heard of it happening. You wouldn't think it would speed up but people claim it has happened. Could have been a bad battery from the get go or the mobo was on the shelf for a long time. For the price of a new battery it's probably worth it just to eliminate it as a cause of your problems. Have you got another mobo to rob a battery from to test it?

LT-73
06-09-03, 12:35 PM
If not, I have a couple i can send down your way instead of buying it ;)

Duzmor
06-09-03, 12:56 PM
go to RadioShack $ 3.00 -take the old one with you to match !!!


Duz!!

The Dude
06-09-03, 01:16 PM
Originally posted by Duzmor
go to RadioShack $ 3.00 -take the old one with you to match !!!


Duz!!

Great idea, get them to test the old one while your there. ;)

JawZ
06-09-03, 03:23 PM
Yes....thanks for the replies. I'm going with the software solution first and then this second. Hopefully the battery aint on the fritz.

YARDofSTUF
06-09-03, 05:40 PM
i think u just need to play with the server/timezone

A_old
06-09-03, 06:37 PM
2032 is the model number of cmos batteies...cr2032 specifically.. it's universal and u can get em anywhere..walmart, best buy etc..for 3 or 4 bucks

SLK
06-09-03, 09:32 PM
Mine does it too. My power went out last night and in the morning I booted the comp up and it read at 1100mhz LOL


I also have an A7N8X Deluxe