PDA

View Full Version : got my new parts up and runnin BUT theres a prob



andrew87
01-30-03, 11:57 PM
after a week got my new parts in. i got my computer tech friend to do it. i went into bios and it says my cpu temp is 57*c 133*f
for a 1.3ghz duron is that right????
sandra says the same thing.

my mobo is a ecs k7s5a rev 3.1a with a duron oem 1.3ghz

BaLa
01-31-03, 12:06 AM
is that at full load?

and what kind of HSF you gots?

andrew87
01-31-03, 12:09 AM
i got a volcano 8 rated upto 2600+

and thats at normal load(idle)

BaLa
01-31-03, 12:33 AM
hmmm..that's very high..


I'm not familiar with the TT Volcano 8
does it have a Fan Speed Setting?


I suggest you take of the heatsink, scrape of the thermal pad,
DO not to scratch the Heatsink when doing that...use something plastic like a credit card to scrape of the thermal pad..


put some AS2 or AS3 on the HSF and remount it to see if the temps improve any..

I'm running an XP1700 @46C full load w/TT Volcano 7

Sid
01-31-03, 12:42 AM
Yup, that's way too high. Make sure you run the fan off the PSU and not the mobo.

andrew87
01-31-03, 12:45 AM
its running off the mobo cause it only connects to the mobo

Sid
01-31-03, 12:48 AM
Whats the RPM of the fan?

andrew87
01-31-03, 12:56 AM
4800
http://www.thermaltake.com/products/heatsink/v8se.htm

and it says in bios 5356rpm

andrew87
01-31-03, 12:59 AM
i remember someone saying that it reads the diode or something liek that, so its not the real temp/ is that right?

loop2kil
01-31-03, 03:29 AM
20.2 CFM

That's prolly the culprit right there...your fan is not sufficent enough to cool the heatsink down as it warms. I dont think the rating of the HSF is accurate and i dont think that it can cool adequately enough with only 20.2 cfm. Just get another 60mm (cringe) to put on it that will put out some air and you should be fine.

andrew87
01-31-03, 04:04 AM
but y is it rated so high if it cant even support a duron 1.3

loop2kil
01-31-03, 04:10 AM
Originally posted by andrew87
but y is it rated so high if it cant even support a duron 1.3

Good question but i dont have the answer for you. You can try what Bala suggested first...did you use the pad or did you use arctic silver? try re-mounting the hsf with some arctic silver and make sure to use a very thin layer of it. too much is not good either. I use a credit card to apply it and its almost transparent.

andrew87
01-31-03, 04:12 AM
when i first used the v8 i took it off after about 2 months and have the pad was gone. i dont know wat happend theres still dome pad on there but i dont know if the die is touching it. the stupid hardware man took my antec refrence, i have to get it tomorrow

andrew87
01-31-03, 04:13 AM
and do i use nail polish remover on the cpu and heatsink to remove the paste??

loop2kil
01-31-03, 04:22 AM
just use isopropyl alcohol (the stuff from kmart for $.69). use a clean non-linty rag and just clean it off both the hs and cpu. then get the as3 and put a very small dot on the cpu and spread it with a credit card or something similar. also, i always take the residue off the credit card and with a sandwich baggie rub it into the hs itself. then wipe off the excess and assemble.

andrew87
01-31-03, 04:33 AM
so i cant use nail polish remover??

andrew87
01-31-03, 04:42 AM
http://www.gamersgarage.com/upimgs/untitled1.JPG


u can see there. oh yeah i got a new psu aswell a 350w one. are those voltages good?

binksfan
01-31-03, 06:36 AM
Andrew.......

My XP2100+ came with a ThermalTake 6cu but the fan on it was a Tornado that did 7200 RPM. Temps were in mid 40's. But I swapped it out for ThermalRight SLK-800 and it stays below 40 all the time now.

Your temp difference 21 degrees between case and CPU is way off.Suggests maybe a little of both, redo HS and bigger fan. You can use nail polish remover on the heatsink but i wouldn't put any on the cpu. Just make sure final clean is with isop. alcohol. It leaves no residue, other stuff does.

(And yes your voltages look good)

SLK
01-31-03, 12:19 PM
Dude, did u just try reseating the heatsink?

andrew87
01-31-03, 05:27 PM
when u say reseat the hsf do u mean take it off and put it on again. cause thats wat i did.

BaLa
01-31-03, 05:44 PM
Originally posted by andrew87
when u say reseat the hsf do u mean take it off and put it on again. cause thats wat i did.
yeah that's what he meant..lol..
I hope you reaplied AS2 or AS3..

SLK
01-31-03, 06:36 PM
theres no way a duron could run that hot....My duron overclocked from 1.1 to 1.3ghz didnt even go over 35 celcius with an sk6.




If teh board is reading from the INTERNAL DIODE then those temps would be normal.


My Soltek 75FRV had an external cpu temp (39c) and an internal diode temp(51c)

andrew87
01-31-03, 07:11 PM
i looked at the heatsink and it was pretty dirty like smudge marks and stuff. could that be the prob

andrew87
01-31-03, 07:23 PM
if i stuck my case fan ontop of the hsf will it help., its 8cm

Joe
01-31-03, 10:17 PM
If you have another cpu handy you should put it in and see if its temps are abnormal as well.. ?

BaLa
02-01-03, 01:23 AM
Originally posted by andrew87
i looked at the heatsink and it was pretty dirty like smudge marks and stuff. could that be the prob
a little but not quite that high..
stick a case fan on top of the HSF? it could help, but I would consider that viable only as a temporary solution..

andrew87
02-01-03, 02:59 AM
would a volcano 9 fix this prob, if it is ill get one and sell this v8

The Dude
02-01-03, 01:13 PM
I have a 1100 t-bird, it ran at ~47'C at idle. I took the HSF and heatsink off to do the pencil trick. I just used alcohol to clean the thermal pad on the heatsink and processor off. I applied thermal past and put the heatsink and fan back on. I am now running at ~37'C @ 1200 idle temp. My PC came stock with a cooler master HSF. The pads are convenient and easy to use from a manufacturers stand point, but from what I have read here at speed guide the past works better and is worth the trouble to apply.