PDA

View Full Version : Barton...is it worth it now?



JawZ
04-08-03, 12:55 PM
Been waiting on this for some time. Now that it is here, is it worth it now or do I wait again?

Also, what mobo is expected that will show off this cpu?

Do you think that the performance will be negligible as to compared to an established cpu/mobo?

I had an Asus A7V333 paired with an AthlonXP 2000. I sold it because that is what I do but I was very happy with it while it was in my possession. So this is my only comparison to go by.

Maybe you can direct me to some middle ground which would appease my desire.;) :D

Cypher
04-08-03, 01:30 PM
I like my set up for it. It works for me.
|
|
|
V

terrancelam
04-08-03, 04:25 PM
Originally posted by UOD
Been waiting on this for some time. Now that it is here, is it worth it now or do I wait again?

Also, what mobo is expected that will show off this cpu?

Do you think that the performance will be negligible as to compared to an established cpu/mobo?

I had an Asus A7V333 paired with an AthlonXP 2000. I sold it because that is what I do but I was very happy with it while it was in my possession. So this is my only comparison to go by.

Maybe you can direct me to some middle ground which would appease my desire.;) :D

If you can afford it, it is a still a high priced item at the moment, if you wait a while the price will drop. The XP2100+ is a very good choice now, as the majority of these chips are Through Bred editions and seem to have no problem with running at 2700+ speeds.

JawZ
04-08-03, 04:33 PM
Originally posted by terrancelam
If you can afford it, it is a still a high priced item at the moment, if you wait a while the price will drop. The XP2100+ is a very good choice now, as the majority of these chips are Through Bred editions and seem to have no problem with running at 2700+ speeds.

Hmmmm...I want to bump up a bit but price is a consideration....so I'm playing it conservatively unlike someone else of the forums...cough...burke...cough... :p

I just want to find the right mix of power and performance with price.

I will not count out a good P4 either....any suggestions?

Cypher
04-08-03, 04:52 PM
http://www.newegg.com/app/Viewproduct.asp?DEPA=&submit=Go&description=2500&searchdepa=0&srchFor=AMD
$163 is'nt that much.;)

Brk
04-08-03, 05:35 PM
I'd buy a 3000+ if I hadn't exhausted all my disposable income.

Brk
04-08-03, 05:37 PM
Originally posted by UOD
Hmmmm...I want to bump up a bit but price is a consideration....so I'm playing it conservatively unlike someone else of the forums...cough...burke...cough... :p

I just want to find the right mix of power and performance with price.

I will not count out a good P4 either....any suggestions?

I didn't even see my mighty name mentioned before I'd posted the above reply. LOL

Funny, ain't it? I'm conservative in politics, etc. but when it comes to hardware I'm like a fat kid snatching up random candy at the cashier line at the supermarket.

Cypher
04-08-03, 05:42 PM
I'm running faster than the 3000 for alot less money. Take a look at where I'm at compared to the 3.06 P4
http://pic4.picturetrail.com/VOL44/588530/901290/23010243.jpg
;)

Brk
04-08-03, 05:45 PM
I would still buy a 3000+ though. Overclocking is too imprecise and varied in my opinion...I like out-of-the-box bang.

Cypher
04-08-03, 05:49 PM
Good point. But in the back of my mind I always wonder how far it can really go.

JawZ
04-08-03, 06:27 PM
Unfortunately, I will not be overclocking this rig. I need pure stability because I will be using this as a recording studio...the bus speeds need to be within spec or else some audio cards get funky and won't play nice with certain pieces of software.

So this is gonna be a tough decision for sure. I don't need bleeding edge but I do want the highest performance for my money and I'm not one to skimp on myself soooooooooo......that's why I ask for your guidance.

:D

Brk
04-08-03, 06:29 PM
Originally posted by UOD
Unfortunately, I will not be overclocking this rig. I need pure stability because I will be using this as a recording studio...the bus speeds need to be within spec or else some audio cards get funky and won't play nice with certain pieces of software.

So this is gonna be a tough decision for sure. I don't need bleeding edge but I do want the highest performance for my money and I'm not one to skimp on myself soooooooooo......that's why I ask for your guidance.

:D

I'd concentrate on the amount of RAM and HDD speed for that kind of a setup, then...a mid-range CPU like an XP 2200+ or a 2.66 P4 will probably suffice.

JawZ
04-08-03, 06:47 PM
Originally posted by Burke
I'd concentrate on the amount of RAM and HDD speed for that kind of a setup, then...a mid-range CPU like an XP 2200+ or a 2.66 P4 will probably suffice.

Well I'm definitely going with 2 HDD's and a gig of ram. I'm thinking of 2 (80gig) WDse's but I haven't counted out Seagate. Not going to put them in RAID either....I strictly want one dedicated for archival purposes.

I guess I just need to settle on a cpu/mobo combo......which one...I have no idea.

SLK
04-08-03, 07:58 PM
2400+ I would get...Prices are pretty reasonable now.


