PDA

View Full Version : Prob Wit My New Parts !!!!! DID I BLOW IT??



andrew87
01-22-03, 05:26 AM
i put the mobo and everything in and i turn the power on and nothin comes on nothing at all on the screen. the cpu fan doesnt spin NOTHIN.
i think it has to do with the FPI CONNECTORS on the mobo i think thats y the power button doesnt work.
in the manual it has this diagram.

10 *9
8* *7 * = pin to plug into. 10 has no pin
6* *5
4* *3
2* *1

pin
1 hd_led_p
2 fp pwr/slp
3 hd_led_n
4 fp pwr/slp
5 rst_sw_p
6 pwr_sw_p
7 rst_sw_p
8 pwr_sw_n
9 RSVD
10 NC

the only connectors that are coming from my case are called

power led
reset sw
hdd led
sb/ sw

wat do i connect those to??

please help

mwkirchner
01-22-03, 05:49 AM
Originally posted by andrew87


the only connectors that are coming from my case are called

power led
reset sw
hdd led
sb/ sw

wat do i connect those to??




http://www.stopstart.freeserve.co.uk/smilie/deal.gif that came with your motherboard. Those get connected to it. They are the wires that connect your power button ... the LED light on the front ... your HDD working light on the front to the motherboard. Without those connected you will not get anything.

andrew87
01-22-03, 05:57 AM
i know
but i cant figure the combination out, cause there all named different

dj_tigger1982
01-22-03, 06:43 AM
Super Tigger to the rescue....

Ok your power led should conect to the 2 fp pwr/slp (I think)
your reset sw should connect to 5 rst_sw_p
your hdd led should connect to 1 hd_led_p
and your sb/ sw (pesuming this is standby switch) should connect to 5 rst_sw_p or unless you have a new case that allows you to push the power button to standby it may connect to the power switch

Hope this might help ya a wee bitty, and next time get a manual in English....LOL:) :D :) :D

The Dude
01-22-03, 12:30 PM
Harddrive LED connects to 1 and 3, If dosn't lit up reverse it.
Reset switch connects to 5 and 7
If sb/sw is a switch connect it to 6 and 8.

andrew87
01-22-03, 03:39 PM
the stupid freikin thing is the power led connects only to 2 pins but it looks like this


*^*
*^*
*^*

^-meaning that has no wire going through it
*- meaning wire goes through it


if i plug it in it takes 3 spots(#2,4,6) which only leaves #8 to use which i cant cause its only 1 pin and i need 2. for sb/sw

mwkirchner
01-22-03, 04:11 PM
What make and number is the mobo?

andrew87
01-22-03, 04:33 PM
ecs K7S5A rev 3.1a

andrew87
01-22-03, 05:20 PM
ANY IDEAS,



ANYONE???:( :( :( :( :(

mwkirchner
01-22-03, 05:23 PM
Here are the explainations right from your manual. Looks fairly straight forward to me. Hope this might help a little.


http://www.geocities.com/mwkirchner2000/mobo1.jpg

http://www.geocities.com/mwkirchner2000/mobo2.jpg

http://www.geocities.com/mwkirchner2000/mobo3.jpg

andrew87
01-22-03, 05:25 PM
i hAVE THAT PIC but did u see how my power led wont fit, not enough pins on the mobo .

Unholy
01-22-03, 05:37 PM
I have the same board and prob just plug the left part in and turn it on, only prob is no led on power botton but comp still works. If you want led get this.

http://directron.com/3pinled.html

andrew87
01-22-03, 05:44 PM
wat u mean the left part.?

mwkirchner
01-22-03, 05:47 PM
Originally posted by andrew87
i hAVE THAT PIC but did u see how my power led wont fit, not enough pins on the mobo .

This is the best I can figure it out ...

http://www.geocities.com/mwkirchner2000/mobo4.jpg

mwkirchner
01-22-03, 05:49 PM
Do you happen to have a digital camera? Is it possible for you to take actual pics of the mobo connector and the connectors from your case? Might be a little easier if we could actually see what we are working with.

Unholy
01-22-03, 05:52 PM
Just plug the left part of the power led with the wording facing up to the number 8 pin it will turn on.

andrew87
01-22-03, 06:12 PM
it doesnt turn on the fan spins for 1 sec then turns off??

andrew87
01-22-03, 06:13 PM
SB/SW is a seperate connector im pretty sure thats the power button. its has black and white wires.

andrew87
01-22-03, 06:21 PM
http://www.ecsusa.com/support/images/k7amafp.jpg

theres the pic of wat it looks like, from another site


HOW DO I KNOW WHICH SIDe IS NEGETIVE AND POSITIVE

mwkirchner
01-22-03, 06:33 PM
Originally posted by andrew87
SB/SW is a seperate connector im pretty sure thats the power button. its has black and white wires.

I am not 100% sure about this ... but I am thinking that connector SB/SW might be the soft boot switch? Is that possible? I know mine has a button on the front of my case used for that.

edited: never mind ... I forgot about the reset one

andrew87
01-22-03, 06:45 PM
any other answers please.

i need a computer i havent even tried it yet:( :(



and do they all have to be in to work the comp. thats stupid

Rainbow
01-22-03, 08:04 PM
No the only 2 you have to actually connect for it to work are the reset sw and the power switch...and polarity doesnt matter on these.

andrew87
01-22-03, 08:18 PM
when i put tho 2 in only the comp wont turn on
nothin i tried plugging it in how it was before
NOTHIN no fan spins this time plain nothin!!!!

mwkirchner
01-22-03, 08:26 PM
Do you have a phone number for tech support? Maybe that is what you need to try. Not trying to be smart here ... but this could go on forever. If you can not get it going by now ... chances are you are probably in need of help from the people who make your mobo.

Rainbow
01-22-03, 08:27 PM
if at any time you got the switches confused with the leds or if you accidently put the plugs across the pins instead of in line with them and turned it on...even for a sec.....well its time to rma the motherboard.

SLK
01-22-03, 08:31 PM
u plug it in?

andrew87
01-22-03, 08:34 PM
so any time i got the plugs mixed up the boards dead and i have to returnj it?

Rainbow
01-22-03, 08:43 PM
Unfortunately I speak from experience. I did the same thing one time...didnt look at the pics close enough and put those plugs in the wrong place. Fortunately Im a tech so I was able to fix it myself....if you did turn it on with the plugs wrong chances are you blew the fuse buried inside the power supply too...Thats why it wont spin for a sec ( as you say it was doing) anymore.

And that particular board I've worked on and its very easy to confuse those drawings they give you especially if your new to it. So if that did happen dont feel too bad just chalk it up to experience.;)

andrew87
01-22-03, 08:44 PM
so i blew the mobo or the psu?? dont tell me i blew both:(

andrew87
01-22-03, 08:45 PM
i dont care bout the psu i care more on the mobo

andrew87
01-22-03, 09:03 PM
SO IS IT DEAD??

Unholy
01-22-03, 09:24 PM
All the wording from the plug are supposed to be facing up towards the CPU and the no wording side is facing down towards the case that is how I did it.

Onethenumber2
01-22-03, 10:23 PM
umm well maybe you have a bad power cord or outlet if nothing spins or PSU.

I've got the antec server case, anyone have ideas about what to do with those extra LEDs? all two of them? I guess they are for the old on HDD LED things but I havent seen those in a long time.