PDA

View Full Version : Problem with a western digital HD



CableDude
06-03-03, 07:38 PM
Good day. :)

I have a WD HD in a 98 machine that is supposedly 13 GB in size (according to the label on the HD and it is detected as 13 GB on startup)


However....


When in Winblows 98 and right clicking on the drive it shows up as 2 GB :eek:

I have run scandisk and it claims the amount of free space was being reported incorrectly (you don't say?).

So I had scandisk fix it and it still shows up as 2 GB.

I have even used WD's Data Lifeguard Tools and it didn't find any problems.

Anything else I can look at?

Brent
06-03-03, 07:43 PM
you have it formatted in fat16

fdisk the partition, create a new one, then format it in fat32

Brent
06-03-03, 07:47 PM
that was too easy btw

give me somethin harder :D

CableDude
06-03-03, 07:47 PM
Originally posted by Brent
you have it formatted in fat16

fdisk the partition, create a new one, then format it in fat32


How in the world did I make that mistake????


I'm gonna do the fdisk thing tomorrow and see what it's formatted at.


Thanks Brent. :)

Norm
06-03-03, 07:48 PM
Originally posted by Brent
you have it formatted in fat16

fdisk the partition, create a new one, then format it in fat32 Either the above, or it has other partitions on it. Possibly hidden ones that 98 won't detect, like NTFS, or a Linux file system.

Fdisk, and use the option to display partition info.

CableDude
06-03-03, 07:50 PM
Originally posted by Brent
that was too easy btw

give me somethin harder :D


Ok, know of any good free memory test programs. I use memtest86 3.0 http://www.memtest86.com/

It found lots of errors on a 128 mb stick (same machine with the screwy Hard Drive)

What about something to test the processor etc.

Free of course :D

CableDude
06-03-03, 07:52 PM
Originally posted by Norm
Fdisk, and use the option to display partition info.

That's the plan. :) As long as I don't get interrupted with paper jams and toner low messages.

;):D

And I'll report back my findings too. :)

Norm
06-03-03, 07:55 PM
Originally posted by CableDude
How in the world did I make that mistake???? Did you use a Dos 6.22 boot disk to partition and format it?

Brent
06-03-03, 08:00 PM
Originally posted by CableDude
Ok, know of any good free memory test programs. I use memtest86 3.0 http://www.memtest86.com/

It found lots of errors on a 128 mb stick (same machine with the screwy Hard Drive)

What about something to test the processor etc.

Free of course :D

heres a neat link: http://www.nukleon.pl/pliki.php

under Benchmarki there is some stuff

try CPU Rightmark, i know thats good

maybe bench'emall or benchmarx, never tried those though, don't know what they are like

some stuff here: http://www.pchardware.ro/Download/index.php?catid=2

I know CliBench is a good cpu test

old stuff here: http://www.volny.cz/v.reif/low-download.htm

some good stuff here: http://www.extremetech.com/category2/0,3971,14187,00.asp

that should tide you over

CableDude
06-03-03, 08:05 PM
Originally posted by Norm
Did you use a Dos 6.22 boot disk to partition and format it?

Norm,

I used a Win 98 startup disk to fdisk. Then believe I set the CD-ROM as the first boot device and booted off of the Win 98 CD, to allow 98 to format the drive.

CableDude
06-03-03, 08:05 PM
Originally posted by Brent
heres a neat link: http://www.nukleon.pl/pliki.php

under Benchmarki there is some stuff

try CPU Rightmark, i know thats good

maybe bench'emall or benchmarx, never tried those though, don't know what they are like

some stuff here: http://www.pchardware.ro/Download/index.php?catid=2

I know CliBench is a good cpu test

old stuff here: http://www.volny.cz/v.reif/low-download.htm

some good stuff here: http://www.extremetech.com/category2/0,3971,14187,00.asp

that should tide you over

Brent,

Thanks I'll look these over in the morning. :)

Norm
06-03-03, 08:14 PM
Originally posted by CableDude
Norm,

I used a Win 98 startup disk to fdisk. Then believe I set the CD-ROM as the first boot device and booted off of the Win 98 CD, to allow 98 to format the drive. Odd, 98 formats with fat32 by default. Must have already been formatted fat 16 or has some other partitions left on it.

You'll find out when you check with fdisk. If there are some other file systems on it you may need to wipe the mbr with something other than fdisk. If you need to, let me know. I have a nice machine code mbr/bootsector wiper.

CableDude
06-04-03, 07:44 PM
Norm and Brent

Here is what I found out...

Partition C:1

Status A

Type PRI DOS

Volume Label: None

Mbytes 2016

System Fat 32

Usage 100%




:confused:

Norm
06-04-03, 08:09 PM
Originally posted by Brent
that was too easy btw

give me somethin harder :D There ya go, something harder. I knew it wouldn't be that easy. It never is.

Download This (http://home.cogeco.ca/~nsteadman/hdwipe.zip) unzip it, put it on a 98 boot disk and bootup into it.

Type hdwipe then hit enter. When the A:> prompt comes back, you're done.

Notes:
1. Your anti vi will think this is a virus, because it's going to wipe out your mbr, and your bootsector. Do what you gotta do to get it on that floppy, but DO NOT left click the hdwipe.com file.

2. You will lose all data on the drive. So save anything important before you start.

3. Unplug any other hardrives from power, just to be safe from wiping their bootsectors.

Start fresh with fdisk, and recreate the primary using all space on the drive, etc etc , blah blah. And format it right away after rebooting.

CableDude
06-04-03, 08:11 PM
Ok Norm, I'll give it a shot in a day or two. Might have to deal with more politics tomorrow. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: ;)


Thanks for your help. :)

Brent
06-04-03, 08:41 PM
maybe someone just partioned it as 2GB and just created one partition

just fdisk the partition away, and create one large one for the drive, maximum size

and format it

this isn't rocking science