SLK

Cypher
04-08-03, 08:25 PM
Thats true. The 2400 actually has like 2gHz I think. The cache is 256. An Epox would be affordable for the MB. Throw in a 512 stick or 2 of DDR 2700 and that would be nice. Just sync the RAM speed with the stock FSB.

deksecurity
04-08-03, 08:53 PM
Originally posted by UOD
Unfortunately, I will not be overclocking this rig. I need pure stability because I will be using this as a recording studio...the bus speeds need to be within spec or else some audio cards get funky and won't play nice with certain pieces of software.

So this is gonna be a tough decision for sure. I don't need bleeding edge but I do want the highest performance for my money and I'm not one to skimp on myself soooooooooo......that's why I ask for your guidance.

:D

just to let u know nforce2 broad all agp,pci bus are locked so u don't have to worry bus speeds.. riad is a way to go for what u going to do ...i'm at 10x225 fsb 24/7 for about 3 weeks now i can go up more but just don't have much time to play with it yet why pay more when u can get AMD2100+ for less then 100$ and it work like 3000+ save that money and buy more ram..:D

SLK
04-08-03, 09:20 PM
What i was thinking run the multi 12.5 x166.

loop2kil
04-09-03, 03:38 AM
Originally posted by UOD
Hmmmm...I want to bump up a bit but price is a consideration....so I'm playing it conservatively unlike someone else of the forums...cough...burke...cough... :p

I just want to find the right mix of power and performance with price.

I will not count out a good P4 either....any suggestions?

Intel setup i would consider:

ASUS P4PE/R/L/SATA $135.99
2.53 Ghz P4 Northwood with 533 mhz fsb $190.00
1 GB PC2700 Crucial $146.00

=$472.00

AMD setup i would consider:

Asus A7N8X Deluxe Retail $140.00
Barton 2500 (1.83ghz) 512kb cache/333 fsb $ 177.00
1 GB Crucial PC2700 $ 146.00

= $463.00


Either way would be a good choice and you will be very happy with the speed out of either machine. i did the deluxe versions of both m/b's since you mentioned recording and such the firewire and extra usb 2.0 terminals might come in handy.

YARDofSTUF
04-09-03, 06:25 AM
uod a tbred that does 166mhz bus ie the 333mhz chips are a good bet for u, cheaper and still a huge burst for u.

JawZ
04-09-03, 08:35 AM
Originally posted by loop2kil
Intel setup i would consider:

ASUS P4PE/R/L/SATA $135.99
2.53 Ghz P4 Northwood with 533 mhz fsb $190.00
1 GB PC2700 Crucial $146.00

=$472.00

AMD setup i would consider:

Asus A7N8X Deluxe Retail $140.00
Barton 2500 (1.83ghz) 512kb cache/333 fsb $ 177.00
1 GB Crucial PC2700 $ 146.00

= $463.00


Either way would be a good choice and you will be very happy with the speed out of either machine. i did the deluxe versions of both m/b's since you mentioned recording and such the firewire and extra usb 2.0 terminals might come in handy.

Excellent choices imho. Next computer show...I'm on it. I'll let you know what I wind up with.;)

Recoil UK
04-10-03, 08:29 PM
Hi guys

Get a AMD Barton 2500+.

They run at 2800+ speeds straight out of the box, with the retail pack fan, saving yourself 150.

Just choose the 12.5 multiplier and your away.

L8rs

Cypher
04-10-03, 08:39 PM
Originally posted by Recoil UK
Hi guys

Get a AMD Barton 2500+.

They run at 2800+ speeds straight out of the box, with the retail pack fan, saving yourself 150.

Just choose the 12.5 multiplier and your away.

L8rs
Go for the FSB. set it at 200 and bring the multi to 11.5, up vcore to 1.750. You'll see a nice boost. Just bring FSB to 200 and ypu'll still see it.:D

Mantle67
04-10-03, 09:15 PM
Epox 8RDA+ bomb diggity and less picky than asus for ram.

nepenthe
04-10-03, 10:01 PM
The IT7Max allows for overclocking of the CPU while allowinf the other busses to run at the standard fix rate. It is what my 2.5@3.0 utilizes.

Pick your price point and go from there.

BTW, what sound card will you be using?

shant,
david

JawZ
04-11-03, 10:23 AM
Originally posted by nepenthe
The IT7Max allows for overclocking of the CPU while allowinf the other busses to run at the standard fix rate. It is what my 2.5@3.0 utilizes.

Pick your price point and go from there.

BTW, what sound card will you be using?

shant,
david

Probably the ECHO MIA or something from M-Audio.....still working on that though. ;)

YARDofSTUF
04-11-03, 02:31 PM
are the bartons unlocked stock?

Cypher
04-11-03, 04:58 PM
Yeah they seem to be.

nepenthe
04-11-03, 10:46 PM
Originally posted by UOD
Probably the ECHO MIA or something from M-Audio.....still working on that though. ;)

The M-Audio looked good for the price.

Brk
04-11-03, 10:58 PM
Originally posted by nepenthe
The M-Audio looked good for the price.

M-Audio is top-notch. Clean and loud playback, and the ASIO drivers really help out in audio editing/production apps.