PDA

View Full Version : Memory Selection



aagiants
06-04-03, 07:43 PM
I am upgrading a friends Pavillion 6635 COmputer. It has 64mb of ram and i want to upgrade to 256mb. I updated to latest bios and bout 2 stick of micron ram. http://www.z-buy.com/product.asp?item=RA-128MT133
I got 2 of these, and put them in. And they dont work. I put in one of my old 128mb chips and it works. My other system doesn't detect it, and older system detects it at 64mb (due to lack of high density capability) Now why doesn't this work, bad ram?? Here is the specifacation of the ram i need.
http://h20015.www2.hp.com/en/document.jhtml?lc=en&docName=bph05058&prodId=hppavilion18384#P14_414

Did i buy the wrong type??

i got pc133 sdram 128mb,

(Oh yeah, if i mix and match ram -64mb (old stick) and one 128mb (new stick)) THe bios detecs and i can boot into windows, but i get BSOD

Now help me out here

Jstyr
06-04-03, 11:17 PM
Sounds like it won't recognize high density modules. Here's a link to look at maybe you can wade through it and find something definitive.

http://www.oempcworld.com/generic46.html

aagiants
06-05-03, 07:01 AM
then why doesn't it boot up? shuold it be detected as 64mb, just like my older comp did?

aagiants
06-05-03, 09:12 PM
ttt

A_old
06-06-03, 11:44 AM
The new 128MB sticks:

Do they have all the memory on one side (4 or 8 chips)? If so, they're high density and will not work.

Do they have 8 chips, 4 on each side? They're still high density and will not work.

Do they have 8 chips on each side? These are low density and should work, if they don't...try another brand or model. Cheap memory seems to work better in HPs. I hate them. Those 6xxx and 8xxx series are plagued with memory issues. Some diag tests show them all as having bad memory...

aagiants
06-06-03, 04:37 PM
new ram has it only on one side